We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Kept Secret”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Stratford
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Stratford
Reviewed May 27, 2008

We booked our room from the internet. We like to stay with the small independent as compared to the large corporate chains. Marnick's is American family owned since it opened. Marge & Nick (hence Marnick) started everything. Family has continued the hospitality to make their heritage proud. Our room was VERY clean, updated & well equiped with microwave , fridge cable TV & internet. We booked a king bed with balcony overlooking The Sound. OUTSTANDING view. Nothing like falling asleep listening to the waves. Outside full service bar was opened. Gives a carribbean feel with sitting under the umbrella, ocean breeze & music. Great service. Food is real home cooking that again represents the personal touch Marge & Nick began. This isnt a large corporate chain with all the hustle & hassle. It is a small, tranquil, relaxing vacation that we will positively be back for. Takes you back in time when vacations were to escape from the world & reunite with your family.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank laverty1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
There are newer reviews for Rodeway Inn Stratford
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 173 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2008

The view from the balcony and the surrounding town is absolutely beautiful! The room was rather plain with a stand up shower stall, 2 double beds, fridge and microwave. The first night we got there we weren't impressed with the cleanliness of the room, there was ashes on the bathroom floor and hair in the shower :( Although when we woke up and opened up that balcony door the smell of the ocean and the crisp ocean breeze just made us relax. We went out for the day and came back to a CLEAN room. WE will definately be going back again very soon, but will NEVER eat at the restaurant there again. We ordered the fishermans platter and it was all frozen food that you could go buy in the frozen food section at walmart, and to top it off it was all oven baked!!!!!!! ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE FOOD!!!!!!!! If you stay here and want some real off the boat seafood we definately recommend Uberti's right down the street!!!!! DO NOT EAT AT MARNICKS its expensive and disgusting!!!!! We checked out other hotel locations in that area and there were all right in the heart of the "city" surrounding views of these other hotels were stop lights, stores and road rage. I would definately recommend the Rodeway Inn for any age group with or without children (we brought 3 kids) and for anyone that wants to enjoy the beach and a quiet setting. Pay the extra for the balcony it is well worth the 10 bucks!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NewHampshireMomof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2007

This was a lovely, old hotel. It was not fancy and had none of the bells and whistles of the nicer chains but the beachfront property made up for everything.
We spent the night with our patio door open to hear the sounds of the ocean. It was our childrens' first time to see the ocean. Even though it was cold and dreary, they played on the beach all morning. We cancelled our plans to leave early and get to Mt. Vernon because they were having so much fun.
On the night we arrived, the desk clerk, who I assumed was the owner, asked the restaurant staff to stay open till 9 p.m. because he had several rooms arriving late (of which we were one.)

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lamgomom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2007

Flies dead and alive in the check in area. Hallways narrow and beat. Room maid had her whole family with her running up and down the halls. The room had a inch of dust under the beads,bathroom shower stall was moldy, slider had a peice of plywood on the outside so you could not go out. Not a place for the faint heart.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlapointe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2007

My husband took me here as a quick surprise getaway this past weekend. I didn't know what I would find there, but I have to tell you that I found a fantastic time!

The room was clean and cool (a.c. was running), the patio was clean and nothing could beat the view of the Long Island Sound. The restaurant was great. While there wasn't any other place nearby to eat, I enjoyed the dinner very much and the breakfast was great too. Very hospitable bunch and although the restaurant was full to capacity during breakfast, everything went smoothly and quickly. The people there do whatever they can to make your stay comfortable and that to me goes a long way.

This is definitely a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank edcin912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2007

Booked the hotel because of other reviews. The location was nice - secluded, on a private beach. Good for long walks. The hotel was as others said - older, plain, but for the price nice. My complaint is that we had a balcony that we shared with the room next door - it wasn't swept, and they only had one chair there for both rooms. Also, the walls separating the other balconies were low so there was no privacy when you sat out there. The hotel was in the midst of renovating their outdoor patio bar which looked very nice but it wasn't finished so we couldn't use it. Couldn't understand why the work wasn't done before the summer. The restaurant on site served good food - had breakfast there every morning and one dinner. Lots of locals seem to come here. They were painting the way in as well as storing furniture and other stuff for the patio right inside the door so it was a bit messy. Working on the parking lot as well. You are also away from stores, other restaurants, etc. so you have to drive around a bit to find anything. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DNS27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2007

Wonderful view of the beach, enjoyed walking along it. The room was very large and came with microwave and fridge. Had our own balcony overlooking the beach and perfect weather.
We dined there and I had the best lobster roll ever. The Bloodymary's were also good. We wished we could have stayed longer, we only had one night there. The price was a bargain at $97 tax and all thru AARP. We will stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank otterpreneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stratford
2.5 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#2 of 5 in Stratford
214 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Circle Hotel Fairfield
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bridgeport
Holiday Inn Bridgeport
#1 of 1 in Bridgeport
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Fairfield Hotel
7.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Stratford
8.3 mi away
Delamar Southport
Delamar Southport
#1 of 1 in Southport
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Stratford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Stratford

Address: 10 Washington Pkwy, Stratford, CT 06615-7811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stratford
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Stratford
Price Range: $99 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Stratford 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn Stratford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Stratford Hotel Stratford
Stratford Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing