We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax and enjoy the momments”
Review of Mohegan Sun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mohegan Sun
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Uncasville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Hotel is first class yet significantly overpriced for the location. Gaming is terrific with lots to choose from. Outstanding choice of restaurants. You won't go hungry at MS.

Check with a Casino host to see if you qualify for a comp or reduced price room. Save your money for the Gaming floor.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,036)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,349 - 2,355 of 3,036 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

I attended a girl's reunion weekend at Mohegan Sun. Pretty sure we could have had fun in a cardboard box and that came in handy as the nightlife at Mohegan Sun left much to be desired. The surrounding area was beautiful yet there were no walking paths on the property. The spa needed upgrading but the spa staff was terrific so they almost made up for the lackluster decor. Overall not horrible but in no rush to return.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Clean and fine but priced at more than 400 for what you expect from hilton or spg. Casino is nice but rooms are underwhelming. Square footage of room with two double beds was very small and rooms simply don't measure up to other casino properties.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Also if you are a casino player, you will enjoy lover rates. The rooms and the bathroom are big. Restaurants and the casino are down stairs. Will recommend this hotel

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank o o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoheganSunCT, Dave J. - Social Media Specialist at Mohegan Sun, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thank you so much for the recommendation! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Our first trip to Mohegan was not the best experience I expected, disappointing. I was so excited to finally get there it was a total letdown! I only say that because I wasn't impressed. Everyone raves about this casino so my expectations where high and I was disappointed.

Restaurants - the food was awful at Ballo,pasta dry, pizza burned and they served it that way. The waiter I think was more interested in the baseball game than waiting his tables. We went to the Mexican rest. and I expected to have a lot of flavor, it was awful, again the whole staff was more interested in socializing with each other than tending to their guests! For the price you pay you would think service and food would be great! Exception, Hash House was good for breakfast but again I don't know what the deal is with staff standing around, at least make yourselves look busy, its just the perception of it I guess.

Stores- We visited the stores and while in one store the lady was most talkative which is great however she had asked us how long we were staying and I said well we are here for a couple days and then we are visiting Foxwoods for a few days. The minute I mentioned Foxwoods she went on a bash Foxwoods rant and would not stop! Being the polite people my husband and I are we just let her vent and walked away nicely. I was so upset with the way she carried on I will never ever step foot back in that store!

Casinos- I won't really comment on the casinos as they are all the same, you win some you lose some.

Check-in - I'm not sure I understand the game they play with the rooms but I really wish it would stop. Since this was our first visit we paid the full price of the rooms and to not have the room you booked available is just nonsense. I don't believe they went out of their way to get the correct room as I believe it was there all along they just play that game saying its not available to see what you will say/do. Some people they could care less however I am not that type of person. I expect to get what I reserved and not have to move to another room the next day, its as simple as that. It's just annoying I had to waste 1/2 hour waiting for them to decide which room to give me.

Overall - verdict is still out whether we will go back, we're trying to decide on New Years eve and beyond.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cuse42day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoheganSunCT, Dave J. - Social Media Specialist at Mohegan Sun, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review. We are sorry to hear that your stay did not live up to your expectations. We would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay further and help clarify the inconvenience you experienced checking-in. Please feel free to call our Guest Relations team at 866.707.3317. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed there for the Kenney Chesney concert. At $499/night a little tough to justify but we did it. Nice place but not worth the price. Room was very nice and clean. Bed was very comfortable. Of course it's convenient for a show but other than that would not stay here again at that rate. Nice view of the river. Mohegan itself is a great place to go. Southwest theme is done well and it almost makes you think you are out west. Plenty of restaurants and shops. Concert venue is great for shows. Chesney is amazing. FYI - Stay down the road at the quality inn for $199 a night with a free shuttle to Mohegan.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skibum028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The great experience started with my call to book our room for Sunday Oct 20th....The young man on the phone could not have been nicer or more accomodating....I asked for Early check in (doesn't everyone?) and he was really honest and stated that he would mark it, but it would be unlikely due to concerts the night before, and the night of, our arrival. I can respect that answer, and appreciate the honesty. We were greeted courteously by the Valet, who also unloaded our luggage onto the baggage carrier and assured us that we would be met in our room, with our luggage....We didn't get in as early as I expected, and when we arrived at 3:00 there was absolutely NO problem getting our room immediately. The Bell carrier was not even 5 minutes behind us, bringing us bottled water and Ice along with our bags. The room was spacious and clean, the bed was crazy comfortable. We had a great time exploring the shops, the restaurants and Casino. We totally enjoyed the one night stay here, and would definitely come back for a longer stay, to more fully explore everything this terrific property has to offer!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LPCARC1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoheganSunCT, Dave J. - Social Media Specialist at Mohegan Sun, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thanks for celebrating your anniversary with us! We're happy we could help make it a memorable one. Hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uncasville
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
#2 of 4 in Uncasville
1,433 reviews
1.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Uncasville
6.6 mi away
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
#1 of 4 in Mashantucket
1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Uncasville
8.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Groton Near the Casinos
8.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Mystic - New London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mohegan Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mohegan Sun

Address: 1 Mohegan Sun Boulevard, Uncasville, CT 06382-1372
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Uncasville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Uncasville
Price Range: $163 - $451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mohegan Sun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mohegan Sun, owned by the Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority, is one of the largest, most spectacular entertainment, gaming, dining and shopping destinations in the United States. Situated on 185 acres along the Thames River in scenic southeastern Connecticut, Mohegan Sun is home to three unique casinos, a 34-story, 1,200 room luxury hotel, a world-class spa and golf course, over 75 shops, restaurants and bars as well as three award-winning entertainment venues including a 10,000-seat Arena. Mohegan Sun is within easy access of New York, Boston, Hartford and Providence and located 15 minutes from the museums, antique shops and waterfront of Mystic Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mohegan Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mohegan Sun Uncasville
Mohegan Sun Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing