We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekday getaway”
Review of Mohegan Sun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mohegan Sun
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Uncasville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed on a Monday night. We arrived late afternoon and were upgraded to a beautiful one bedroom suite. The accommodations were really nice. Separate living room with flat panel TV and half bath and bedroom with King bed and nice bathroom with tub and separate shower.
We dined at the Michael Jordan Cafe. My wife had filet mignon and I had the pasta with lobster and shrimp. Iceberg wedge and "go-go bread" appetizer. The meal was great as it has always been every time we eat there.. The quality of meat they use is great. Super tender and tasty cut with a fork. Played a bit in the casino. Because it was a week day it was pretty quiet but not "dead" feeling like is often the case when a place isn't busy. You could pretty much get to any machine or table game you wanted. It's nice that there is always a free performance from a band at the Wolfs Den. Listened to live music as we played slots. Next day we did take out breakfast from Geno's - they were out of cream cheese for bagels!? Guess we have to cut them some slack because of hurricane Sandy the prior week. What they really need here is a good sit down breakfast place. Birches, which used to have great breakfasts but slipped a bit on recent visits, is closed at present. Hopefully someplace with a good breakfast will come in its place.
Always enjoy our stays at Mohegan and this time was no exception. It is such a large resort with lots to do. . Every employee we came in contact with was helpful and cheerful too, which makes the trip more enjoyable. Can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jceh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,972)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,506 - 2,512 of 2,972 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

Mohegan Sun was a great place to stay because we were evacuated from our home during Hurricane Sandy. The Hotel has its own power source so we knew we wouldn't lose it during our stay. Once the Governor closed the Ct. State highways, there wasn't much opened in the Casino but we were able to walk around and eat.

Room Tip: I only stayed there this one time but we were on the 10th floor facing the River and the room was ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoheganSunCT, Dave J. - Social Media Specialist at Mohegan Sun, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Thank you for the review. We're happy you decided to ride out Sandy with us. We hope to see you again under better circumstances!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed here 10/30 to 11/1. Hotel was sold out due to Atlantic City closing, and the bad weather in the north east. Even sold out, I requested a room on a certain floor and block 3 weeks prior to arrival. When I checked in, I was told it was noted in my reservation and they actually held it for me. That's classy service. All the employees go out of their way for you, and thats why I frequent this facility about 4 to 5 times a year.
Rooms are spotless and well kept. The "Sun" has everything you would want. Great pool. Plenty of shops and eateries. Express check-out if desired, and valet service is prompt and courtious. Already making my reservation for next month!!

Room Tip: River and Cove view rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fly747a300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoheganSunCT, Dave J. - Social Media Specialist at Mohegan Sun, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Thanks for this great review. We know are hard work is paying off when we receive feedback like this! See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

we stayed at the hotel sunday monday nights and leftblate tuesday. as usual the rooms were great. clean and well stocked. the menue at margaritaville had changed slightly and the portions seemed to be a little smaller. big bubbas bbq however was tremendous. great time was had by all. caution the blackjack tables have started cutting the deck almost in half requireing a shuffel way to often for me.

Room Tip: think the view is better on the river side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaineFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed from 10/19-10/21/12 for our anniversary. We have been here before but not in a couple of years. Room was spotless, very cozy and bed very comfortable. Atmosphere is great, we had a lot of fun at the waterfall bar on Friday night, dj, interesting people and good martinis. Couples massage on Saturday at the Spa was incredible. Oh plus we had breakfast room service Sat morning which was spectacular! Also had a surprisingly good dinner at Margaritaville which I thought was better than Tuscany. Expect to spend money, its what you're there to do. We had a wonderful time and looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shannon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed for 3 days. The room was spotless.The art work and attention to detail throughout the entire place is incredible!!
There are so many shops to visit and so many machines to play.
You need a few days here.
The atmosphere is warm and welcoming, as is the indoor pool.
I liked everything about this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kd r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed 1 night at 399 for a Saturday night. 50 extra in taxes and 15 for a resort fee. The resort fee included basically 2 bottles of water, and access to the fitness club. Used an elliptical machine that must have been 5 (or 10) years old. There were also a few older weight machines, and a couple of treadmills. Saw better in a comfort inn. Asked for a late checkout when we checked in, and the front desk gave us 1230. Called to get a later checkout, and the front desk rep laughed at me, and said we needed to be out by 12. Not too funny to me, I asked to talk to a supervisor, and she said she was the supervisor. Maybe at a fast food joint, but that's just not the way to handle customers. Saw dealers arguing at a dice table, and left feeling like I didn't want to come back anytime soon.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob7142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoheganSunCT, Dave J. - Social Media Specialist at Mohegan Sun, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are sorry to hear that your stay did not live up to your expectations and would encourage you to give our Guest Relations team a call at 866.707.3317 so we can discuss your trip further. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uncasville
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
#2 of 4 in Uncasville
1,417 reviews
1.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Uncasville
6.6 mi away
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
#1 of 4 in Mashantucket
1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Uncasville
8.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Groton Near the Casinos
8.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Mystic - New London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mohegan Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mohegan Sun

Address: 1 Mohegan Sun Boulevard, Uncasville, CT 06382-1372
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Uncasville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Uncasville
Price Range: $191 - $460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mohegan Sun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mohegan Sun, owned by the Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority, is one of the largest, most spectacular entertainment, gaming, dining and shopping destinations in the United States. Situated on 185 acres along the Thames River in scenic southeastern Connecticut, Mohegan Sun is home to three unique casinos, a 34-story, 1,200 room luxury hotel, a world-class spa and golf course, over 75 shops, restaurants and bars as well as three award-winning entertainment venues including a 10,000-seat Arena. Mohegan Sun is within easy access of New York, Boston, Hartford and Providence and located 15 minutes from the museums, antique shops and waterfront of Mystic Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mohegan Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mohegan Sun Uncasville
Mohegan Sun Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing