We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel!”
Review of Mohegan Sun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mohegan Sun
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Uncasville
Certificate of Excellence
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel!”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed for one night. The room, bathroom, lobby, etc. were pristine. Would definitely stay again!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PVDColleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,434
    702
    208
    102
    95
See reviews for
472
1,114
140
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (649)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

My husband and I have never been there and decided to drive to Conn. last week to
finally get to see the place and have a nice lunch. We've heard so much about it.

We're not gamblers but do enjoy the penny and nickle slots. My husband won big $$, I walked away empty handed but chalked my $20 loss to 'entertainment'. It was fun!

However, the place is hugh. To hugh. Very easy to get lost.

We tried to find a nice restaurant to dine in only to find out the one we really wanted
to eat at (Bobby Flay's) didn't open until dinner. We were hoping to be on the road back home by that time.

Ended up at Bubba's and had a delicious meal. I ordered the sliders (one pulled brisket and one pulled pork) and both were delicious. One was enough for me. My husband ordered the pulled pork/brisket sandwish and thoroughly enjoyed it. We made a good choice in restaurant and food.

My husband also ordered the sweet potato fries, although tasty, they were rather limp (I know it's difficult to get crispy sweet potato fries, but it is possible).

All in all, I don't think we'll be returning to Mohegan Sun but IF we ever do I'm going back for those sliders. OR, maybe get to try Bobby Flay's restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dojemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mequon, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I travel to Harrah's (now Caesar's) properties a lot, and this was my first venture to a totally different property in a long time. I loved it! The hotel is absolutely beautiful; room was very clean and really big. I was so excited to find in-room coffee since I go to bed early and get down to the casino between five and six in the morning - coffee in hand. HVAC worked perfectly.

I love to order room service when I travel, and the Mohegan Sun met my expectations with a delicious scallop and quinoa dinner. Service everywhere was excellent.

They even have security people by the elevators 24/7! As a woman traveling alone, I appreciate every bit of security and feeling safe.

The casinos are really special. I would start on one end and play through all three - Earth, Wind and Sky Casinos. Found every game I ever wanted to play! Must admit I lost money, but that's just me and the machines! The decor is incredible in each casino.

They must have 25 to 30 restaurants. I didn't count. I only had a chance to sample a couple, and they were good. There's everything from fast-and-inexpensive to reservations-only and high dollar.

I had transportation problems both getting there and trying to get home, but Mohegan Sun was right there to do what they could to help.

All in all, I love this place but need to find a better way to get there (other than US Airways flying into Providence).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GamblinGrandmaNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I have stayed here numerous times and I have never been disappointed. Cleanliness, service, quality are all the best. For a hotel that isn't new, it appears to be. The front desk, hoursekeeping, room service and all other staff perform at top notch. Highly recommenfded.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoriNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

I was looking in June for a room on Mohegan Sun reservation site. I was in their package specials and it booked a room when I was checking rates and I could not or it would not let me cancel.I sent an Email telling reservations that this happened. July comes and I'm gambling and I find I am hit with a $50.00 points cancellation for the room reservation. I tried customer relations and bookings, and still no luck on redeeming points.So..I will not stay their and I feel there are plenty of hotels: Best Western,Hyatt, and even Foxwoods that will work.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank misstriciamsaviet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

I stayed at the Mohegan Sun for a week long conference. The property is a bit isolated (outside of walking distance) from the rest of civilization but they have everything you will need on site so this is not a problem. The resort complex is huge with lots of gaming, shopping, and dining options.

As for the hotel, it was what you would expect from a 4-5 star hotel. The room was clean and well appointed. The bed was as comfortable as the one's I'm used to at Hilton. And to top it off there are complimentary water bottles provided. Nice touch. The one negative was that the view is of the casino roof from just about every room. But looking up a bit reveals the CT countryside.

Housekeeping was quick and efficient. Supplies were kept full and the bath products were of above average quality.

As a previous reviewer noted, I too saw the air cleaning devices in the hall but never smelled a hint of smoke. I think they are just to give the air a pleasant scent but at first glance they look like rat traps. Yikes! Never saw a rat and closer inspection showed them to have something to do with the air but the hotel would be well advised to remove them or put up signs explaining the purpose.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dralexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We traveled to Mohegan Sun for a two night stay. Upon arrival, we were very welcomed by the attention to detail given by the hotel's lobby staff. Complementary valet parking was a snap, check in was smooth, and we were to our room before we knew it. Our room was well appointed; clean linens, new television, spacious bathroom, and no visible problems. We kicked on the air conditioning and went down to the casino for dinner and the evening. Upon arriving back at our room, we encountered our BIG problem. The room had no cooled well at all since we left. I readjusted the thermostat, we hung out in the room for a while, the room cooled down and we went to bed. In the middle of the night, we woke up drenched it sweat as the air conditioning had stopped working. When we reported this problem to management, we were informed that the thermostat was on a motion detector; if someone isn't moving in the room it eventually kicks off. This means that it will go off every night while you sleep! This system does not work and should be replaced. The small problem was the fact that the beds were extremely soft.

The facilities at this resort were fantastic. The casino is nice, the restaurants are amazing, entertainment was quality, the pool area was fantastic. They even have an outdoor fire pit by the pool in the evening. All that said, I would think twice about staying here again as a result of the air conditioning. They have no way of actually controlling the climate in their rooms. I consider this behavior penny wise and pound foolish.

Room Tip: Stay on the lower floors. Cold air sinks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank govs99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uncasville
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
#2 of 4 in Uncasville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
#1 of 4 in Mashantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
1.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Uncasville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Uncasville
6.7 mi away
Grand Pequot Tower
Grand Pequot Tower
#2 of 4 in Mashantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mystic Groton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mohegan Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mohegan Sun

Property: Mohegan Sun
Address: 1 Mohegan Sun Boulevard, Uncasville, CT 06382-1372
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Uncasville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Uncasville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mohegan Sun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mohegan Sun, owned by the Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority, is one of the largest, most spectacular entertainment, gaming, dining and shopping destinations in the United States. Situated on 185 acres along the Thames River in scenic southeastern Connecticut, Mohegan Sun is home to three unique casinos, a 34-story, 1,200 room luxury hotel, a world-class spa and golf course, over 75 shops, restaurants and bars as well as three award-winning entertainment venues including a 10,000-seat Arena. Mohegan Sun is within easy access of New York, Boston, Hartford and Providence and located 15 minutes from the museums, antique shops and waterfront of Mystic Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Mohegan Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mohegan Sun Uncasville
Mohegan Sun Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing