We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying here now...yuck”
Review of Mohegan Sun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mohegan Sun
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Uncasville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2013

If you like walking 3/4th of a mile from your car to your room through a smelly casino filled with desperate looking losers, this is your place. A vendor brought us here to a conference and to be honest, I'm struggling to not hold the experience against them. The staff are nowhere to be found and look at you with a vacant expression if you ask them for advice or directions. The signage you would expect to see directing the unfamiliar around this massive barn is non-existent. Paper thin walls, freezing cold rooms with little more than sheets for bed covers, a raw steak for dinner and an 80's mall ambiance all wrapped around a bunch of geriatrics pumping their social security checks into the slots. Yuck, yuck, yuck.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JimMKport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,802)
There are newer reviews for Mohegan Sun
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,233 - 2,239 of 2,803 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

The rooms are comfortable with great views. The reason is the various casinos off the lobby. That has more then enough options for serious gamblers. They smoke and second hand smoke permeates the public areas. Many different fast food and third party places to eat, but the Season's Buffet is owned by hotel and has the best options for picky eaters and is value priced. They ask you if you want a mini bar, but they take out anything you try to add. There is an ice machine on every floor. The rooms are well maintained by the housekeeping staff and the appointments are in line with the room rate.

Room Tip: The higher you go the better. There are non smoking floors.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BonVivant39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The hotel offered special rates to Mohegan Club Players Card members during the month of May. This is their way of showing loyalty to club members and it is a welcome gift to receive these special rates. We ate at the Summer Shack which had a wonderful display of fish dishes. We also ate at Michael Jordon's Bar and Grill which was very good. They do offer a three pound hamburg to anyone up for the challenge. We wanted to try Bobby Flay's American bar and grill but it tended to be a little pricey but was rated as an excellent gourmet restaurant and one of the top restaurants in the Mohegan Sun. One lunchtime we opted to eat at Booby (Flay's) Burgers which featured great burgers and was a quick stop between gambling games.

Room Tip: One special security precaution is that each guest must show their room key before getting on the el...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

the hotel was excellent and the staff could not have been better..Check in was fast and easy from the valet to the front desk they know what their doing.... This is the only place were you can lose money and still have a good time..

Room Tip: we had a high room with a view of the water
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raymondNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have been there several times. I was always impressed by the architectural beauty of the place as well as the level of service. We stayed in a suite which had magnificent views of the surrounding countryside.
Lots of great restaurants to choose from, from the white tablecloth and candles type to the buffet and hamburger joints.
Staff are all helpful. There is a well equipped gym, pool and spa. A well stocked shopping arcade with many stores ranging from jewelry to candy. And finally for those who indulge, 3 casinos under one roof.
It's a great weekend getaway not that far from New York/Boston.

Room Tip: Upper floors with river view
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stay at least once a month and are NEVER disappointed. This last weekend, we needed an important document faxed (first time using this service) and they called us when the document arrived, we signed and they faxed it for us immediately....now, that's service!

Room Tip: If you can, get an upgrade to one of their luxurious suites.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank likesinns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

One of the best times you could possibly have anywhere. The Mohegan Sun brand has become an industry standard and this facility lives up to it daily.
The complex is 2nd in the world size wise yet it remains spotless clean,service is stellar. The layout is smart, the circular design makes it an easy and enjoyable journey.
After 12 years the hotel rooms still smell new, nice decor, suites are top rate. Casino remains ahead of the curve in terms of games and service. Restaurants are cool, try the new buffet, Tuscany, or Lansdowne. I really like the stores, real stores for real people. Parking access is easy enough.
I would like to see the long promised hotel and retail expansion. More rooms and stores are really needed.
In New England hotel/gaming circles Mohegan Sun is the one hands down. Its a break from the hustle &bustle of everyday. Kick back and let the Sun-shine in.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank biglny77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uncasville
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
#2 of 4 in Uncasville
1,386 reviews
1.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Uncasville
6.6 mi away
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
#1 of 4 in Mashantucket
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Uncasville
8.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Groton Near the Casinos
6.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mohegan Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mohegan Sun

Address: 1 Mohegan Sun Boulevard, Uncasville, CT 06382-1372
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Uncasville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Uncasville
Price Range: $193 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mohegan Sun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mohegan Sun, owned by the Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority, is one of the largest, most spectacular entertainment, gaming, dining and shopping destinations in the United States. Situated on 185 acres along the Thames River in scenic southeastern Connecticut, Mohegan Sun is home to three unique casinos, a 34-story, 1,200 room luxury hotel, a world-class spa and golf course, over 75 shops, restaurants and bars as well as three award-winning entertainment venues including a 10,000-seat Arena. Mohegan Sun is within easy access of New York, Boston, Hartford and Providence and located 15 minutes from the museums, antique shops and waterfront of Mystic Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mohegan Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mohegan Sun Uncasville
Mohegan Sun Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing