We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Samonas Traditional Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
“Romantic Getaway”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

I was a deployed serviceman and wanted to meet my fiance in a port-o-call and chose Suda Bay to meet. After looking at several places on-line Somonas attracted me immediately. I couldn't have been happier with my selection too. The apartment is well designed with plenty of amenities. Konstantios treated us like we were his family; he truly knows the meaning of customer service. Somanas is located a little ways from Ghania which makes it good but expensive if you don't get a rental car which I strongly recommend. There is a miniature store in the Villas that is stocked with items you may need or have forgotten to include some food and beverage and is run on a tab that you fill out; very handy indeed. My fiance and I have already said that we would love to try and come back again. Our stay was off the charts good.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room in the place. There are not many and they seem to be strategi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dylan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    13
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
47
85
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
milford, MA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We just returned from our third stay at Samonas. Each time we stay longer, and each time we go away vowing to return again, and stay longer still! The accomodations are delightful, and Konstantinos is a gem. He just does absolutely anything within his power to make your stay comfortable. Besides providing us with fresh fruits and vegetables, he even brought us fresh squeezed orange juice. He is a wealth of information on the local area and always has little tips of places to see. Besides being close to Chania, there are several little tavernas nearby that have excellent food.. And we were amazed at the ruins of ancient Aptera, at the start of the road on the way up to Samonas. If you are looking for lots of cars, people and restaurants, this isn't the place for you. But if you are looking for an incredibly quiet and beautiful place to just relax and unwind from the craziness of life, I don't think you can beat Samonas. At the risk of finding the place full next time we want to book, I'll still recommend this to anyone looking for the finer things in life. And there will definitely be a fourth visit for us!

Room Tip: Check out the web site - there are views of each of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rlweishaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Your home away from home!

Upon arrival and even before stepping out of our rental car I knew we were going to have an unforgettable stay. Being our first time in Greece, we were unsure of what to expect in the way of accommodations. We found Samonas on Trip Advisor and were immediately intrigued by their website www.samonas.gr/ .

We were traveling throughout Greece and wanted to stay at a variety of places which would offer different experiences that we wouldn’t normally get from a regular hotel in the City. Samonas, Traditional Villas gave us everything we were looking for and more!
The Villas are located about 20-25 minutes from the town of Chania; we rented a car and easily found our way up the hilly terrain to Samonas. The drive although slightly terrifying at first, is very beautiful. The roads are slim, and you must watch out for oncoming traffic at all times as well as goats, dogs, and other wondering animals. I highly recommend renting a car, although if you are planning a relaxing remote get away, everything you would need is provided at the Villas.

Breakfast can be served at any time, either within your Villa, on your patio, or by the pool. Each morning boosts a different spread of traditional Greek eats, overlooking magnificent landscape, and with pleasant visits from cats and kittens that reside on site. What an incredible start to your day!

The Villas are completely stocked with everything from a washing machine, to toothbrushes and toothpaste; they go out of their way to make your stay as relaxing as possible. An onsite store which is open 24/7 and works on the honour system provides light snacks and beverages; alcoholic and non-alcoholic, Aspirin, meats, cheeses, and more. A local restaurant is also within a 5 minute walk of the Villas.

The grounds are spectacular; everything is immaculate including the colourful gardens that surround the property. If I ever were to visit Chania again I wouldn’t think of staying anywhere but here.

If you are truly looking for a unique accommodation, stay at Samonas, Traditional Villas and experience Greek Hospitality at its finest!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeneelewlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

The villas are located in a small town in the mountains just minutes from Xania, and the beach. The installations are great, it has a common pool, laundry machine and dishwasher in each appartment and a well equipped gym with a sauna, and a barbecue.

Each day the appartment was cleaned and in general "room serviced" by a very nice lady.

The owner is a very nice guy who helped us each time that we needed information.

The place is really quiet.

We had a lovely time there, lots of sun, and Xania is a really nice town. We would recommend Samonas to any of our friends.

Room Tip: Each villa is adapted to a number of guests...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susana_taz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania Town, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Old stone houses renovated to create this small complex at a very peaceful location and nicely decorated. Room had everything you needed for a weekend although the living room furniture was too uncomfortable to even wanna stay in. Bathroom extremely small and not up to the standards of the hotel. Kitchen small but cozy and the owner was a really nice guy trying to be of as much help as possible. Nice pool area, nice view, definitely worth a visit but not for more than a couple of days.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sevasti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2010

My husband and I visited Crete for the first time, and found a gem of a place to stay in Samonas. Very impressed with the quality of the accommodations, with quality furnishings and many small touches in each room. What's most interesting is that that the owner personally designed, remodeled and decorated each villa. We needed quiet rest and relaxation, and were very pleased with this hillside retreat. Definately a place we recommend and would come back to!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suecrompton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Our second stay. Equally peaceful, beautiful, and a real treasure. A gorgeous retreat from the bussle and hassles of life. Each house is meticulously furnished and designed and conscientiously managed by Constantinos, A week of mountain exploring, eating, and becoming human again. Probably best enjoyed without the children !

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JerryNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samonas
19.7 mi away
Spilia Village Hotel
Spilia Village Hotel
#22 of 110 in Chania Town
250 reviews
8.3 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#7 of 110 in Chania Town
503 reviews
29.3 mi away
Kapsaliana Village Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
4.3 mi away
Kalyves Beach Hotel
Kalyves Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kalyves
587 reviews
20.8 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#2 of 175 in Rethymnon
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samonas Traditional Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samonas Traditional Villas

Property: Samonas Traditional Villas
Address: Samonas Apokoronas, Samonas, Apokoronas, Crete 730 03, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Apokoronas > Samonas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Samonas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Samonas Traditional Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional settlement of Samonas is a complete renovated neighbourhood in the village of Samonas, in the district of Apokoronas Crete, at an altitude of 400 m and at a distance of 25 km from Chania. All our dwellings are two-storey (maisonettes) with unlimited view to the mountains, valley and the sea. They are exclusively built in stone and wood to match their surroundings. Each is built at a different level due to the ground's steep slope, with common courtyards as well as independent verandas or balconies and quiet corners. They are decorated with many small folklore objects and antiques. All incorporate the same comforts and luxury, although they differ in size and layout.Here you will experience unique moments of relaxation and complete tranquillity in an authentically traditional area, without missing any of the comforts of the modern way of living, which we have quietly incorporated in all our dwellings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Samonas Traditional Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing