We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite getaways!”
Review of Mohegan Sun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mohegan Sun
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Uncasville
Certificate of Excellence
Monroe, ct
Level Contributor
120 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“One of my favorite getaways!”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I really enjoy coming to Mohegan Sun just t get away from everything! They have free parking and drinks while you are playing. All of the restaurants I have been to on the premises are awesome. You should expect everything to be overpriced before going so that you are not disappointed when you arrive. Bring your walking shoes if you are spending the day, as I have made the mistake of looking fab instead of being comfortable. But if you're going to the clubs here dress to impress!

Room Tip: Expect to spend money
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanna432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,477
    716
    212
    102
    95
See reviews for
485
1,139
150
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (663)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We were lucky to be able to stay in a Luxury Sky Suite at Mohegan Sun (thanks to a friend who booked the room for us). It was such an incredible weekend escape for us. We went to see a concert in December of 2012, and brought our kids, a babysitter and a friend. The room had more than enough space for all of us. The view was impeccable. We had dinner at the VIP lounge, which was delicious. The kids had fun playing in the arcade with the babysitter while we were at the concert. There is so much to do here for everyone that it makes for a nice weekend getaway. The only downside is that there is smoking allowed indoors (I know, I know, its a casino!). For breakfast we took the kids to Hash House A Go-Go. The breakfast was yummy & the kids had a blast. We all had an excellent weekend (kids included) and thats a lot to be said for a casino.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PartyOfFourPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estepona, Spain
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stopped off here for one night on our way from NY to Boston. Would never have known it was there until one of our friends recommended it. Very interesting, different, quirky and a real experience but unless you are a serious casino addict one night is more than enough. Lots of food options to choose from - we ate in Michael Jordan's steakhouse - fabulous food and service but damn expensive!

Room was excellent - very clean and modern and even the corridors smelt nice! Whole resort is beautifully kept and well thought out and gives any casino in Vegas a run for its money. Really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DolphinEspana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for my hubby's birthday last year. It was really nice the food? The people, everything went well. When we went to the club/lounge that they had inside Mohegan sun..it was dead. Saturday night and barely anyone there. And the crowd was not exactly the type we expected. But still was not terrible. We had a couple of drinks, danced and left. Disappointed by the club, impressed by the casino.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyzia83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Why it is that Atlantic City casino's are cutting everything and yet Mohegan Sun continues to thrive? Dont get me wrong, I love the vibe and feel of AC but a recent unexpected trip to Mohegan for the first time has me hooked. First, the restuarants are plentiful and there is a wide assortment (although BarAmericain leave something to be desired). Compare that to ever shrinking buffets and dining in AC. Second, the place is spotless -- everywhere. Compare that to some AC casinos that leave a lot to be desired. Third, the rooms are all nice and from what i can tell pretty consistent. Compare that to AC....where a room in one of the older towers is akin to the Bates and you play "room-assignment roulette" when you check in. All staff I encountered were pleasant and professional. Even during very crowded concerts, there is a good feeling of order and security, all while having fun. The variety of slot machines and games is second to none. Drink service....we'll it depends. Sometimes slower than slow, but if you're at the right table or machine, you'll have constant attention -- its just the luck of the draw as they say. Others have complained of the smoke -- I found it no less so than most AC casinos that allow smoking. Round it out with free convenient parking, a decent players-club program and now a new marketing/agreement with Resorts in AC, I see more trips in my future and I cant wait! The few negatives are the cost of the rooms (really high on the weekends) and the location -- its definitely a stay-and-play location -- forget about being able to walk anywhere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aremk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxbury, CT
Level Contributor
124 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The check in was ok-had about a 15-20 minute wait in a long line. After that, all was smooth sailing. The rooms are good size with nice size bathrooms. The TV was a flat screen with actual HD programming. Had a great view of the river from the 16th floor. We stayed one night for a function at the Convention Center. This property, like Foxwoods, is the destination in and of itself-not much to do outside of the properties. Uncasville is/was a rural area comprised of mostly agriculture. You can keep busy if you like to gamble, shopping is sparse but nice stores, attend a function or catch a show; otherwise not much to do.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stonecroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Went for a conference. The location is far from town, an hour by taxi from Hartford Airport. There is nothing near by, you're pretty much stuck in the hotel. I guess they figure you're not going to be spending time in your room so the walls are not well insulated, I could hear conversation in the next room and the TV keep losing signal. Smoking is allowed, difficult for nonsmokers.
The people gambling seemed to be enjoying themselves, and it looked like they have a good entertainment lineup.
Of note, the taxi back to town makes you pay in advance, and charged $50.00 more to return to the same airport. Advise to check in advance.
My bill was not ready at checkout, was told it would be emailed to me, still waiting.
Suggest Vegas.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonicafromMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uncasville
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
#2 of 4 in Uncasville
1,284 reviews
1.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Uncasville
6.6 mi away
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
#1 of 4 in Mashantucket
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Uncasville
6.7 mi away
Grand Pequot Tower
Grand Pequot Tower
#2 of 4 in Mashantucket
477 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mohegan Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mohegan Sun

Property: Mohegan Sun
Address: 1 Mohegan Sun Boulevard, Uncasville, CT 06382-1372
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Uncasville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Uncasville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mohegan Sun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mohegan Sun, owned by the Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority, is one of the largest, most spectacular entertainment, gaming, dining and shopping destinations in the United States. Situated on 185 acres along the Thames River in scenic southeastern Connecticut, Mohegan Sun is home to three unique casinos, a 34-story, 1,200 room luxury hotel, a world-class spa and golf course, over 75 shops, restaurants and bars as well as three award-winning entertainment venues including a 10,000-seat Arena. Mohegan Sun is within easy access of New York, Boston, Hartford and Providence and located 15 minutes from the museums, antique shops and waterfront of Mystic Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Mohegan Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mohegan Sun Uncasville
Mohegan Sun Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing