We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Hinuera
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Hobbiton Movie Set
from $55.27
More Info
from $99.39
More Info
from $78.30
More Info
from $194.10
More Info
Reviews (9,461)
Filter reviews
9,461 results
Traveler rating
6,763
1,887
527
176
108
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
6,763
1,887
527
176
108
Show reviews that mention
All reviews green dragon ginger beer our tour guide wings bag end attention to detail new zealand the pub take photos gift shop shire's rest middle earth hour tour bus driver lotr fans dream come true rolling hills
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 9,461 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a great time trekking through the set with a very knowledgeable Tour Guide! Lunch was very good and generous with seconds if you wanted.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Woodstockgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A great experience whether you're a LoR fans or not! The Shire is kept immaculate with friendly staff and tour guides. I definitely recommend this day outing to everyone, young and old!

Thank alettat1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited the set on a sunny day. So fun to see the houses and places used in the films. A good atmosphere and a nice walk thru all the small narrow paths of hobbiton. Some fun facts along the tour - you have to travel there to get them.
Would recommend a visit and plan on using 3.5 hrs approx in total.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank ren_s530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We undertook a shore excursion tour (Royal Caribbean Cruise) to the Hobbiton Movie Set and I have to say, it was WELL worth the two+ hour bus ride to get there from Aukland harbour.

The hot lunch with desert that was included was absolutely amazing, a pleasant surprise that we were certainly not expecting. Normally a lunch inclusion at such places are very ordinary to say the least. The food was hot, delicious and there was plenty of it, including the fact that most dishes were Gluten Free with plenty of veghetarian options. The only downside to the lunch was the crapmed seating, but not enough to spoli the experience.

The Green Dragon Inn and the surrounding film sets are amazing and the tour guides on site are brilliant, did not feel rushed and they gave plenty of photo oprtunities including taking group photos for you.

If you find yourself anywhere near this location drop in and check it out, you wont be disappointed.

Just make sure that you book and turn up at the allocated timeslot for your tour, this place gets very busy.... but don't let that put you off, they are huge grounds.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Browndog181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hobbiton is fabulous, for any fans of The Hobbit & Lord of the Rings. Even for those who are not fanatics it is a lovely experience.
The valley is set up to showcase the beauty of NZ and to charm everyone.
It is a fair walk with a few hills & slopes to negotiate but our tour guide made sure it wasn't too arduous.
Pip our guide was new to the job but was both knowledgeable and personable.
We had lunch which was excellent, had a drink in the pub, also excellent.
I would return for a second visit if I am in that part of the world again.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews