We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm here now, drinking now”

Two Roads Brewing Company
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“I'm here now, drinking now”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Decided to stop here with the folks and fam.. Awesome beer for those who like craft brews. Was only going to have one flight, but now I'm having pints of my favorites.. If you are near here, stop here. Some of the best beer I've had in a while. Can't wait till they are available in Delaware.

Helpful?
Thank Philip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    33
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beer Heaven”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Since its opening a year ago, I've had the pleasure of visiting Two Roads at least 10 or more times. This place has "the vibe." It is warm and welcoming, built into an old-renovated factory building in the south end of Stratford. There's enough parking on most nights, and an excellent gift shop that you are bound to want to take something away from after you sample the beers.

This organization is positively booming. They have a handful of year-round beers (the No Limits, pictured, is one. Henry's Farm is seasonal) and seasonals such as "Roadsmary's Baby," "Via Cordis", and "Hizzoner" which are exceptional at every turn, and which sell out over the course of a few months.

Additionally, once a month on a Thursday, the brewery taps a "firkin" -- a very limited cask brew that they announce on social media. It's a super fun way to encourage people to try the brewmaster's new brews and get people inside. (Firkin is the word for a quarter of a beer barrel... it's a Dutch word! It's also the word for "if you don't get there early it will be all gone!")

However, this place has always been either busy or with a good crowd, which makes it fun to visit whenever you get the chance. If you aren't sure what to order, don't worry because ALL of the beer tenders are knowledgable. You can order full-sized beers or order "tasters," or even order a flight to try four of the beers with a friend.

By the way, if you are a Miller Light drinker, you might not find these beers up your alley. These are super favorable, full of malt and hop flavor and complex in nature. Don't panic! Your beer taste buds will be shock, but they will adjust (and thank you)!

A few things to know:

1) this is a tasting room, not a bar, so their rules are different for selling and serving beer. The hours are shorter for example.

2) The don't serve food. However, they always have food trucks outside, AND you are completely welcome to BRING food in (I recommend at very least bring pretzels to nibble with the beer). The do have chips to buy but not a big selection.

3) They offer tours on Saturdays. Take the tour! It's inexpensive and worth it!

4) You can buy and refill growlers here. You can bring other non-Two Roads growlers to fill... they will relabel them however.

5) Some of the beers are 7 or 8 percent, so be careful and have a designated driver.

All in all, Two Roads is a destination, a first-course for date night, a great place for friends to meet-up, a fantastic place for business party or any party. Basically it is Beer Heaven... and no, I was not paid to write this! I love this place!!!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank la_letterata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
145 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great place for a business party”
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

I had a office party in this place and it was great. They served us their delicious beer and helped us ordering a delicious catering. The building is spectacular and their bar has an incredible view to the factory. Even that they don't have a kitchen, but allow truck vendors in the outdoor area, I give them a five star because is a good place for business party.

Helpful?
Thank AkirePR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful new brewery!”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Two Roads is a gem in Stratford. The brewery occupies a factory building which had been vacant for years. Much of the old woodwork has been restored to add to the appeal of the tasting room on the second floor (looking out over the production area). One of the old factory bathrooms has also been refitted into a unisex restroom. There is a company store with apparel, stickers, and 6-packs, as well as a private tasting area that can be booked for events.

The beer is good to excellent and, as you would expect, always fresh. In addition to their four mainstay beers they often have one or two seasonals on tap. The saison and pumpkin were particularly good in this inaugural year. You can order draft beer by the pint, or in a growler to go.

Overall, I recommend Two Roads for an after work happy hour, after dinner drinks, or any other time that calls for a quality micro-brew. The only reason that I didn't give 5 stars is because they do not have a kitchen, although there are frequently food trucks parked at the outdoor beer garden.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank YoungCTCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“If you like beer...”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I like to support local businesses and since this brewery is right in our backyard we paid it a visit.
The first time the tour and tasting was booked so we had a beer and shopped in the gift shop. On the next visit we were able to take the tour which was time well spent. You can bring your own food or purchase some from the food truck - check the website for a schedule. www.tworoadsbrewing.com Also note, there is no restaurant in the brewery and the bar only serves beer. They also have growlers for purchase and they can be refilled.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bob-1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Roads Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to Two Roads Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing