We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality”
Review of Quality Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Quality Suites
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Stratford
Pleasant Hill, California
1 review
“Hospitality”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

I stayed at Comfort Suites because I had a interview close to the hotel. I never write reviews but I had to write one for this hotel because I was so impressed by the friendliness and hospitality of the staff. The manager of the hotel was very helpful and nice and I enjoyed my stay because of this. He even offered to drive a few of us that were interviewing to the train station in the hotel shuttle. The rooms were standard and nothing to complain about. I recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    69
    37
    12
    11
See reviews for
63
43
23
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

#rd time for my wife and me staying at the Stratford Comfort while visiting Sacred Heart University in Fairfield. The reason we stay here? Price, easy on and off I95, it's clean, rooms are nice size and layout, beds are comfortable, shower head is high (I'm 6'2") plenty of hot water, and most of all... the staff is super friendly and helpful.

Yeah, if you stay on the highway side you're gonna hear cars... ask for a parking lot side room. Breakfast is OK... the "Bold" coffee dispenser is the way to go. Lots of people were going for seconds on the make 'em yourself waffles. Eggs were eggbeater type, sausages were large patties and were actually pretty good. Afterall, it's a free breakfast.

We struck up conversation with one of the ladies at the front desk who hailed from the Bronx and being a fan of Arthur Avenue I mentioned it to her and she directed us to make a left out of the parking lot, go until the road ends (~3/4 mi), turn left, go to the first light (~.25 mi) and Gaetanos of Arthur Ave, Bronx is on the right by the light. Awesome italian delicasies, bread, sandwiches, cheeses, etc. Go there for lunch!

We will be returning to the Stratford Comfort Suites whenever we visit our daughter at SHU.

Room Tip: For a quiter room, ask for a parking side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampden, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We recently stayed here while attending a hockey tournament in Bridgeport. The desk staff was friendly and knowledgeable. TV reception left a lot to be desired as did the computer connection. The room was large, clean and comfortable, with the exception of the limited hot water in the shower. The breakfast on Saturday 3/24 was poor to nonexistent, the attendant was not in attendance.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hobarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Convenient hotel location off the freeway exit; residential area. Reasonable rates for northeastern quadrant. Clean but not spotless. No flatscreen TV. Computer in lobby is slow. Creaky hallway floors & squeaky flooring in some parts of our room as well. Big red stain (approx 10" diameter) in room carpet, like grape juice or wine spill. Time for carpet shampooing. Pleasant & bright lobby decor. Basic breakfast with waffles. I've been to a few Comfort Suites and they feel like higher end hotels, but I have mixed feelings about this one. It's not that bad and it's not that great either... overall, just O.K....

Room Tip: Ask for room far away from squeaky floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minniemae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Dartmouth MA
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We booked this hotel for our stay before and after our visit to NYC. The lobby was really nice and the front desk staff seemed friendly. We were given a room on the third floor in the back of the hotel as requested. The hotel was really quiet, people wise. There weren't many staying there. Our room was a little worn and it wasn't as clean as I hoped it would be. The beds were really comfortable. The tv was the worst. It was something out of the 80's with horrible color. In this day and age with flat screens being so cheap it's unbelievable to have a tv like we did. Not that we were there watching it much. My sister was in a room next door and her tv was the same. When they say this hotel is close to the highway, they really mean it. Good thing we had a room in the back. We didn't hear any traffic noise. What both my husband and I heard was a weird vibration noise all night. We think it was coming for the heating units in the other rooms. Really annoying.
Breakfast was okay. Waffles, bagels, toast, fruit, yogurt. They did have eggs and sausage one morning, ham the next.
All in all it was an okay hotel for the price we paid. Would I stay here again? Probably, if I could get it at the right price. It wasn't terrible, they just need to do some updating.

Room Tip: Ask foir a room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msar1076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhaven, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Our usual hotel for our annual trips to NYC was running about $50 more per night so we decided to give this hotel a try. The rate was great at $81.00 a night plus tax. I have mixed feelings about this hotel. The good: Rooms were pretty spacious and the bed really comfortable even though I hate full size beds. The staff was great for special requests. The hotel was really convenient to the Metro North train. The water pressure in the shower was great. The negatives: Our room was clean but not spotlessly clean. There were stains on the walls in the bathroom and cracked wall paper. The carpets were pretty stained. There is no fan in the bathroom. The heating unit woke me all night cycling on and off. When our unit was off, you could hear other units running. The heat is forced air and it is a stuffy heat. The hotel felt incredibly hot all the time. My husband checked the hall temp and it was set at 75. We requested a room on the back side of the hotel. We could faintly hear the highway. I would never recommend a room on the highway side. It is so close. The TV needs a serious upgrade. The breakfast was okay but nothing great at all, average. Overall, this is a good value for the money and I would stay here again. It wasn't awful by any means. It just needs some updating.

Room Tip: Pick a room away from the highway side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Msia52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Stayed one night at this nice and reasonably priced hotel because I was in Stratford/Bridgeport for an interview. From the very start, the staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating. Probably one of the nicest I have come across recently (and I have been traveling up and down the east coast and midwest). The room I got was exactly what I was expecting - a large, clean, and comfortable room. No problems whatsoever overnight or the following morning. Free meal the next morning with your usual continental breakfast type foods. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others and would stay at again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spezimdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stratford
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Bridgeport
Holiday Inn Bridgeport
#1 of 1 in Bridgeport
236 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn Stratford
Rodeway Inn Stratford
#3 of 5 in Stratford
165 reviews
4.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Stratford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Milford
Red Roof Inn Milford
#6 of 13 in Milford
306 reviews
5.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Fairfield Hotel
5.9 mi away
The Circle Hotel Fairfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites

Property: Quality Suites
Address: 1500 South Ave, Stratford, CT 06615-6622 (Formerly Comfort Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stratford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for business and leisure travelers alike, this new Quality Suites of Stratford features 100 percent non-smoking guest suites, complimentary high speed wireless internet service, expanded Quality Suites Savory Starts Breakfast, business center, conference room, guest laundry, and friendly service. The hotel is easily accessible to I-95 and minutes from down town New Haven, Bridgeport, Milford and the ocean. Local attractions include the Marinas, Sacred Heart University, Yale University, the Stratford Historical Society, golfing and fishing. All Quality Suites are smoke free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Stratford
Comfort Suites Stratford
Stratford Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing