We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tempting given the rates, but look elsewhere.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Stratford
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Stratford
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My girlfriend and I travel alot. We like to believe we are very open minded and research our destinations thoroughly before we commit.

That said, in our research we found the Rodeway in Stratford and had no illusions about the quality of room we would get. We knee we were looking at Motor Lodge quality at best, but weighed against the scenery we felt the Rodeway equaled the best value.

We were wrong.

From the moment we arrived we were given excuse after excuse in relation to our room. We booked a week ahead for 6 nights in a top floor oceanfront room to ensure the maximum privacy possible. We were given a room on the first floor with the implied promise of moving the next day.

This never happened. Excuses prevailed every day. Eventually we gave up on that hope.

The owner of the place, Nick, was obviously over his head in running a business, and it is sad because this place has so much potential.

Now- some issues with the place

*The screen to the patio was torn in several places, making the view not so great.

*The restaurant attached is fine for what it is, I guess, But the execution is piss poor. Waitresses mill around, are inattentive and unaffected. No one cares.

*The food is mostly frozen. This close to the ocean, youd think tghe cod would be fresh. Fish stick on a bun. The clam chowder was okay, but, again...pre-made.

*The bar is attached and has drink specials, but you have to be sitting in "the bar area" to take advantage. It seems misguided at best.

This place is in dire need of new management or ownership. We make the best of bad situations but were met at every turn with disappointment.

With the location and view this place has such potential. The owners should be ashamed.

Never again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gaberson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
There are newer reviews for Rodeway Inn Stratford
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 173 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

I can see why this would be a great place if I lived inland and wanted to come to the shore for a vacation...the surrounding town is cute, the restaurant/bar is friendly and full of locals...with good prices (by California standards) the rooms are spacious and the atmosphere is relaxed. If I was hanging out at the beach for a weekend it would be great. The fact that there are only 28 rooms gives it a different feel than a larger chain place. We checked into the hotel and asked for a quiet room. The gal at the desk (she was great) gave us an out of the way room which was quiet and all the info I needed to answer my questions about the following day's travel plans.
The hotel and room are dated...the floor in the hallway dips many places. The room is more than adequately sized...roomier than newer hotels. Microwave and little fridge was in our room (219) and the ac unit drowned out any noise from within or in the parking lot below. It is an older, beach hotel and the wear caused by time and weather is apparent, however, it was clean. I do wish the older hotels would just get rid of the poly bedspreads and get new mattresses...it's the most important thing! At a total of 90.00 (taxes included) for the room I think it is a bit high, especially for the quality...but understand that location plays a part in price. For a traveler passing through, I think I would probably stay at a nicer place further inland for a lower price and come eat by the water.

Room Tip: It's a haul up the stairs to the second floor, but you know that no one will be stomping around...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank motherHEncinitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Overall, our experience has been good( Aside from the severely dated bathroom and old, soft mattress.) You can hear noises from the hall, and the toilet runs.
The restaurant, Marnick's, is nice. The staff is inexperienced and has no guidance. The menu is the same is at was 25 years ago, and probably could be downsized by about two-thirds. It could also use a nutritional makeover., especially on the side dishes.
The view is splendid, and despite its shortcomings, this location is well-worth visiting again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank druthemole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Was expecting a lot more than we got. Wanted on the water, so that was sort of why we chose this hotel. It was, but only about 50 yards of gravelly beach to walk on. No amenities to speak of & a rather older place. Dragging suitcases up a winding stairs was a bit hard to do also.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank HappyTraveler889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Another great weekend trip. Amazingly friendly staff. Warm, family friendly atmosphere. Clean, simple acomodations. And after all of that affordable. We've been several times for quick weekend trips and this one was another great weekend. Additionally there are a lot of kid friendly activities in the area. Looking forward to our next trip the summer just isn't long enough!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beachfamilybum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We liked this place a lot. We'd stay again if we were ever in the area. The only strange thing was the way the continental breakfast worked. We sat in the restaurant and ordered what we wanted, which was cereal, muffins, fruit cup, bagel or toast. Plus coffee and juices.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Yes, I know, 5 stars for a Rodeway...
But if you need a flat screen and triple sheeted beds, go to the Holiday Inn. If you want a nice, quaint mom and pop inn with that classic Americana feel, this is it. This place is older and the bathroom color schemes may be a little dated (I think this adds to the charm), but it has been well cared for over the years, the out of the way beachfront setting is impossible to match and the people are great. Enjoy a beer and some friendly conversation on the patio and then retire to a clean, comfortable room (some with a view) and get up to a delicious breakfast (sounds like a commercial, but I really love this place).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie_M_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stratford
2.5 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#2 of 5 in Stratford
215 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Circle Hotel Fairfield
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bridgeport
Holiday Inn Bridgeport
#1 of 1 in Bridgeport
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Fairfield Hotel
7.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Stratford
5.0 mi away
Motel 6 Milford
Motel 6 Milford
#8 of 13 in Milford
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Stratford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Stratford

Address: 10 Washington Pkwy, Stratford, CT 06615-7811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stratford
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Stratford
Price Range: $99 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Stratford 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn Stratford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Stratford Hotel Stratford
Stratford Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing