We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in class”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Stratford
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Stratford
Hertford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best in class”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Yes, I know, 5 stars for a Rodeway...
But if you need a flat screen and triple sheeted beds, go to the Holiday Inn. If you want a nice, quaint mom and pop inn with that classic Americana feel, this is it. This place is older and the bathroom color schemes may be a little dated (I think this adds to the charm), but it has been well cared for over the years, the out of the way beachfront setting is impossible to match and the people are great. Enjoy a beer and some friendly conversation on the patio and then retire to a clean, comfortable room (some with a view) and get up to a delicious breakfast (sounds like a commercial, but I really love this place).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie_M_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    70
    32
    16
    13
See reviews for
50
64
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Virginia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I agree that the rooms might need refreshed, but I had a good overall stay. I wasn't expecting a Marriott, and in fact I was hoping it would be a little "different." That's exactly what I got. It is a very small hotel and many of the rooms (including mine) have a balcony or patio that overlooks Long Island Sound. What I especially liked was the bathroom - pink toilets and bathtubs! It was a very unique place. I didn't try the continental breakfast at the attached restaurant, but I did pay for a full breakfast.

If you stay at the Rodeway expecting a luxury hotel, you'll be disappointed. But if you're looking for an older and unique place to stay, this is tops.

Room Tip: Rooms with an oceanfront view are available. They cost a little more, but they're worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mountaineer2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed here as we were attending a graduation in New Haven. Obviously this was much cheaper than staying nearer to the event. It took about 30 minutes to drive to New Haven from here, so it worked pretty well for us. It was a friendly place and it was nice to have a view of the water, but it was rather rundown and a bit grubby. There are places I'll walk around in bare feet and places I won't - this was the latter.
But it was good value and in a pleasant little neighbourhood.

Room Tip: You can have a view of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spiggiewiggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Matilda, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
161 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed last June on way to New Hampshire for graduation party, liked it enough to come back. The key phrase here is “value.”

Negatives: Rooms need major renovation. Any hotel this close to water needs new carpets now and then, these didn’t look or smell like they’d been changed in eons. The rooms were worn, but clean. However, the halls and walkways up from the parking lot were not clean. Beer cans stacked next to over-filling hall garbage cans, stains on the carpet, crust in the corners, you get the idea. Also, we stayed in the end wing off the main building and a door at the top of a barely lit walking from the parking lot did not close, meaning security was nil.

Positives: The rooms, while worn, were clean and spacious. Noise was minimal and we got a good night sleep, which for $69 in CT is pretty good. The hotel backs onto the bay. The town is quiet and peaceful. The owners and staff were present and pleasant. The hotel bar was a friendly place and we enjoyed having a drink on the deck overlooking the bay. The free breakfast was well above the usual sugar-festival we get at Choice motels. We didn’t eat from the regular menu, but the food looked excellent and the prices seemed fair. They had an in-house ice cream parlor, which was nice for the kids. Loved having the deck.

Ultimately, for someone looking to stay Bayside in CT, this was a bargain. I’d like to see more effort put into the commons areas, and I’d feel more secure if all doors locked. Stratford seemed very safe, but it was surrounded by areas that didn’t give me a warm fuzzy. But beyond that, I’ve stayed in $200 motels that didn’t have this friendly an atmosphere. I’d stay here again.

Room Tip: The front portion of the motel is cleaner, but the back portion is quieter. We stayed there with two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 111buckhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Anything better would cost 50% more or be an hour away. That said, this place needs a serious update. Two of the wall-mounted light fixtures in the room had broken (push on, push off) switches. Half the floor tiles in the bathroom were cracked or wobbled. The water temperature in the shower fluctuated widely and frequently during the 10 minutes I was in it. The TV is a small CRT. Getting a working key card took several tries. There is no elevator, so a second-floor room involves hauling your luggage up and down stairs.

Even when the place is mostly empty (an off-season Monday night), they wouldn't put us in an ocean-view room without an up-charge when all other first floor rooms were booked and we had large heavy suitcases. The continental breakfast is in the attached restaurant with waitress service. A bagel, English muffin, and/or fruit cup are the only options.

On the other hand, the beds were comfortable, the room was clean, the WiFi was fast, there was a refrigerator and microwave in the room, and the staff was friendly and helpful. There is a great view of the Long Island Sound from the restaurant and from the more expensive rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m60freeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We booked this hotel on priceline last minute due to a funeral we were attending. It was inexpensive and within the area of where were going. The location is beautiful but the inn is reflective of the $59 a night we paid for. Our room was freezing and the walls are extremely thin. The waterfront is nice but the inn is very mediocre and there was no information given about where the ice was or anything other information that might be important. I got what I paid for. Great for a lay your head down for a minute but not as a vacation or getaway.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stratford hotels

Retiro, Colombia
Level Contributor
288 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The hotel is right on the ocean and features a restaurant and bar with an outside deck patio. The rooms were old and the floors not even - but the place was clean considering it's age and location. We were right on the ocean and the weather was great. The rooms had TV and marginal wifi.. It's nothing fancy - but it is on the beach.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank HK2LS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stratford
2.5 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#2 of 5 in Stratford
206 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bridgeport
Holiday Inn Bridgeport
#1 of 1 in Bridgeport
231 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Circle Hotel Fairfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Stratford
5.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Fairfield Hotel
4.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Milford
Red Roof Inn Milford
#5 of 13 in Milford
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Stratford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Stratford

Property: Rodeway Inn Stratford
Address: 10 Washington Pkwy, Stratford, CT 06615-7811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stratford
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Stratford 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn Stratford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Stratford Hotel Stratford
Stratford Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing