We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your everyday village life”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Samonas Traditional Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We loved the uniqueness of these villas. Konstantinos reclaimed ruined village buildings and created an idyllic setting on a hill (that seemed to be what i needed on this trip). Konstantinos overlooked no detail in the creation of these homes, in their decoration, and in their provisioning. Simple example - the sewing kit wasn't just needle and thread; it also had fasteners, buttons, etc. He even has a small market with the necessaries and unusual items.

We should have stayed here a week. We had a complete kitchen, living area with a long dining table, sofa, well (yes, a well) and round oven (from the original buildings), large bedroom with internal balcony, a large outdoor room that overlooked the wide valley below, a private patio, and rooftop terrace. The bathroom had a washing machine. We took advantage of the pool, steam room and library, but ran out of time to use the gym facilities. This place would even be perfect when the weather gets cooler. There are fireplaces in the rooms, games, videos, books, etc.

And the breakfasts! Served anywhere you liked around your villa. An extremely large assortment of local products. Katerina was very friendly and helpful about places to go.

We were able to take great trips into the surrounding area, including the mountain towns around us, the western beaches, and Chania. I wish we had more time to just hang here.

I almost forgot - you must go to the nearby taverna. We made sure that we had two dinners here. The food was traditional and to die for. The owner was absolutely friendly.

Room Tip: Anything with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen-Elias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 162 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

The local owner, Konstantinos, should be very proud of this magnificent place to stay. Couldn't have been more helpful, cheerful, and welcoming. All facilities (swim pool, gym, cafe bar etc) were all available to us despite very end of season (November).
The apartments are beatifully furnished in traditional Cretan style, and very well equipped.
The location, and views are to die for. Katarina the cleaning lady is a delight, even though we speak no Greek, and she know English!
I cant think of any negatives, and would love to stay again. If you have a large extended family of, say, 15 or more, it would be a great place to book ALL the apartments, and have a great family occasion, with the pool, barbeque area, cafe/shop,gym etc)

Room Tip: The apartments with arched balcony terraces make the best of the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were here in the first week of October following a week walking on the coast, so were in
need of relaxation. We found this here in spades. The apartment was beautifully clean and very well fitted out. It was cleaned every day by Katerina who also makes the most amazing breakfasts if asked the day before. Samonas has been built from a ruin by Konstantinos and includes a beautiful pool, well equipped small gym with steam room attached. All pool towels and robes are provided. Konstantinos has written very helpful guides and there are photos showing the original ruined building and the start of the rebuild. There is a little store with a range of food and drinks so no need to make a late dash to the shops. The nearest mini market is in Stylos and the closest supermarket in Kalives, a seaside town a short drive away. The closest taverna is a 5 minute walk and always seems to be open, just walk in and find the kitchen!. If you are looking for relaxation in the middle of the countryside with stunning mountain and coastal views you will find it here. You will also find two lovely helpful people in Konstantinos and Katerina.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belmont4m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Absolutely lovely! Peaceful, ambient and beautiful. Our family with two boys, five and seven, loved our week's stay at Samonas. We would love to come back, October is a beautiful month in Crete with warm waters and a not too strong sun. We enjoyed very much just hanging out at the pool at the hotel in the mornings, having lunch in Stylos or Aptera before driving to a beach or other excursions. Very relaxing stay!

Room Tip: If you are not fond of animal sounds at dawn (roosters, goats, dogs, cats, ducks...) bring earplugs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Excellent under all points of view: the place (far away from the too much crowed isle, at least in August), the rooms and the intelligent, kind and discrete attention of the owner (Konstatine).
I really appreciated taking a bath early in the morning in the silence of the country and in the light of the coming day.

Room Tip: no substantial differences . They are all ecellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosa g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Unfortunately we only stayed here 2 nights, but we will definitely be back. We loved all the attention put into all the small details. There was a very informative and lovely information book written by the owner in the room, full with insights into Crete, plants, hikes, history, clearly written with a lot of thought. That was exactly how our room (no. 2) was created too, full of thought! This was definitely a very special and unique place, and merges well with the spectacular beauty of Crete! The breakfasts were also delicious, and we really appreciated the warmth with which Katerina served them to us on the patio in the morning. I think this would also be a great place to go to in the autumn/spring for hiking, and can imagine it would also be beautiful in the winter. I am very glad we had a chance to stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EvaCarinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Just back from spending the first 8 days of our honeymoon at Samonas and I cannot fault the place. On arrival we were greeted by the very friendly owner Konstantinos who showed us round, there was even some bubbly and rose petals on the bed and a lovely note of congratulations. We stayed in number 5 which had a lovely balcony with sea and mountain views. The villa had everything we needed -washing machine,dishwasher, toaster, oven etc and of course air conditioning. The furniture is really beautiful and unusual, lovely pieces. We were even given a greek mobile phone with some credit in to make calls if we wished, we did not use it but it was a nice gesture. There is a great area with gym equipment, a steam room, pool towels, gowns, cds, and tourist information. The shop has all sorts of bits and pieces. The entire site is spotless, the pool is great - we had it to ourselves the majority of the time. We paid extra for breakfast, we had something different almost every day, all of it good, served on our private terrace. While we ate Katerina cleaned the villa, she did a brilliant job each and every day. The cats are very friendly, a bit too friendly at breakfast time but they leave you alone after that.

The hotel as others have said is out of the way, which is the attraction of it, don't go expecting nightlife, swap that for watching the red moon rising over the mountains and listening to the crickets and goats. A tip - if you are going Rethymno direction and need to get to the national road, don't go through Rimni, go through Stilos and Neo Choria instead the road is much better! The nearest taverna is just down the little road opposite the hotel, you don't need to go as far as the village.
The hotel is not really suitable for small children, there are a lot of steps which get quite slippery when wet and the antiques in the villas could get broken, I'm sure they were very expensive.

This hotel is top class and the sense of welcome and warmth sets it apart from others in the same class.What Konstantinos said when we arrived sums it up "If you need something don't just think it, tell me and I will sort it for you!". With a welcome like that we knew we were in safe hands! Best wishes and hope to see you again x

Room Tip: lovely balcony in number 5 with views to both mountains and sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindaChamney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samonas
4.3 mi away
Kalyves Beach Hotel
Kalyves Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kalyves
691 reviews
72.6 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
282 reviews
15.7 mi away
Arcus Suites
Arcus Suites
#1 of 5 in Argyroupolis
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
St. George's Retreat Village
St. George's Retreat Village
#56 of 689 in Chania Prefecture
68 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Samonas Traditional Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samonas Traditional Villas

Address: Samonas Apokoronas, Samonas, Apokoronas, Crete 730 03, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Apokoronas > Samonas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Samonas
Price Range: $137 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Samonas Traditional Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional settlement of Samonas is a complete renovated neighbourhood in the village of Samonas, in the district of Apokoronas Crete, at an altitude of 400 m and at a distance of 25 km from Chania. All our dwellings are two-storey (maisonettes) with unlimited view to the mountains, valley and the sea. They are exclusively built in stone and wood to match their surroundings. Each is built at a different level due to the ground's steep slope, with common courtyards as well as independent verandas or balconies and quiet corners. They are decorated with many small folklore objects and antiques. All incorporate the same comforts and luxury, although they differ in size and layout.Here you will experience unique moments of relaxation and complete tranquillity in an authentically traditional area, without missing any of the comforts of the modern way of living, which we have quietly incorporated in all our dwellings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Samonas Traditional Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing