We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent grinders” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carbone's Market

Carbone's Market
Ranked #4 of 123 Restaurants in Torrington
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Torrington, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent grinders”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

The grinders are amazing. They almost put to much meat in the grinders. Fresh ingredients, excellent rolls. Family owned business. Prices are very fair for the amount of food that you get

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    5
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amenia, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One sandwich/2 meals!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Stopped here to get a couple grinders to take home for dinner and couldn't believe how heavy they were carrying the bag to the car! When we opened them all we could say is WOW! Look at all that meat! Each sandwich weighed almost 2 pounds and it was mostly meat. Needless to say, we could only each 1/2 of them and saved the other half for the next night. They were delish!, this is a deli with take- out only.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“BEST roast beef wrap-ever!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Ask a local how to find this hidden gem, as it is not on a main road and is not even close to other retail activity.
The sandwiches make the trip worthwhile, as they PILE it on for everything they make. I love the roast beef because it is home cooked and RARE, the way I like it. There chicken salad and roast pork are also great! They have great bread, but I like it on the whole wheat wrap, with anything you want on it. I like to eat, but even I have trouble finishing a whole sandwich. The price is very reasonable. (I hesitate to say that because I don't want them raising their prices!) They have some hot food entrees, but you have to be there before 6:00pm because they remove them from the case after then. If this place ever franchised, they would put Subway out of business.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dastern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwinton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
93 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Too big to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

The grinders and sandwiches here are just too big to eat at one sitting. I will take a pepperoni 8 inch grinder home take half the pepperoni out to top a few homemade pizzas, Then eat half the grinder for a meal, there is still too much meat in it. The other half will be lunch then next day. There is more meat in each sandwich or grinder than you could get if you were buying it by itself in a deli.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bilmatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“WANT A REAL SANDWICH?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Get a real sandwich here!! I don't know how Subway stays in business there? If you want a real sandwich not a salad sandwich go to Carbone's Market, but bring your appetite!! After you try to eat there 8" grinders and can't finish it try their hard rolls instead. LOL!! This is a hole in a wall place and you can miss it, but don't because you will enjoy the meat sandwich!! Meatlovers paradise!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrGoodwrench3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carbone's Market also viewed

 

Been to Carbone's Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing