We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very nice winter escape in the northeast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mohegan Sun

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mohegan Sun
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Uncasville
Certificate of Excellence
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
674 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Very nice winter escape in the northeast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is really a destination as it has an arcade for kids, a spa, a pool, great selection of stores for shopping and many terrific restaurants. The slower winter season is a great time to visit if you want to avoid the crowds. Check out the entertainment also, as there is a major concert venue (top names play there), a comedy club and the Wolf Den concert venue in the center of the casino with free music almost every evening. A fun getaway!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,033
    553
    150
    79
    79
See reviews for
329
825
90
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had some great meals at this casino. Bobby Flays is outstanding. Ballo is very good. The room was fine. We were generally treated very well. They have their systems down pretty well. I had one incident that colored the stay for me. When I was cashing in some chips before leaving there was this big controversy about the value of them. The folks wanted to give me $1 for chips I had paid $5 for. There was this whole assumption that I was somehow trying to scam them out of $30. I asked to see a manager. He turned out to be worse implying that I was trying to cheat the casino. It wasn't enough money to spend any further time over but their attitude assumes that you are dishonest and that it is somehow worth it to someone to stand toe to toe with some blockhead and argue over $30. I wouldn't go back unless I had to.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank whyrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoheganSunCT, Dave J. - Social Media Specialist at Mohegan Sun, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We regret that your expectations were not met during your time here and would encourage you to call our Guest Relations team to further discuss the situation you describe. They can be reached at 866.707.3317. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Mohegan Sun is a fun little escape in CT. The rooms are beautiful in my opinion and the beds are comfy. The only problem is you can sometimes hear your neighbor. MS is a great entertaining property and we always have a good time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovethebeach1115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayport, New York
Level Contributor
142 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

It is a good hotel with good restaurants and good shops but mind you it's not cheap. The only negative is the smell of cigarette smoke that greets you as soon as you walk in. We didn't really play in the casino so I cannot comment on that but all in all a good place to go for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Housemouse901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is one great hotel, checked in at VIP which was great the hallways smelled great and the room was very comfy and the bathroom was in tip top shape and well appropriated, great security also, so if you like casino hotels this is the one to stay at.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WarrenTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Have visited here twice in last year...great restaurants, beautiful and spacious rooms, excellent shopping. The only drawback is the smell of cigarette smoke that permeates the hotel despite efforts to mask it. Really takes away from experience. Why do they allow smoking? Reservations are exempt from the federal and state laws regarding this issue.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mbc2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed here after a concert in December. As we are CT residents, we visit the casino once in a while but rarely stay at the hotel as it is expensive. But the room is excellent - super clean and spacious. The restaurants, clubs and gaming opportunities are great. Checking in and out can take a while, but in fairness, I could have done the express checkout. It's a great place to stay but it is not cheap.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uncasville
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
#2 of 5 in Uncasville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,029 reviews
1.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Uncasville
6.6 mi away
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
#1 of 4 in Mashantucket
4.0 of 5 stars 1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area
6.9 mi away
Grand Pequot Tower
Grand Pequot Tower
#2 of 4 in Mashantucket
4.0 of 5 stars 429 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mystic Groton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mohegan Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mohegan Sun

Property: Mohegan Sun
Address: 1 Mohegan Sun Boulevard, Uncasville, CT 06382-1372
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Uncasville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Uncasville
#3 Family Hotel in Uncasville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mohegan Sun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mohegan Sun, owned by the Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority, is one of the largest, most spectacular entertainment, gaming, dining and shopping destinations in the United States. Situated on 185 acres along the Thames River in scenic southeastern Connecticut, Mohegan Sun is home to three unique casinos, a 34-story, 1,200 room luxury hotel, a world-class spa and golf course, over 75 shops, restaurants and bars as well as three award-winning entertainment venues including a 10,000-seat Arena. Mohegan Sun is within easy access of New York, Boston, Hartford and Providence and located 15 minutes from the museums, antique shops and waterfront of Mystic Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Mohegan Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mohegan Sun Uncasville
Mohegan Sun Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing