We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably, the worst pizza I ever ate.”

Frank Pepe Pizzeria Napoletana
Ranked #10 of 51 Restaurants in Uncasville
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Chicopee,Ma.
Level Contributor
321 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Probably, the worst pizza I ever ate.”
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed over night at Mohegan Sun for their 15th Anniversary celebration. On Sunday evening about 10:30pm we thought we would get a small pizza, we have never tried their pizza before so we thought we would give it a whirl. When we arrived at the restaurant we picked up a menu at the entry way and started reading and we were approached by an employee who said we would have to order something off the menu and it would have to be take out only and to wait in line behind the people at the counter. We had to make a quick decision. We ordered the red sauce pizza with grated cheese which was the first item on the list for $6.50 if we wanted mozzarella cheese it would be $8.50 hmmmm. We were told to come back in 20 minutes, so we sat down in one of the booths, and there was an employee cleaning all the tables all around us and we felt we had to stand up because he was removing the seats at each booth an wiping them down. The pizza was ready in 20minutes and they called our name, we brought it to our room immediately. The pizza was a thin crust pizza which I have eaten before at other establishments but this one was burnt on the bottom, the top edges, and tasted like cardboard! We hated it and will never go back. You might want to try Lucky's if you want a good pizza at Mohegan. This pizza made me miss my favorite place to get thin crust pizza, Roberto's in Northampton, Ma.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paulabc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    91
    54
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Groton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
Reviewed October 23, 2011

I always was a person that enjoyed a good pizza and Frank Pepe’s Pizzeria would defently fall into the very good pizza category. I’ve eaten at both Pepe’s and Sally’s on Wooster Street in New Haven several times. Frank Pepe Pizzeria Napoletana in Mohegan Sun Casino makes a very good pizza. I know good quality when I taste it and I can tell you that the Sauce and Dough are always fresh, along with fresh topping; cheese, clams, sausage, or bacon. Yet, some may say the pizza is over- priced, but you get what you pay for at Franks. Fresh ingredients and top quality isn’t cheap and you will find it in each slice. Simply being forward, this is the best pizza in the Uncasville area.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael8806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent, consistent food”
Reviewed September 30, 2011

The service was great and so was the pizza. The pizza arrived relatively quickly in under 20 minutes. The pizza and toppings were fresh and well presented. The crust was thin and crispy. The server was friendly and provided everything we needed. Note that, when they cut the pizza here, even though it is round, they do not cut it into the traditional 8 slices unless you specifically ask. They cut it into varying size strips, which I found somewhat bizarre. The pizza is somewhat on the pricey side, but that is expected since it is inside of Mohegan Sun.

I've been here multiple times and the food and service has always been excellent.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
Reviewed September 10, 2011

This place has the best pizza. If you like a thin crust pizza this is where you want to go. This is not a fancy place, right off the casino floor. The sauce is your typical homemade Italian pizza sauce.
The large pizza is your normal xlarge that you would order anywhere else. I only wish that we had one in our state. We also went down again in July and just had to eat here. AWESOME!!

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
188 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 348 helpful votes
“Legendary.”
Reviewed August 15, 2011

You have to ask yourself if an iconic eatery that has served presidents and prime ministers, can open a new restaurant in a casino and maintain the same quality. You half expect to see the New Haven landmark's name attached to a poorly created imitation of the original.
This simply isn't so. From the gigantic brick ovens emerge tomato pie masterpieces. Thin, crispy-crusted works of art covered in a classic sauce and topped with whatever makes your heart (and tastebuds) sing!
Sometimes you have to wait for a seat, but the crew has it down to a science and they get you in quickly. Service is friendly and just as prompt. From booth number one, you can see into the cooking area and watch as the master pizza-makers use the long pipes to check and work the pies. You can see them stoke the fire to get the right temperature and be amazed as pie after pie is slid from the oven.
Pepe's at Mohegan Sun is the real deal for those who crave authentic, thin crust New Haven style pizza. And, there is certainly much better parking.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dogwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frank Pepe Pizzeria Napoletana also viewed

Uncasville, Mystic Country
Uncasville, Mystic Country
 

Been to Frank Pepe Pizzeria Napoletana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing