We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eastern Connecticut hotel/casino”
Review of Mohegan Sun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mohegan Sun
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Uncasville
Certificate of Excellence
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Eastern Connecticut hotel/casino”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have been there several times. I was always impressed by the architectural beauty of the place as well as the level of service. We stayed in a suite which had magnificent views of the surrounding countryside.
Lots of great restaurants to choose from, from the white tablecloth and candles type to the buffet and hamburger joints.
Staff are all helpful. There is a well equipped gym, pool and spa. A well stocked shopping arcade with many stores ranging from jewelry to candy. And finally for those who indulge, 3 casinos under one roof.
It's a great weekend getaway not that far from New York/Boston.

Room Tip: Upper floors with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,477
    716
    212
    102
    95
See reviews for
485
1,139
150
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (663)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stay at least once a month and are NEVER disappointed. This last weekend, we needed an important document faxed (first time using this service) and they called us when the document arrived, we signed and they faxed it for us immediately....now, that's service!

Room Tip: If you can, get an upgrade to one of their luxurious suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank likesinns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

One of the best times you could possibly have anywhere. The Mohegan Sun brand has become an industry standard and this facility lives up to it daily.
The complex is 2nd in the world size wise yet it remains spotless clean,service is stellar. The layout is smart, the circular design makes it an easy and enjoyable journey.
After 12 years the hotel rooms still smell new, nice decor, suites are top rate. Casino remains ahead of the curve in terms of games and service. Restaurants are cool, try the new buffet, Tuscany, or Lansdowne. I really like the stores, real stores for real people. Parking access is easy enough.
I would like to see the long promised hotel and retail expansion. More rooms and stores are really needed.
In New England hotel/gaming circles Mohegan Sun is the one hands down. Its a break from the hustle &bustle of everyday. Kick back and let the Sun-shine in.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biglny77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
www.2soaringhearts.com
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Overall our stay was very enjoyable. The rooms are clean, very nicely appointed and comfortable. The staff is well trained, courteous to a fault and seem to constantly work at making your visit enjoyable. The casino itself is modern and pleasant, although the nonsmoking areas overlap a little too much with the smoking areas which by far are much larger. On the gaming floor, it is nearly impossible to be anywhere without the acrid stink of cigarettes. By the end of an evening, whether gaming or taking in a show, I had a sore throat and my clothes and hair reeked. The shopping areas were wonderful. There are more upscale shops and restaurants than many malls. The restaurants are designed and operated under the names of renowned chefs. I don't mean to imply that the famous chefs are on sight but the restaurants are their visions and are very nicely executed. My biggest complaint is the variation between midweek rates and weekend rates. The price went up by 300% on Friday. In fact it was so outrageously high, we checked out and went to another hotel nearby. So this is a mixed review. There is much to commend the Mohegan Sun but there are a few flaws that detract from the overall experience. My recommendation: Do what we did. Take advantage of the in-week rates and move to a nearby hotel for the weekends.

Room Tip: Higher level rooms overlooking the water are quiet and that view is incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BilltheArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicopee,Ma.
Level Contributor
321 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

We love the hotel at Mohegan Sun. Such a friendly staff. This place is neat as a pin. Check in is always smooth. If the room is not ready we go to the pool for 3 or 4 hours where we have lunch. The bathroom areas are immaculate in the pool area and have showers and lockers. When we get to our room we rest a bit, in our lovely, clean, room. The only thing is those annoying, loud toilets....LOL, and off to dinner at one of the many restaurants to choose from. A few hours of gambling( you knew that was coming) and back to the comfy bed and a little tv or free wifi,(nothing is for free,I'm sure it's in the facility fees) and off to sleep. Great Job Mohegan Sun Hotel and Casino!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank paulabc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoheganSunCT, Dave J. - Social Media Specialist at Mohegan Sun, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
I think you just described the perfect day! Thanks for this great review - hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I was staying at the Mohegan sun for work while attending a fashion/jewelry conference. I went up to my room to drop off my things at the end of the day before meeting my coworkers and clients down on the floor and the do not disturb sign was illuminated next to the door and my room key no longer worked.
I went down to the front desk to find out what was wrong and they told me "You checked out via the express check out and the room was given to another guest." I had NOT checked out and the express check out card that was left in the box was from the previous guest dated the day before.
The protocol for when someone checks out and their room still has belongings in it is for security to clear out the room and hold them in case the guest returns for them. Security did not have my belongings. The front office supervisor Johanna Wertz informed me that the guest who my room was currently given to had been contacted and that he had not entered the room yet. He got his room key and went straight to the floor. So, Johanna and security went up to the room and retrieved my belongings.
When they brought everything down to the front desk. I knew not all of my belongings were accounted for. I had things in the drawers. So, they allowed me to retrieve the remainder of my things. When I entered the (non-smoking) room, I immediately smelled smoke and also saw that the coffee pot had been recently used. The other guest HAD been in the room.
I got my clothes from the drawer (which appeared to have been tossed and among the items in the dresser was my checkbook) and all of my clothes smelled like smoke. They set me up in a new hotel suite which was very nice, I'm just sad I was too upset to enjoy it properly.
Sherice was the manager working at 4:30 am when I woke up because I couldn't sleep, she handled the purchase of a shirt for me to wear the next day since my clothes smelled like smoke and dry cleaning of my own clothes could not be arranged in time.
The daytime manager, Mandi, followed up with me before I checked out and seemed well informed of the situation. She ensured that there would be no charge for either of my two night stay and asked if there was anything else she could do. My coworker and I enjoyed a nice lunch before we left and my husband and I will try staying there again in the future for a compensated stay.
I had to close my existing and open a new checking account as well as alter all of the accounts linked to it. But I feel like the Mohegan sun staff did everything they could possibly do to accommodate me after the incident occurred. Mistakes happen and while you can't change the past, you have all the control in the world over how you deal with them. I think Mohegan Sun handled the situation as well as they could have.
I also recently received a nice letter from the front office manager Mary Wren:
"Several of my staff were kind enough to fill me in on what transpired during your stay, and I would like to sincerely apologize for what must have been a very upsetting situation. Please rest assured that I will check into the issue so that something like what you experienced will not happen to another guest."
I appreciate that they are making an effort to ensure that this does not happen in the future to another guest! I would give Mohegan Sun Hotel another chance in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed one night with my wife for a conference. We got a king room with some view of the lake (reservoir?) which was nice. The room was of average size but worked well for us - clean comfortable bed, digital in-room safe, complimentary bottled water and good supply of bathroom amenities. Wifi internet was included in the resort fee which I had to pay no matter. The resort featured a casino and a large convention center and had a few restaurants/bars to choose from inlcuding a Michael Jordan Steakhouse. The pool area was pretty nice too but it was spring break so lots of kids running around. If driving just use the valet as it was very convenient. Overall an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: High floor facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BandBtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uncasville
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
#2 of 4 in Uncasville
1,284 reviews
1.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Uncasville
6.6 mi away
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
#1 of 4 in Mashantucket
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Uncasville
6.7 mi away
Grand Pequot Tower
Grand Pequot Tower
#2 of 4 in Mashantucket
477 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mohegan Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mohegan Sun

Property: Mohegan Sun
Address: 1 Mohegan Sun Boulevard, Uncasville, CT 06382-1372
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Uncasville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Uncasville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mohegan Sun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mohegan Sun, owned by the Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority, is one of the largest, most spectacular entertainment, gaming, dining and shopping destinations in the United States. Situated on 185 acres along the Thames River in scenic southeastern Connecticut, Mohegan Sun is home to three unique casinos, a 34-story, 1,200 room luxury hotel, a world-class spa and golf course, over 75 shops, restaurants and bars as well as three award-winning entertainment venues including a 10,000-seat Arena. Mohegan Sun is within easy access of New York, Boston, Hartford and Providence and located 15 minutes from the museums, antique shops and waterfront of Mystic Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mohegan Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mohegan Sun Uncasville
Mohegan Sun Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing