We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great B & B”
Review of Spencer On Main

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Suffield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spencer On Main
Ranked #1 of 3 Suffield B&B and Inns
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great B & B”
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Spencer on Main is a lovingly restored Victorian home filled with antiques but nevertheless very warm and welcoming.

We stayed for 8 Nights in Aunt Clara’s room which was on the ground floor. The room was beautifully decorated, comfortable and the en suite bathroom had a huge tub.

The delicious breakfasts were served in the dining room with orange juice, fresh fruit, croissants, French toast, super coffee and great conversation.

Etienne and Caroline made us feel like family friends and I am sure that every other guest feels the same.

We were invited to help ourselves to beer or wine from the fridge and Belgian chocolates were left on our pillows.

Etienne gave us great information about local restaurants and all the local attractions.

We cannot recommend Spencer on Main highly enough.

Room Tip: Aunt Clara's room has twin beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Camuscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
40
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

I lived in Suffield as a teenager and was returning for a special 50th High School Reunion. I wanted to stay in a special place so it would be more memorable. This was certainly the place. I was excited to go there, after I made my reservation. Etienne made me feel comfortable and welcome. He and his wife were gracious. The home is beautifully decorated. I had a suite with a large bedroom, sitting room, and my own bathroom. I felt like a Queen. It was called the Bird in The Nest. Caroline and Etienne made a special breakfast. Fabulous. I only wished I could have stayed more than two evenings.
I cannot say enough and will return soon.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Bird in the Nest. It had a King sized four poster bed, separate parlor and sitting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We stay regularly at Spencer On Main, as we have a child at school in Suffield, and we now consider it our home from home and would not stay anywhere else, although other hotels are easily available. The house is a glorious and historically important building set in acres of beautiful grounds. The hosts are American and Belgian with French ancestry, and could not be more welcoming. The double rooms are perfect, with sitting rooms attached, so you can be quiet and private if you wish. The house is full of beautiful antiques. The breakfasts are a special treat!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenPorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwinsville, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Easy to find. Very welcoming hosts. Wonderful food and conversation with other guests. Our suite was quite comfortable and the house was quiet and relaxing. Superb accomodations!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lubec79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osprey, Florida
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Accommodation was immaculate and very well decorated. The breakfast was excellent. The Host and Hostess were very attentive. Great experience.

Room Tip: One bedroom down stairs - other rooms upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walt036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington, de
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2011

The rooms are superb! The hosts are perfect, helpful but not intrusive. Breakfasts are a real treat. Plan to be back in October.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foltzjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Ranch, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2011

What a lovely, quiet and hospitable place to stay! Everything was high quality and the owners are such interesting people that it made the stay seem more like vacation than a business overnight. Only wished I could have stayed longer. Plan to come back again for sure.

Room Tip: Suite rooms a very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJo05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suffield
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Springfield South Enfield
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn East Windsor
Comfort Inn East Windsor
#1 of 4 in East Windsor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Hartford / Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sheraton Hartford Hotel at Bradley Airport
4.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Hartford Bradley Airport
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bradley Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spencer On Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spencer On Main

Property: Spencer On Main
Address: 264 S Main St, Suffield, CT 06078-2243
Location: United States > Connecticut > Suffield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Suffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 1870 Second Empire house with two suites and one bedroom, all with private bathroom. Open in September 04 after one year of renovations. Each guestroom decorated with period antiques but offering modern amenities such as cable TV, DVD/VCR, stereo system, WIFI, and central A/C. Eight acres of land, swimming pool. Full breakfasts blend Belgian and American traditional recipes. Free pickup is provided to and from Bradley Airport and Amtrak station. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing