We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mohegan Sun” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mohegan Sun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mohegan Sun
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Uncasville
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Mohegan Sun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

A few days stay was a great, quick vacation. Rooms are good size and comfortable with wi-fi connections and coffee maker. When checking in ask for robes to be sent to the room if you plan to use the spa area. There is a big heated indoor pool and hot tub with a bar and food service for breakfast and lunch, a spa and an exercise room. There is gambling, of course, and live entertainment in one of the lounges each day. Excellent restaurants from Todd English, Jasper White and Michael Jordan as well as smaller places like Johnny Rockets, Dubliner Pub, burgers and pizza and an "everything you can think of" buffet. A nice, quick relaxing getaway for those of us in the Northeast states.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view of the Connecticut River -- very scenic and rural.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,330
    663
    191
    96
    93
See reviews for
425
1,051
127
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (608)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Massapequa, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

Who needs Vegas? The hotel at Mohegan Sun in Uncasville Conn. matches any of the "top" hotels on the strip. The rooms are spacious, ultra clean, and have all of the modern conveniences one would expect. Plenaty of restaurants to choose from...prices to fit all budgets. Three great casinos. The only drw back is that there are too many smoking areas on the casino floor.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

We went for my birthday for 2 nights without the kids. The packages tey have online were great deals, and inclded some food, and gambling vouchers too! Our king room was great, clean, spacious, and had a nice view of the river. The staf was friendly, we mainly relaxed, shopped and a little gambling too! Great get a way for us but under two hours away! Hope we wilbe back again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjdquincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at MGM Foxwoods a number of times. The rooms are very nice and comfortable. We decide to try Mohegan Sun for her birthday 3/20 for the 1st time. The room, which is much more expensive than MGM, is not as nice. The bed is not as comfortable and the bathroom is not nearly as nice.
Although we prefer to gamble at Mohegan because we like the casino lay out better and we think that they have better restaurants and newer slot machines, we prefer the rooms at MGM much better.
Please understand that Mohegan is nice but we prefer MGM to stay over night.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank BLJETAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

Save your money, go to ac...or an Enema factory, for that matter. Bartenders were horrible. Security/floor people were incompetent. Be prepared to wait a half hour for a taxi. Never going back.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Footballfan1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoheganSunCT, Social Media Specialist at Mohegan Sun, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thank you so much for providing us with feedback on your visit. We appreciate receiving comments from our guests on how we are doing.
On behalf of the staff at Mohegan Sun, please accept my apology for any lapse in service you experienced. Mohegan Sun prides itself on continually providing outstanding experiences and services for all of our guests.

Again, thank you for your comments. We look forward to having another opportunity to welcome you back to Mohegan Sun and hope to fully meet your expectations and ours as well. If you would like to discuss any portion of your trip in further detail please do not hesitate to contact us toll free, by calling 866-707-3317
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

It's big and contains virtually everything you'd expect from a typical Vegas strip casino/hotel, but it's located in a remote and isolated corner of the Connecticut woods. Not that this is necessarily a bad thing, but you don't get the same rush of stimulation and anticipation that you experience when you're in Las Vegas. Nor do you get the cross section of people that make it truly unique. It's got plenty of gambling, dining and entertainment options, but nothing is extraordinary. The rooms are modern, comfortable and bright but not really luxurious. All in all, Mohegan Sun is a good choice for a fun getaway for a day or two.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MK2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
205 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

Showed up on a Saturday afternoon to celebrate my birthday with my wife. Stayed in Mystic and dined in Mystic and other places along the shore, which was a good decision. Mohegan by 2 or 3 PM was jammed on a Saturday. So many people, that it made playing the slots not very fun. Best part, was that we had not lost all the money we planned to use at Mohegan, just due to the lack of finding any empty slot machines. People were rude and saved chairs leaving bottles, ash trays on them, or playing two machines. For some reason there were many "out of service" machines this day - seemed more than expected, so there must be some other reason than just not working. No one asked us for drinks, and the aisles were too crowded to move around. Empty glasses everywhere between the machines, on the ledges and on top of machines.

Restaurants - have been to some in the past, and nothing rivals the local places in Mystic for price and flavor, especially if you are interested in fresh seafood. Dined at the Chinese Food Court - had some clams in black bean sauce, some fresh pea pod tips in garlic and some dim sum. Reasonably priced, fresh and enough for a snack before dinner in Mystic.

Shopping - OK, but nothing special. Typical casino shops to take your winnings, if you have any.

Be careful leaving the parking garage (Winter), as cars entering were racing to empty spaces without regards for pedestrians walking to their cars. We returned to our car, only to have someone stop in front of us. He backed up not enough to get us out so I waited and not risk damaging my car, until he got the others behind him to move back. Just happy to get out of the garage without an accident.

I like Mohegan Sun better than Foxwoods, but if I go again, I'll go early, enjoy the slots and table games and leave early before the drunks show up.

Room Tip: Go early, or don't bother going. Park in the garage if you can to avoid the long walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelerofNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uncasville
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
#2 of 4 in Uncasville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
#1 of 4 in Mashantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
1.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Uncasville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Grand Pequot Tower
Grand Pequot Tower
#2 of 4 in Mashantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Uncasville
8.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mystic Groton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mohegan Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mohegan Sun

Property: Mohegan Sun
Address: 1 Mohegan Sun Boulevard, Uncasville, CT 06382-1372
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Uncasville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Uncasville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mohegan Sun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mohegan Sun, owned by the Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority, is one of the largest, most spectacular entertainment, gaming, dining and shopping destinations in the United States. Situated on 185 acres along the Thames River in scenic southeastern Connecticut, Mohegan Sun is home to three unique casinos, a 34-story, 1,200 room luxury hotel, a world-class spa and golf course, over 75 shops, restaurants and bars as well as three award-winning entertainment venues including a 10,000-seat Arena. Mohegan Sun is within easy access of New York, Boston, Hartford and Providence and located 15 minutes from the museums, antique shops and waterfront of Mystic Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Mohegan Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mohegan Sun Uncasville
Mohegan Sun Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing