We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long Weekend at Mohegan”
Review of Mohegan Sun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mohegan Sun
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Uncasville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Very nice stay at hotel.
As usual have to time when you check in as the line can get long but was moving fast.
Got comped a room for 3 nights and left ahead from a few days of gambling.

The rooms are roomy and quiet I dont think I heard anyone else when in my room.
bathrooms are great and roomy here also as well as a full closet with safe.

Ill be back soon, would recommend to anyone for concert, gambling or visiting the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoheganSunCT, Manager at Mohegan Sun, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2014

Hi Ron, thanks for taking the time to write a review! We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay in the hotel. Thanks for visiting and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,964)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,147 - 2,153 of 2,966 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2014

We have stayed here on several occasions, always comped rooms. The rooms are large with attractive modern decor. The bathrooms are great with a separate toilet area from the double sinks and shower. Our views have always been beautiful and the staff is always pleasant and helpful.

It is so nice being able to return to a room after a fun night of gambling, eating and drinking and not have to worry about the drive home.

My only complaint, if you can call it a complaint, is I always feel hot when sleeping. I don't know if it is the bedding or room air, but we turn the ac to 66 or below sometimes and everyone always wakes up feeling hot. Not sure what this is about but it happens every time.

Love this place!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 284kristaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoheganSunCT, Manager at Mohegan Sun, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2014

Hi Krista, thanks for taking the time to write a review! We are so glad that you have enjoyed your stays with us! Thanks for visiting and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We were looking for a launching point to spend time in Rhode Island for the weekend, a last minute decision that left us with few options at our destination. Mohegan sun sounded like a fun place to be at the end of our exploration and turned out to be a solid choice.

The rooms were large and the beds comfortable. Our room had a view of the Thames river and overlooked the fire pit area adjacent to the pool - which I don't recommend as the noise from the pool party on Saturday night continued until the wee hours. I wasn't impressed with the shower as it was not adjustable.

We ate at Bobby Flays and Tuscany, both of which were excellent.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Skych8ser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoheganSunCT, Manager at Mohegan Sun, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thanks for visiting and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Wanted a July 4 weekend getaway from Phila. Debated either Mohegan Sun or Foxwoods for a 2 night stay Thursday-Saturday. Thanks to TA, we chose Mohegan Sun Hotel. Even though the trip up north on I95 was horrible, we were greeted by the nicest staff from the valet guy, the check-in lady, and even the player card rep. Room was fine with terrific picturesque view of Thames River.
This resort is very much improved since the last visit over 10 years ago. Well laid out with a mall full of stores and restaurants on the 2nd floor. It is HUGE.
Dinner Thursday night at Pepe's Pizza, a famous Connecticut pizzeria on the casino floor ( as are other mid-price places). The verdict: very, very good thin crust well done. Would definitely recommend if you like that NY,NJ thin crust.
Friday morning wanted to go to buffet, only $10 with player card. However, long line. Fortunately, then discovered Alex's Hash House, sit-down reasonably priced excellent breakfast. Friday night went to Michael Jordan's Steak House. Had the salad, filet & veg. no dessert as I wanted to get to the Krispy Kreme where they make them on site.
The disappointing part: Since it rained all day Friday from the storm, we decided to drive over to Foxwoods. Getting there was somewhat easy, as there now is some signage (there was little or none 10 yrs ago). This place is now in our opinion a PIT. Parked at the hotel valet (OK), but once inside, your now dealing with mobs of people with very smoky casinos. We were so happy we didn't stay here, we would have truly hated it.
Gambling: I'm just a penny slot player, but there was a very good mix of old & new games. Maybe, I was somewhat lucky, as I got lots of play & some nice pays. Overall, I probably ended up on the winning side. At Foxwoods, my $20 went in 5 minutes.

Room Tip: If you're coming from Phila, NJ area, avoid the George Washington Bridge. It took us 6 hours to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoheganSunCT, Manager at Mohegan Sun, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2014

Hi Stuart, thanks for taking the time to write a review! We are happy to hear that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed so many of our restaurants! Thanks for visiting and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

I might be spoiled with all buffet place i've been all around the world and i say Mohegun Sun buffet is poor.
Poor in sense of sanitation... I see lots of strand of human hair to rolls, seafood area(i asked the staff to removed everything and clean it up)
No hairnets, no gloves from staff
Unpleasant staff
No courtesy
Unclean tables and chair
Buffet on counters are unorganized and doesn't taste good
Some of staff have difficulty speaking English
Ice cream flavor are limited and out of stock
Not enough fruit and veges served
No flavored iced tea
Oysters have sand!price doesn't justify the selection

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank 17Dubhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stay every other month or so, this is our casino of choice. The hotel staff is always pleasant as is every staff member at Mohegan we have encountered. We love to stay at the pool for hours, it can get a little noisy at times when their are a lot of children in the pool, but then we go to our room, which is always clean and comfortable. I do have to say my only complaint with the rooms in those noisy toilets.....they can wake the dead! Great restaurants, great staff, entertainment , what else do you need?

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank paulabc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoheganSunCT, Manager at Mohegan Sun, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed so many wonderful stays with us! Thanks for visiting again and again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We had a wonderful time at Mohegan Sun. The service was absolutely fantastic. I requested a Handicap accessible room and we got a very large room like we never had any place before. The beds were very comfortable and the view was breath taking from our room. The restaurants are wonderful and I must say the staff also.If you enjoy live shows Mohegan Sun has a very area and comfortable seats. And no problem if you need ADA seating.

Room Tip: We have been their once before. I would speak to the person thats making up your stay and let them k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank almar22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoheganSunCT, Manager at Mohegan Sun, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad that you had such a wonderful stay! Thanks for visiting and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uncasville
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
#2 of 4 in Uncasville
1,416 reviews
1.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Uncasville
6.6 mi away
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
#1 of 4 in Mashantucket
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Uncasville
8.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Groton Near the Casinos
8.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Mystic - New London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mohegan Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mohegan Sun

Address: 1 Mohegan Sun Boulevard, Uncasville, CT 06382-1372
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Uncasville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Uncasville
Price Range: $191 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mohegan Sun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mohegan Sun, owned by the Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority, is one of the largest, most spectacular entertainment, gaming, dining and shopping destinations in the United States. Situated on 185 acres along the Thames River in scenic southeastern Connecticut, Mohegan Sun is home to three unique casinos, a 34-story, 1,200 room luxury hotel, a world-class spa and golf course, over 75 shops, restaurants and bars as well as three award-winning entertainment venues including a 10,000-seat Arena. Mohegan Sun is within easy access of New York, Boston, Hartford and Providence and located 15 minutes from the museums, antique shops and waterfront of Mystic Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mohegan Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mohegan Sun Uncasville
Mohegan Sun Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing