We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice ambiance”

Ballo Italian Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Ballo Italian Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 51 Restaurants in Uncasville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Rt 2
Description: Inspired by San Galgano in the hills of Tuscany, BALLO Italian Restaurant brings to life all the majesty of an Italian cathedral coupled with exceptional service and a fresh, authentic menu of Italian favorites. To start, guests will enjoy an extensive by-the-glass wine list and specialty BALLO cocktails while sitting in a stunning environment replete with arches, stone, sensual accents and multiple private spaces. The food at BALLO adds yet another level of celebration. Owner John Tunney is committed to fresh, locally grown produce and innovative Italian staples you can eat from Noon to Midnight, "I've always loved the idea of a pantry. A place where you are watching the freshest ingredients being prepared with the least amount of touch by the best pair of hands - and delivered in an open area as if you're in someone's kitchen."
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I took my spouse to this restaurant for his birthday. The food and service were excellent, very nice lighting and atmosphere. Waitress was very nice. It was perfect for the celebration. Small portions but since we are watching our weight we were okay.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jest21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    117
    46
    22
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Terryville, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great evening hot spot”
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Ballo is overall a great night hot spot. The atmosphere is perfect. Once you walk in you just feel transformed to a vacation spot. A great setup, has an outdoor Italy feel. Top notch service, Tasty food, cool Bar scene. My favorite Mohegan Sun spot. Start off with a good cocktail, Next a great dinner, then a fab dessert. But the best part is after that... Music starts and dancers appear then its one of the areas hottest night clubs and No Cover Charge!!!! Awesome evening

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, CT
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Solid but not fabulous”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Overall it was nice but I have had better. The drinks were delicious and the waitstaff was fun loving

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank CTTravellover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thompson ct
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“POOR QUALITY FOOD AND SERVICE”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stopped in for dinner with a group of friends who spent the night at the casino.
The place was entirely empty and the the man who said he was the manager kept
us waiting for a good 10 minutes before he could seat us...perhaps the abundance of
seats was too overwhelming for him to comprehend.

anyway, we were seated beside this huge column (made of fiberglass)...beside a row bushes
(made of plastic)and were finally greeted by our waiter..an older balding man who put the
"ob" in the word obnoxious. I thought the manager had an attitude. It's no wonder this place was completely empty on a saturday nite. obviousely everyone else who ate here wasn't impressed either.

anyway..we all order our meals..we waited a good 15 mins before someone who couldn't utter a word of english poured us luke warm water...no ice. I tried to ask him if we could have bread or something while we waited..he didn't understand a word i said...5 mins later he brought over the manager from hell. who said they were busy..and they were bringing us bread and oil right away...Busy?...we were the only diners in the whole messed up restaurant!!!...what could you
possibly be busy doin except teaching the wait staff the english language.

so..we we're finally presented our meals. my friend commented on his eggplant parm which looked liked it had been heated, cooled, reheated, cooled again and reheated in a microwave.
It had the appearance and consistency of rubber with marinara sauce. My shrimp scampi was
a dismal mess. the pasta also was rubbery and appeared not to be fresh.
we mentioned this the waiter and as fast as we could say "this place stinks"..the Manager came to our table. and started to instruct us on how he believes italian food is to be prepared.
Instead of trying to make the meal right..he was instructing and chastising 6 grown men..the
size of this guys meatballs was beyond comprehension.

we literally got up...put our napkins down on our table and proceeded to walk out the door..never to return again. Ballo...your clearly not a restaurant...a social club?...well you need customers to have one of those..kindly dismantle this sad stage set excuse for a restaurant and go back to the drawing board..this one is a complete failure...save your hard earned dollars for something more rewarding..like losing money in a slot machine

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank micah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayport, New York
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fancy italian”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The place is nice and fancy looking but we were not impressed with the food. Although our waiter was nice and attentive, it took a little longer for our orders to come. Considering they weren't busy when we were there, I didn't understand the waiting time. We were told that after 10pm, this place turns into a party place. Overall, a decent place but no standouts.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Housemouse901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ballo Italian Restaurant also viewed

 
Uncasville, Mystic Country
Uncasville, Mystic Country
 

Been to Ballo Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing