We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please give it a chance”

Golden Palace Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 51 Restaurants in Uncasville
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Oakdale, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Please give it a chance”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Hard to understand some of the poor reviews. Have gone here all my life and the current owners have had it for the last 20 years. Let me say two words - Peking Duck. Absolutely the best price you'll see on this for what you get and it is very well done. Rest of the menu is above ave for a normal Chinese restaurant that does takeout. Literally have never had a poor meal here, and to hear people from NYC says its good has to mean something.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Oakdale29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    20
    9
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rat hole”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

The food is horrible! The bartender is RUDE! I watched her give a drink to a guy that obviously did not need anymore in a plastic cup! Are you kidding me she put the drink in a plastic cup for the drunk! I hope it is her or her family that this jerk hits on the way home.
Wont ever be a next time and if you do go keep your cell handy so you can snap a picture of the bartender giving drinks to go!!!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ladiesniteout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's the real deal in chinese food!”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

My wife and I just returned from the Golden Palace in Uncasville. On intuition I asked the waitress for the "chinese menu" and voila! She came right back with another menu that had traditional chinese meals on it. I was instantly in heaven. My wife ordered the pea greens with thousand year old egg and I ordered emperors beef. Both were excellent.

They have an extensive "americanized" menu, but if you're there, give the chinese menu a try as well. This place has authentic chinese food available.

The only hit is the atmosphere... it's very nice, but we were sitting near the stairs to the bar, and someone in the bar was a bit drunk and needing to be heard. Doors to the bar were closed, but you could still hear "bar" noise over the chinese music playing in the dining area. Consider asking for a seat away from the doors to the bar if it is available.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Atomsmasher2606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Old school chineese”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Old school chineese resaurant...excellent food! Hard to find delicious food at very reasonable prices like this anywhere. We are from the Ny area...and nused to have places like this years ago, but they all faded away. Its always one of our stops when visiting Mohegan Sun area! Also Frendly bar area..where you could also enjoy a bite!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank monkeycat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Connecticut
1 review
“Great Dim Sum food”
Reviewed January 14, 2012

My family lives over an hour away, about an hour and a half drive, and we do it for the Dim Sum. Whomever the person is who wrote the food is horrible must not know what they are talking about. This resturant is always busy. The food is the next best thing if not better than going to Chinatown in NY or Boston.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Palace Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Uncasville, Mystic Country
Uncasville, Mystic Country
 
Uncasville, Mystic Country
Uncasville, Mystic Country
 
Uncasville, Mystic Country
 

Been to Golden Palace Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing