We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hobbiton”

Hobbiton Movie Set Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$133.14*
and up
Full-Day Hobbiton Tour from Auckland
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Hinuera
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Hobbiton Movie Set tour is an essential stop on the itinerary for all visitors travelling through New Zealand, offering an interesting and entertaining experience incorporating the famous film set as seen in The Lord of The Rings and The Hobbit trilogies. Fall in love with the Alexander family sheep and beef farm, just as acclaimed director Sir Peter Jackson did, as you journey through the village, with the mighty Kaimai Ranges towering in the distance. Your guide will then escort you around the set, showing you the intricate detailing, pointing out the most famous locations and explaining how the movie magic was made. You will be taken around the 12 acre set; past Hobbit holes, the Mill and into the famous Green Dragon™ Inn, where you can indulge in our exclusive, specially brewed beverages to conclude your own Middle-earth™ adventure.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hobbiton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Lovely day out, we drove directly to Hobbiton, where you catch a bus which drops you off at set.
You can catch a bus from Matamata. Although a little expensive, this is a thoroughly enjoyable day with very knowledgable tour guides. Fortunately we went when it was still green :).It is so well done, even down to little clothes hanging on clotheslines outside the houses. There are umbrellas available if it is raining. The tour ended with a drink at the Green Dragon Tavern.
We were a group of three adults, one senior citizen (76), a seventeen, thirteen and an eleven year old and every one of us enjoyed it and would highly recommend visiting!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Trudi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,905 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,061
    1,277
    366
    133
    68
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Hobbiton exists”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Even if you only have a passing interest in Lord of the Rings or The Hobbit you won't be disappointed if you make the effort to visit Hobbiton Movie Tours. We really weren't expecting anything more than an interesting side tour as we aren't really into movie tour type things. However, when we got there we just loved it. Hobbiton exists! This isn't just a few fake looking set pieces and is instead what you see in the film on a larger scale than you might imagine. It is really quite beautiful. The Green Dragon is a delight and the free drink was an added bonus. The guide was excellent and we just didn't want to leave as it felt nice just being there. It captured the magic of the movies.

The only problem we had was finding the place as there is some confusing signage and we just weren't sure if we were going the right way. They could also make more of the arrival point where the cafe is and theme this area a little more. The bus that takes you out there is a rickety little things but I kind of liked that. The tour lasts around 2hours but I think this could easily be a half day tour and it is a shame that you don't get to spend more time there.

Overall, this is a superb tour and highly recommended.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wiwijumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great tour! Add to your bucket list!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Loved this tour, great guide and very informative about the making of The Shire and how it came to be in the Lord of the Rings movie trilogy. We visited during a dry summer so was not that green everywhere but that did not affect the tour. We drove to Hobbiton from Auckland and the signage was not very clear and were not sure if we were on the right road or not and drove straight past the sign. I was although disappointed in the large tour bus they used which was very old and struggled to get up the hills to the movie set area. I thought it was a very poor way of transporting tourists who travelled from all over the world to see the site. At $75 per person, the USA movie company having a financial interest in the tours (can't remember which one) and people coming from all over the world to see this place I am sure that could provide a better and more comfortable and reliable tour bus or more modern shuttle buses....I thought it was a joke but I did laugh in the end. The bus had to literally take a run up to get up the other side of the hill. I could not beleive it when the bus turned up but I have to admit the the bus driver had a sense of humour and made everyone laugh. But the tour was great once you got there. They provide umbrellas on hot and raining days and give you a free drink at the Red Dragon Village. The girl who took our money for the tour was not friendy at all either. But overall all it is a great tour and worth a visit for all movie buffs like me.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank petama20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great tour, beautiful location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

I must admit, I wasn't expecting much when coming to Hobbiton. I thought there would be a few little hobbit doors in the hills and was shocked to see how big the place was and the level of care put into this place. The gardens where amazing the little "homes" were lovely. Our tour guide who was a local gave us a great tour of the place and his stories were fun to listen to and you could tell he had a passion for this place. We finished at the Green Dragon where I had some ginger beer and a muffin, it was a lovely, fun day with a great finish. I would definitely recommend this place for all LOTR fans.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shayob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
137 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Fantastic, well organised experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

A very well organised experience. The movie set has been re-vamped as a tourist attraction, but it is never over the top. The area is well maintained and beautifully laid out. The tour guide is very informative and passionate about the LOTR and Hobbit and has lots of great stories about the movie, how it was shot and about the fanatics visiting. And finishing the tour with a nice beer in the Green Dragon was a nice bonus.
It is quite a drive and without a decent map very difficult to find (if you drive yourself). But it is all worth the effort.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank expat_sealover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hobbiton Movie Set Tours also viewed

 
Hamilton, Waikato Region
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Hobbiton Movie Set Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing