We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly enjoyed our stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Tolland Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tolland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Tolland Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Tolland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brookfield, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly enjoyed our stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

My boyfriend and I were looking for a romantic overnight escape... we found the Tolland Inn on-line and booked a night in the Tree House Suite... we loved it! The room was bright, clean, and beautifully decorated. The king-size bed was very comfortable (and hand-crafted by Steve, the owner). The hot tub was a special treat, as well as the very delicious home-made breakfast the next morning. We will definitely go back to the Tolland Inn again! Tracy & Chris

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
62
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Levittown
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

We were coming up for a Uconn men's basketball game on 1/18/12 and decided to stay at the Tolland Inn after making a reservation from their web site. The pictures give you a pretty good idea what to expect but to actually spend a Winter's evening, with a cozy fireplace and to relax in the hot tub was magical. Steve was friendly and helpful, this is a first class place all the way including the delicious breakfast. Our daughter graduated from Uconn in 2004, all of the times I would get off I-84 and head towards Storrs, little did we know by turning the opposite way just a short distance is the Tolland Inn. We may have missed out on some great stays during those times but are thankful we have discovered this historical, very well maintained Inn. We stayed in the Nantucket Suite, can't wait to go back again !

Jim and Debbie M.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Tolland Inn this past weekend and I'm already planning our next visit. We stayed in the exquisite Tree House Suite. Steve's own handmade furniture is just gorgeous and his attention to detail makes everything feel luxurious. The hot tub, the fireplace...everything was just wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

My husband i stayed at The Tolland Inn recently and loved it. The innkeepers are lovely people who take great pride in their property, and it shows. The room we stayed in was modest but cozy and comfortable. The artwork on the walls was striking, some or all which were painted by the innkeeper himself. And the breakfast was one of the best breakfasts i've had at any inn - apple pancakes with maple butter, a vegetable tart, fruit cup, and delicious coffee cake. The breakfast is worth the trip. If you enjoy the cozy comforts of a small inn in a picturesque area, you'll love The Tolland Inn.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stefanie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

we found ourselves caught in a snowstorm and were fortunate enough to stumble upon the tolland inn. Susan made us an unexpected and delicious dinner and the wine was served fireside. the room had a fireplace, a sitting area, and a heated hot tub. what's a find! it turned our weekend into a special
memory....

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mslinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

Stayed for a night in the room facing the street. There was considerable traffic noise in the morning, which is likely to disturb light sleepers. The rooms in the back of the inn are priced higher and may reflect the cost of quiet. The inn and room were quite charming, and the innkeepers friendly in a New England sort of way. But the biggest disappointment was the bathroom in our room. The shower head was one of those ultra low flows that hopes to fool you by substituting air and high pressure for water, but the spray felt like needles and was difficult to stay under - and I'm a guy. My wife gave up after 90 seconds. Didn't see the point of putting a 50 cent shower in a $150+ room. Would the proprietors rather have us draw 50 gallons of water for the bath - twice? (Didn't check though to see if the tub worked.) Really left a feeling of being let down.

Room Tip: Room 6 faces a busy street that's noisy in the morning; also has a crummy shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

As B&B owners ourselves, we were very pleased with everything about our recent stay. The innkeepers were very friendly and quite helpful with pointing out places of interest and where to eat. We were given maps that were very helpful on our adventures. Stephen & Susan are very gracious and charming hosts. Stephen's woodworking skills are amazing!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hunterstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tolland
7.9 mi away
Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center
8.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Manchester - Hartford CT
11.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford-Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Residence Inn Hartford Manchester
6.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hartford - Vernon
9.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tolland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tolland Inn

Property: The Tolland Inn
Address: 63 Tolland Green, Tolland, CT 06084-3029
Location: United States > Connecticut > Tolland
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tolland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish Connecticut Inn on the Tolland Town Green. Hot tubs, fireplaces, relaxation in an 1800s bed and breakfast seven miles from the University of Connecticut campus. Perfect for travelers, rendezvous, romantic getaways, wedding nights,Connecticut honeymoons, business travel, and of course UConn lodging. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing