We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Overall Value on the Coast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Stratford
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Stratford
PA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“An Overall Value on the Coast”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I reserved here, off season, with no expectations of 5 stars, but wanted to try out the beach location in New England. It was a great value. The room was clean, TV and fridge worked fine, it was quiet and I had a good night's sleep.
Couldn't beat the value, and it was a change from the normal chain in a crowded location. I could walk the coastal drive at sunrise, which was beautiful, and had a very good breakfast in the restaurant.
My Thanks to the staff...

Room Tip: I had an ocean view, at an angle, without asking. Probably wouldn't hurt to request this when c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tshell223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    70
    32
    16
    13
See reviews for
50
64
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pickering Ont.
Level Contributor
230 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 444 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This was a stop for us on our way to Cape Cod from Va Beach. We had a little trouble finding it in the dark, but eventually figured it out.
It's a older hotel, showing it's age. Very nice gentlemen at the front to check us in. We were on the second floor with a ocean front , that also overlooked the exhaust fans from the Restaurant. Imagine that wouldn't be too nice in the summer time. The room was large and clean with a King size bed. Not sure if sleeping on the floor would have been more comfortable. It had a huge walk in closet, which would be good for guest staying for awhile.
Nice beach area to walk. just to the left of the hotel. Coffee , orange juice , and a muffin were included for breakfast. It is probably a nice place in the summer time, when you can just walk out and sit on the beach.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beachglassgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
186 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

It is always nice to get a free night with points from Choice Hotels.
Some times when we got a free night, the hotel manager "made face" for not counting the $$$...
This hotel welcomed us like we were their relatives. It's seems the hotel belongs to a family that work all together and make the place so nice, so clean and so good to stay.
Don't miss !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GadiB69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

If you like a unpretentious atmosphere, simple and down to earth, then ask for a balcony room with a king bed. Husband and I checked in on a Thursday just as it was getting dark, and we walked along the adjacent beach and sea wall that was right there. The room was lovely towards the far right side with just one more balcony after our room. We were directly across from a sandy beach that had a gentle lapping of waves. The room was average size, with a king bed, clean and good condition room with a microwave, and mini fridge. Two end tables on each side of the king bed, with a regular tube TVs. I would have liked to have seen a flat panel TV for space and energy saving reasons. Room, bedding, carpet, and balcony were very clean and no odors. We had a non-smoking room and did not have any smoke odors present. We were happy with the bathroom, however it is on the small side, and is made for 1 person to stand at the vanity at a time.

Check in and check out procedure: We reserved the room through John who was very helpful and friendly. He was pleasant and knew the Choice Hotel system very well. At check in we had a smiling and professional "Gema" who swiftly checked us in and got us squared away. Upon check out, a very nice man, "Angelo" checked us out. Great job to all the staff that were involved.

Breakfast: There is partial complementary breakfast in the morning and anything off that menu is charged. We utilized that along with breakfast we purchased in the morning. Our breakfast was about $16.00 for 2 the next morning. Wait staff was very attentive and our coffee cups were always filled. She knew when we needed cream and was ready to help us out. I would recommend any breakfast there as your choices seemed endless. Coffee was hot and good, eggs were perfect and to order. If you wanted something "crispy" and asked for it to made a specific way, it was done correctly. I would recommend this location for couples, looking for a simple overnight. Great for us to stop in on our way home.

Room Tip: Try to get a room towards the right side facing the sound. This way you will not be over the roof o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happybeststuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
176 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We made a reservation here at the last minute when we decided to split up our journey from Cape Cod to NYC into two days rather than deal with the long drive and then a long flight home on the same day. I got online and searched for cheap hotel that was right on the water. I was not expecting anything fancy and it certainly was not fancy. But, being from a landlocked place, I'd pay $100 any day to be able to sit and look at the water. The room was fine. It seemed clean enough. The towels were scratchy. The hotel itself is clearly dated and worn out. There was a really weird smell in the hallway by the stairs. If you pay for a water view, ask for one of the rooms that isn't right above the restaurant roof because if you get one of those, you are looking over a black roof and air conditioning units to see the water.

It is nice to have the restaurant and the bar right there. We ate dinner at the bar and then had breakfast in the restaurant. The food is really nothing to right home about. The menu has a lot on it and a lot of the items looked and sounded good, but, in reality, everything we ate seemed like it was store bought or frozen or something. Too bad. My kids loved the little ice cream shop downstairs.

Why am I giving it a 4 when I don't have much fabulous to say about it? Well, if you are, like we were, stopping through for a night, you really just can't beat the location for the price of this place. We were on the tail end of a Cape Cod vacation where we were not staying directly on the beach and it was just wonderful to wrap it up with a really low-key night sitting at the bar or on the balcony watching the ferries go by on the Long Island Sound. Honestly, it was an unexpected little bonus day to end up our vacation and we were very happy to be there. So if I were to say it was just average, it would not be reflective of how we really felt about being there.

Room Tip: If you pay for a water view, ask for one that isn't above the roof of the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnville, Maine
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed there earlier this week and arrived late. After we checked in, we found that there were only 2 sets of towels for 6 people. We had also requested a roll away bed and extra blankets and pillows. When the housekeeper arrived, she delivered two more towels only ONE blanket and told us that they had no more roll away beds available and no more pillows. REALLY??? I guess we maxed out on our towel and blanket quota too. It was an uncomfortable night and not the first time either.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sweetpea4423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stratford hotels

Level Contributor
126 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Nick is one of the most accomodating owners I have ever met. Stayed here again and will continue to for many years to come. It has become a much loved family tradition. Every time we stay we are always amazed at the value, the servie and how wonderf this area is.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachfamilybum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stratford
2.5 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#2 of 5 in Stratford
208 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bridgeport
Holiday Inn Bridgeport
#1 of 1 in Bridgeport
231 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Circle Hotel Fairfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Stratford
5.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Fairfield Hotel
4.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Milford
Red Roof Inn Milford
#5 of 13 in Milford
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Stratford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Stratford

Property: Rodeway Inn Stratford
Address: 10 Washington Pkwy, Stratford, CT 06615-7811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stratford
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Stratford 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn Stratford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Stratford Hotel Stratford
Stratford Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing