We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Local Diner”
Review of Blue Sky Diner

Blue Sky Diner
Ranked #11 of 143 Restaurants in Stratford
Price range: $1 - $29
Cuisines: American, Diner, Greek, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Family business open for over 40 years. Newly renovated. Specializing in Seafood, Steaks, and Ribs. Courteous and Friendly staff. Catering for small to large parties available upon request. Your home away from home.
Stratford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
57 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice Local Diner”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We're locals and always drove by this diner. Made it a point to come here for Stratford's first Restaurant Week. The place is well maintained & clean. Read earlier reviews and realized it had recently renovated. The staff was also nice. So for restaurant week, the pre fix menu included soup, salad, entree w/ a starch & veggie, pudding, and a bottle of wine all for $40 after tax. The waitress even offered us bread and it was hot & fresh, crispy on outside and soft on inside - Wow! My husband's dish, chicken Marsala, unfortunately on the salty side but my stuffed filet of sole was well done (didn't overcook the fish and stuffing was good) . My husband actually loved the rice pudding the most while I also enjoyed my tapioca pudding. I plan to come here again and try their breakfast next.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YanKnowsGoodFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    18
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Albans, Vermont
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fresh look same great food!”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Sometimes when a place is renovated it changes for the bad. In the case of Blue Sky nothing has changed. They still have great food served at an efficient pace. My husbands family has been coming here for generations and you can tell that is the case with lots of other patrons too. We love it here. I especially love that I can get eggs & pancakes together in one special which is hard to find where I come from!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MoxieBramble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Solid Food Stop”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

After a recent renovation they have a very functional and clean cut appearance. The food in some cases is more complex than before but still very much comfort food. From the soup to some of the new sandwich offerings the taste is homemade fresh. But, definitely qualify comfort food. The Wednesday pea soup may be the best around. This is a laid back "locals" location that could have invented the slogan from "Cheers", "Everybody here knows your name". But if they don't know your name you still get good food at very good prices with competent service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“small hometown diner”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Blue sky has had its share of problems, but rumor has it that its
"cleaned up" its act. When i was there, it needed a complete overhaul. With that said, the food was good. typical diner food, and if you are a regular, the staff gets to know you and what you like. If your passing through, there are other hometown places that are much better.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tricia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A terrific stop off 95.”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I loved the Blue Sky before the renovation and love it more now. The food is terrific, the waitstaff friendly and it's totally comfortable. This is a must stop for me either going to or coming from N.Y. because I know it has exactly what I want on a menu. I highly recommend it for anyone who loves the "diner experience" along with a fantastic breakfast, lunch or dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jaygee43Cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Sky Diner also viewed

 

Been to Blue Sky Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing