We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food quality not consistent and staff coudl improve”
Review of "O" Bar and Grill - CLOSED

"O" Bar and Grill
Cuisines: Grill
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
trumbull
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“food quality not consistent and staff coudl improve”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Food is ok on some days, bad on others, above average on another. Every visit is a different scenario. One of the only places in town to get food, but I prefer to travel to fairfield or milford.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank shellizzle d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    16
    15
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darien, Connecticut
Level Contributor
78 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good food, wine list needs updating”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were out with friends last night at "O" Bar and Grill.

Menu is nice, good variety for any appetite. Small plates/tapas were interesting, although not spanish. we tried mushroom risotto (creamy and flavorful), spring rols and buffalo chicken bites, all good and small enough to not spoil your appetite!

Main courses were also good, burgers, steak and fish tacos were had by our party and everyone enjoyed their food.

The only real complaint was the wine list is way out of date, and server was not familiar or skilled. List had 2005 and 2007 California Cabs, among other choices, and the server brought out several 2010's. If we hadn't pointed it out, we would have been served these young wines but would have been charged for better wines. I chalked it up in part to server inexperience, he did try, but did not understand the wines, and to management not being on top of their product. Ended up with a 2006 Cline Syrah that was good, but the entire process was very dragged out and took away from the overall experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TERACINGUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“good food, not the service”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

had dinner here with friends for the first time last night. nice wine, food was good but not anything to rave about. service very poor. we got our meals and the waiter disappeared after that. no visit to see how everything was, no asking if we wanted coffee or desert. finally flagged him down for our check. might try again but there are a lot of restaurants in trumbull to choose from.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank upsnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
117 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Kitchen needs some cooking "tips"”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My husband and I had dinner here on a recent Friday night. We started with the lobster bisque which tasted fine although it did not seem to be "homemade". I ordered the filet of sole almondine that was on the "specials" menu. The sole was fried rather than sauteed and it tasted very heavily of old oil. The portion size was large but after eating half of it I had a stomach ache due to the oily taste. Rice served with the sole was fine but overall the meal was quite disappointing.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Timetorun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Birthday event”
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Girlfriend and I share the same birthday and invited work colleagues to join us for dinner/drinks here. We had an outside table on a Thursday night - patio was busy. Our waiter seemed new and was not attentive at all. Most drinks ordered we're not mixed well. There is no smoking on Patio nor restaurant YET patio guests had to deal with smokers who stood on other side of patio wall which is still on dining patio. When staff was approached about it. they stated technically the smokers are standing on public grounds. Most guests left due to this inconvenience

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pocahontas45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed "O" Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing