We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hobbit holes in the sun” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hobbiton Movie Set Tours

Hobbiton Movie Set Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$135.88*
and up
Full-Day Hobbiton Tour from Auckland
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Hinuera
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Hobbiton Movie Set tour is an essential stop on the itinerary for all visitors travelling through New Zealand, offering an interesting and entertaining experience incorporating the famous film set as seen in The Lord of The Rings and The Hobbit trilogies. Fall in love with the Alexander family sheep and beef farm, just as acclaimed director Sir Peter Jackson did, as you journey through the village, with the mighty Kaimai Ranges towering in the distance. Your guide will then escort you around the set, showing you the intricate detailing, pointing out the most famous locations and explaining how the movie magic was made. You will be taken around the 12 acre set; past Hobbit holes, the Mill and into the famous Green Dragon™ Inn, where you can indulge in our exclusive, specially brewed beverages to conclude your own Middle-earth™ adventure.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hobbit holes in the sun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

I when decided to visit New Zealand this is one of the trips I really wanted to make.

Wow hobbiton is fab. But full scale hobbit holes and the ones used for close up a great, had my photo taken outside bag end and finished up with a drink at the Green Dragon.

All this bout the movies to life even more and I'm now going to watch them all again when I get home.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,732 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,923
    1,255
    360
    129
    65
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“There and back again in 4 days”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our whirlwind tour of New Zealand began with the Hobbiton Movie Set Tour. Everyone we met was helpful, welcoming and friendly from the Shire's Rest Cafe and souvenir shop. Carolyn the bus driver was entertaining and informative. Our tour guide, Theresa was a lot of fun and had plenty of anecdotes and stories to tell. There's plenty of time to get as many photos as you like and the groups are not so big that you can't get great shots of empty countryside. The Green Dragon is a real treat. Ask the staff to tell you about its construction. Hobbiton is so beautiful, even in the middle of winter, although I'd like to come back in spring, I bet it's amazing.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Boozy_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Hobbiton experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Like a fairy tale park in NZ style. Lots of cottage houses for hobbits. Very beautiful and natural environment.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yss S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Absolutely Magical!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

This trip was better than I ever imagined. I wish I had watched the movies before going because the tour guide gives details to the movie scenes. It is a working sheep farm which really adds to the beauty of the area.. The scenery was spectacular. Bush and Beach Co, with Tony & Sean were great. They seemed to be excited to be there even after all the times they have visited. Very friendly blokes! I like this tour group because it was small and got their early before all the crowds. I would use them for many of the tours around Auckland. Do not miss this tour!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gena50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“In the Shire with Bilbo and Frodo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was a highlight of our driving trip through the north island of New Zealand in May. we drove to Matamata. the "iSite" (NZ info centre) is built like a LOTR house and has a great statue of Gollum inside. Tours can be booked and taken right from the iSite, but we chose to drive out to the Alexander Farm ourselves. tour cost was $70NZ/each and worth ever penny. Freddie was our guide, incredibily knowledgeable about the history of the farm, the selection of the place by Peter Jackson and 'inside info on the building of the site and how they made it look so real. The place is magical!! we were there about 3 hours and the visit was topped off with a cup of mead in the Green Dragon Inn on the site. Hubby wanted to know where he could buy such good beer but alas, it's only available in the Shire!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hobbiton Movie Set Tours also viewed

 
Hamilton, Waikato Region
Cambridge, Waikato Region
 

Been to Hobbiton Movie Set Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing