We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not the best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stratford Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Stratford
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“not the best”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I just stayed here over the weekend. So here is a quick recap. Don't expect flat screen tv's and a modern feel. If that is what you are used to pick a different hotel. This is a hotel that needs alot of updating from rooms to decor to grounds, parking lot. The staff at the front desk are very nice and professional. Some friends i were with didn't like their room and they had no problem getting a different one. Cleanliness of the rooms and bathrooms was fair. I've seen better. The beds were great.. we both had a great nights sleep. The bar at the entrance of the hotel was nice. Everyone was friendly the drinks were good. The food was fair. I had the cheesesteak. Overall i had a good time but i wouldn't stay here again

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Damon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    14
    10
    11
    49
See reviews for
22
21
10
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hackettstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

I would give it a 2 1/2. It is a dated property, in need of renovations. But the front desk, even at 11 pm spoke English. The sheets were clean, the bed comfortable. Housekeeping could clean the vertical surfaces a bit more often. Shower a little weak but ok. Excellent big rig parking. Did not experience the bar or restaurant. Considering the area, I would stay again if necessary. It beats the Mayflower up the road a little. The breakfast, btw is lame. Waffles or cereal. Apparently the immigrant help have their families come in to eat around 8. Others need a room key to get in.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank 2dixiecup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stratford hotels

Moriches, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Dated, people hitting their kids in the lobby bathroom, moldy, smells of cigarettes, bathroom looked like a crime scene, walls and shower curtain had god knows what on it and there was mold and just dirty.... carpets stained, windows dirty, had to turn the A/C on because the room was so stagnant. Lobby had stains on the tile, from people dropping juice or drinks the night before. Pay the extra 20 and go somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank kerry p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen L, General Manager at Stratford Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
The biggest problem with Trip Advisor is people that are always complaining about things that are not true, look for a lower rate than they already have been offered, do not receive it and then complain.

If all the things you say are true, we would not pass state inspection, which we always do. We do not have mold, our carpets are only three years old, the tile in our lobby shines on a daily basis and the bathrooms in the lobby are used by people such as yourself.
As to our shower curtains, they are changed every time a new guest is assigned a room!

Unfortunately, it was your group in the lobby running around with their children. We asked several times to please keep them by your side, and that was all we could do.

With 60 - 75 people staying here a night, most of our guests enjoy their stay. I am sorry you were not happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Well here we are at this place and what can I say ...Ugh comes to mind also moldy,cold,bad shape,machines don't work,no card keys,plumbing sucks I should say it don't so come on down and kiss your money good by and you health so have fun and stay away

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank papycholow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen L, General Manager at Stratford Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Good afternoon:
I am sorry you did not have a pleasant stay, but actually, in reading all your other reviews you posted at other hotels, I can see you probably just do not like staying at hotels at all.

Your stay I believe was what the hotel industry calls a short stay and being you only used the room for several hours, you felt we should have given you some money back. Being we do not promote short stays, I am sure you can understand that we do not offer special rates for this.

As to the room, we pass an extensive inspection by the state every year and we do not have mold. Our housekeepers take pride in their work and all rooms are inspected before a guest enters that room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed here for 6 WEEKS while on business. Great location. The staff and management are fantastic, from the cleaners to the front desk - everyone was super friendly and really, really helpful. This hotel really did exceed my expectations.

I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Third Floor Rooms were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_Banning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen L, General Manager at Stratford Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. They truly are appreciated by the entire staff.
Everyone here works hard to keep the hotel clean along with our staff being gracious to all its guests. It's nice when a guest shares their comments with us.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Passaic, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Stayed there recently with my college team. I cannot say enough about the professionalism of the staff. They were very respectful and accommodating; even made special arrangements for our need for a late checkout. Pasquale in the restaurant was terrific also...serving up two awesome team meals and some late night snacks. They are very customer friendly. The rooms were spacious and clean and it's in a great location, right off I-95. I would highly recommend this hotel for teams or just the single traveler. I will definitely return if I'm ever in the area again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoachDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen L, Manager at Stratford Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Coach,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review as it is appreciated. Your team also was a pleasure to host and we look forward to having you again next year should you be scheduled to play in CT.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, Connecticut, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I was so impressed with the staff. They were amazing in taking care of my every need. Check in was a cinch, fast & easy. They gave me the wi-fi code without me having to ask. They also gave me a great deal for the night. My wake-up call was right on time & breakfast was free until 9am. The room was clean & cozy. Complete with soap/lotion & coffee. The entire hotel was quiet & pleasing to the eye. As I was leaving to check out, an associate in the hallway made a point to ask me how my stay was & was so polite in saying goodbye. If I ever need to stay for a night or a week, The Stratford Hotel & Conference Center will be my #1 choice. Thank you to the staff for making me feel welcome & right at home.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen L, Manager at Stratford Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Well, thank you! Your review is appreciated more than you know as the staff does work hard to keep everything the way it should be for our guests.
I will share your comments with them and we too look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stratford
1.3 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#2 of 5 in Stratford
209 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bridgeport
Holiday Inn Bridgeport
#1 of 1 in Bridgeport
232 reviews
2.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn Stratford
Rodeway Inn Stratford
#3 of 5 in Stratford
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Circle Hotel Fairfield
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Fairfield Hotel
5.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Stratford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stratford Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stratford Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Stratford Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 225 Lordship Blvd, I-95, Exit 30, Stratford, CT 06615-7119 (Formerly Ramada Inn Stratford)
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stratford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Stratford Hotel & Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Stratford Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stratford Hotel Stratford
Stratford Hotel And Conference Center
Ramada Stratford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing