We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Tolland Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tolland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Tolland Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Tolland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Authentic B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Our selection of the Tolland Inn as a place to stay was purposeful. It stemmed mostly from a level of nostalgic curiosity.

I spent my youth in a neighboring community. Through the years, I had passed the Inn on my way to and from other places. Each time, I was struck by the setting on the green and the stateliness of the property.

I am pleased to say, our stay at the Tolland Inn was all that we could have hoped it to be, beginning with the hospitality of Inn Keepers Susan & Stephen to the accommodations. In a word, our recent stay at Tolland Inn was ‘wonderful.’ We shall return.

Room Tip: Room #2 appeals to us most because it is located on the first floor, has a separate exterior entranc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaeta-centric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
62
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middleborough, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

We truly enjoyed our stay during this Thanksgiving weekend.The charming inn is beautifully decorated with antiques and collectibles, yet is has a "homey" atmosphere. Breakfast was delicious.
We enjoyed sitting around the dining table, conversing with the other guests. We loved our stay in the "Treehouse Suite", with it's comfortable king size bed, gas fireplace, and relaxing hot tub.
Thank you, Susan and Steve!

Karen and Dennis C

Room Tip: The "Treehouse Suite" is highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, CA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

This was our second visit to this beautiful B&B, as we have relatives in the area. We enjoyed our stay this time just as much as we did the first time. The inn is exquisite. It was built in the late 1700s and has been lovingly restored to its current immaculate, charming condition by its owners, Steve and Susan. It is fun to see how they have incorporated modern amenities while maintaining the historic building’s original charm. Steve designs and builds furniture. His beautiful pieces are throughout the house and help give this special place some of its character. The rooms are lovely and well appointed. The beds are very comfortable. Breakfast each morning is delicious, and it is lots of fun meeting other guests at the large dining table (also built by Steve). We will definitely stay here again when we return to the area and would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

My stay at the Tolland Inn was absolutely fantastic. The Inn is a wonderful historic B&B surrounded by the beauty and charm of Connecticut. It's conveniently located near the UCONN campus and only a short drive away from major highways. The owners, Susan and Steve, are friendly and personable, and make all of their guests feel welcome. And the breakfasts are delicious.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brielle, New Jersey
Level Contributor
146 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We decided to break up our trip to Maine by stopping in Connecticut for a night. By chance, we came across excellent reviews for The Tolland Inn, a bed and breakfast in Tolland, Connecticut. What a great find! The Inn is everything a good B&B should be-beautiful, with homey common areas, filled with antiques and other curiosities, unique, spacious guest rooms each with clean, private bath, a great breakfast each morning, and charming, accommodating staff members. This B&B is all that and more. For a peaceful, pleasant stay, this Inn is highly recommended.

Room Tip: The Treehouse Suite was in the back of the house, and very quiet with a view of the back lawn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mangiabene48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

I booked The Treehouse Suite at the Tolland Inn for my wedding weekend (night before wedding with bridesmaids and wedding night with husband) and could not be happier with the experience. The suite was gorgeous- complete with hot tub, double doors opening out to a view of the grounds, and the most comfortable bed I've ever encountered.

Upon arriving at the Inn our hosts, Steve and Susan went above and beyond to get us everything we needed during our stay-from old towels to make our flower bouquets on, to a wooden tree cake stand I desperately needed to complete my rustic cake display.

Breakfast both mornings was homemade and delicious, and included muffins, eggs, waffles and pancakes with honey butter or maple butter, juice, coffee, and fresh fruit.

The wrap around porch was divine day and night, and the grounds peaceful and immaculate.
Both Susan and Steve are very talented and you can see aspects of their creativity and dedication to the Inn throughout the house.

My husband and I plan on visiting on our anniversary, we loved the experience so much!
I can't say enough good things about The Tolland Inn!

Room Tip: The Treehouse suite it gorgeous, but we had friends stay in some of the smaller rooms and got a chan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaAnn108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Vermont
Level Contributor
207 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Wonderful place, with a lot of attention to detail. We stayed in Room #7, with the jacuzzi and a large, very comfortable sleigh bed. Breakfast is very good, and because it was a nice day, we sat outside by a small pond for a bit, reading the Sunday paper.

The town of Tolland itself has relatively little to offer (sleepy CT town) but as noted by other reviewers, this is quite near 84 and UConn in Storrs.

Highly recommended; we'd be happy to return.

Room Tip: As mentioned, we were in the jacuzzi room on the 2d floor--- great place; spacious, airy, good light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ordinarymind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tolland
7.9 mi away
Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center
8.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Manchester - Hartford CT
11.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford-Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Residence Inn Hartford Manchester
6.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hartford - Vernon
9.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tolland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tolland Inn

Property: The Tolland Inn
Address: 63 Tolland Green, Tolland, CT 06084-3029
Location: United States > Connecticut > Tolland
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tolland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish Connecticut Inn on the Tolland Town Green. Hot tubs, fireplaces, relaxation in an 1800s bed and breakfast seven miles from the University of Connecticut campus. Perfect for travelers, rendezvous, romantic getaways, wedding nights,Connecticut honeymoons, business travel, and of course UConn lodging. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing