We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bravo Ballo” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ballo Italian Restaurant

Ballo Italian Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Ballo Italian Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 50 Restaurants in Uncasville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Rt 2
Description: Inspired by San Galgano in the hills of Tuscany, BALLO Italian Restaurant brings to life all the majesty of an Italian cathedral coupled with exceptional service and a fresh, authentic menu of Italian favorites. To start, guests will enjoy an extensive by-the-glass wine list and specialty BALLO cocktails while sitting in a stunning environment replete with arches, stone, sensual accents and multiple private spaces. The food at BALLO adds yet another level of celebration. Owner John Tunney is committed to fresh, locally grown produce and innovative Italian staples you can eat from Noon to Midnight, "I've always loved the idea of a pantry. A place where you are watching the freshest ingredients being prepared with the least amount of touch by the best pair of hands - and delivered in an open area as if you're in someone's kitchen."
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bravo Ballo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Amazing decor, awesome service, classic Italian done right. Social club, uptempo atmosphere. Bring your wallet. Loved the chicken parm and desserts! No need to verbose. Ballo is the real deal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank biglny77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    105
    43
    20
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Putnam, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointment after Disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

I was Mohegun Sun with girls from work for a concert and and dinner. The evening started
out great with the concert...but came to a miserable ending with dinner at Ballo. We hould have know there was going to be problems when we were met by a rude and pompous man acting as the host. We requested a table for 5 and should have been seated immediately considering the restaurant was almost entirely empty. 10 minutes later we were seated at out table beside some tacky plastic hedges and against a some big plastic column. We were served hard stale bread
and were greeted by a waiter who was nothing less obnoxious. My meal and a friends arrived looking like it had reheated and tasting like last nights leftovers. Our complaints to the waiter fell on deaf ears. He then disappeared for rest of night only to fly by our table and drop off our check without saying a word.
There's a reason why this place was empty on a Friday night.. if I had followed my intuition and left after meeting the host, I would have saved our party $90 spent on a meal equivalent to Papa Gino's.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank crystal l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
357 reviews
262 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Decent food for a large Casino restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We went pre-show for dinner; this was the only fine dining restaurant i could get a reservation for 2 weeks before the show. The menu is decent; pizza, pasta, meat and fish. It was a heatwave week and we opted for light fare. The shrimp appetizer with watermelon was a bust. The shrimp were limp and the watermelon not sweet. Barely drizzled with balsamic. The crispy artichokes were delicious; fried in a light batter. The pizza fra diavolo had a nice kick and the green salad ok. I did see entrees go by that looked good, the meats and fish all looked great but it was too hot to eat a big meal. The bill was not bad, we didn't have alcohol and dessert so it was around $75 with tip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Msmouse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYork
1 review
“Terrible experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We booked Ballo for a special birthday dinner thinking since its new it would be good.
The waiter was cocky and made mistake after mistake. Wrong main course was delivered and clumsy recommendations made. The manager came to apologise but he seemed as incompetent as the waiter (cheerfully un engaged ) It's a pretentious folly stay away unless your drunk and disinterested.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Holly V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, CT
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ballo's better than your avg. casino dining experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Welcoming, professional staff; menu variety excellent; quality and presentation of food very good.
Make reservations for great pre-concert experience!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ballo Italian Restaurant also viewed

 
Uncasville, Mystic Country
Uncasville, Mystic Country
 

Been to Ballo Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing