We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good food, great atmosphere and service!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ballo Italian Restaurant

Ballo Italian Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Ballo Italian Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 50 Restaurants in Uncasville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Rt 2
Description: Inspired by San Galgano in the hills of Tuscany, BALLO Italian Restaurant brings to life all the majesty of an Italian cathedral coupled with exceptional service and a fresh, authentic menu of Italian favorites. To start, guests will enjoy an extensive by-the-glass wine list and specialty BALLO cocktails while sitting in a stunning environment replete with arches, stone, sensual accents and multiple private spaces. The food at BALLO adds yet another level of celebration. Owner John Tunney is committed to fresh, locally grown produce and innovative Italian staples you can eat from Noon to Midnight, "I've always loved the idea of a pantry. A place where you are watching the freshest ingredients being prepared with the least amount of touch by the best pair of hands - and delivered in an open area as if you're in someone's kitchen."
Sterling, Connecticut
Level Contributor
124 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very good food, great atmosphere and service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

I've been to a few times for both lunch and dinner. My most recent visit was this past weekend for dinner. The best thing about this restaurant is the atmosphere. It is large and open and a nice spot to sneak away from the crowds in the casino. It's close to the Wolf Den, so it's a good spot to eat at while listening to a concert. The servings are large and the food is very good - not amazing, but very good and one of the better restaurants inside Mohegan. The prices are good considering it's inside the casino. Jenny was our server this weekend and she was excellent!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tanyamary627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    105
    43
    20
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
174 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Great pasta”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Dined for the first time over the weekend. The pasta is homemade. I had the the ravioli with pomodoro sauce. You could tell it was homemade. It was the best ravioli I've had, the sauce was also light and delicate, a perfect match.

Service was fine, didn't have any complaints. It is a bit pricey so not for everyone but if you do go get the homemade pasta. Oh, and there are three sections. The front facing the casino which I thought was the entire restaurant but it's not. The bar/lounge area is behind it and there is another dining room behind the bar so the restaurant is pretty big.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jpan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Enjoyable experience at ballo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Had an enjoyable dinner sitting at the bar at Ballo on 18 August. We had reservations with Tuscany but left there when they wanted to shuffle us around to the dining room to make room for a larger group of diners, and while we weren't able to get into a table at ballo we were able to eat at the bar. Having been to ballo twice before, once at a table and once at the bar, we knew what to expect and weren't disappointed. Every visit has been enjoyable, the service great, and the food very well prepared. I had a salad and the ravioli with pomodoro, they were excellent.
Highly recommended.

Helpful?
2 Thank cookmefud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
115 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good food - service needs help...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

The food is pretty good here. Not the pizza but the pasta and shrimp (and the like) is good. Be prepared for a slow, slow, sllloooowwww meal. Service is near disastrous. Don't know what it is but it's poor. You can tell that there's no organization and the floor manager is non-existent. Did I say not to order the pizza? I've been here several times. Great location, no privacy as it's similar to an outdoor cafe. A bit pricey for some but I thought it the shrimp and pasta was worth it. Give it a try if you don't favor another food venue more in the Sun.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Warwick, RI
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just ok”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

While the gnocchi dish was superb, it was a very small quantity. The ceasar salad was poor at best. The bread and butter was garlic infused and quite good. The restaurant itself was freezing cold and the prices were high in relation to the quality and quantity provided.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kathyk850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ballo Italian Restaurant also viewed

 
Uncasville, Mystic Country
Uncasville, Mystic Country
 

Been to Ballo Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing