We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank you for your kindness”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Stratford
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
Brewster, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thank you for your kindness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2009

I stayed at this hotel with my special needs child the night before his surgery at Yale Childrens Hospital. The staff was incredibly accommodating, recommending a 2 bedroom suite for us since we were travelling with support staff rather than having two separate rooms. The evening buffet dinner was bustling, with people coming and going, chatting and really enjoying themselves. The hotel is very convenient, right off the highway, and has a great internet connection (which I find is sometimes spotty at other hotels). The front desk was great - they were very nice to both myself and my son - we really appreciate that. Thank you.

Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank TravelsAllTheTime9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    164
    48
    18
    16
See reviews for
301
132
35
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2008

Be sure when you call to tell them everything, include your pets info. When I stayed last year, I didn't pay a pet fee but this year it cost me $200.00 more. Last year I stayed 6 days and this year 5 days and it cost me $174.00 less last year. The rooms are nice and clean however walking your pets in a landmine was quite ugly. Even though you're suppose to pick up after your pets, it wasn't happening when we were there. Too bad.

  • Liked — cleanliness of the rooms
  • Disliked — outside area for pets-no one picked up their pets mess
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank HeavenCharlotte_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort lauderdale, fl
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2008

We stayed here in October, 2008 as part of a Bar Mitzvah group. The hotel and staff were extremely accomodating---especially since my reservation was part cashing in Hilton HHonors points/part the Group Rate.

Upon check-in, they booked me on the main floor, but I explained we were from the south and would love a higher floor so we could look out and appreciate the fall foliage and we were moved to a room w/ a most magnificent view.

The free b'fast is "OK" and we were thankful for it, so it's hard to complain. Past posts have mentioned gummy oatmeal, underdone waffles, etc., but HEY...this hotel has the same rates as others that offer ZERO b'fast and if your waffle was underdone...you do cook it yourself. I was grateful and thankful for the coffee at all hours and for the refrigerator in my room for snacks and leftovers. One thing...I arrived late for the free breakfast on 2 of 4 mornings, and the kitchen staff was quite accomodating at "making me a plate" regardless of the time. We needed some first aid supplies one night and the staff brought them to our room and refused a tip. I would say the facilities were great and the intention and attention of the staff were great.

The only complaints would be lack of proximity to conveniences, but let's face it, if one does their research, they know that this is a rural location. Rent a car and then you can get to the stores you need, the train station, etc.

I would say that, for the class of hotel, this place gets a 4 out of 5. That means it is not a fancy hotel, but it delivers what it says it will. There is a free b'fast each day. There is a clean and warm indoor pool. The room is "straightened" promptly and efficiently. The staff is friendly and accomodating. There are two computers w/ internet access and a printer always available. I wish the management would analyze the level of cleanliness in the bathrooms and kitchenettes, then I'd give it a 5 out of 5 for it's class!!

Highly recommend a stay here, just rent your car first!

  • Liked — Friendly Lobby Atmosphere and the layout of the room...we were very comfortable. Also loved that the front desk could print directions for me for anywhere i wanted to go! Walgreens, the train station, various restaurants, back to the White Plains airport...very nice and appreciated!!
  • Disliked — Dirty bathroom and kitchen floors...the tile shows it all, so it made us afraid to walk barefoot on the carpet or use the dishes before washing ourselves first! It looks really clean, but we felt it wasn't!! Also, I know that in this day and age of environmentalism, it is not vogue to change hotel sheets every day....but in a FOUR NIGHT STAY our sheets were never freshened. Slightly dissapointing!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mamamooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beacon Falls, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2008

We have been staying at the Homeward Suites for 3 weeks now. While we were on vacation, we had a fire at our home. I have to say that the staff at the Stratford Homeward Suites has made my husband and I feel like we are part of their family.
We know everyone by name, and they all know us. It's a wonderful feeling when you return back "home" at the end of a long day (dealing with insurance adjustors, and contractors, the job and the kids) and find a smiling face at the front desk. Any request is met with a smile. The kitchen personnel are all very accomodating. Norma, you are the best!!
Clare, Linda H and Linda HH are also terrific. There are too many people to individually thank. I would recommend this "home away from home" to any of my friends whether temporarily displaced or just for a night away. For little romantic getaway, this is the place.
Keep up the good work.
You guys are the BEST.

  • Liked — cleanliness, friendliness,
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rositahooterville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2008

Stayed here for a wedding I attended. I thought it would be close to the train station, but it's about a $20 cab fare. The hotel looks great. Located on a mountaintop, it's quite majestic. The lobby is really nice and inviting. Our room was a suite, so we had a pull out couch and 2 double beds with french doors. The kitchenette was nice too, especially for our leftovers and waters. There is no food around the property, so you would need a car or other transportation. The front desk was hit or miss. They forgot to give us our gift bags even when we identified ourselves as being with the wedding party.

We had problems with the hotel van. They were supposed to pick us up from the reception site, if we signed up, which we did. It made 1 run, and forgot us. We called 4 times, and they kept saying they were on their way. Finally after waiting 45 mins, we called a cab. The cab arrived faster than the van which finally pulled up as we were leaving.

The breakfast was not good. Gummy oatmeal and underdone belgian waffles. There was a big selection, of mostly cold items. And it was quite cumbersom because the staff kept refilling sufficiently filled items. And it got crowded when it came time to eat.

I am sure there are other better options to stay at than this hotel.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — Inconvenient location
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mstara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2008

This hotel is alright, but no where near exceptional. My fiance booked this place as a romantic night away, but I guess he didn't do good research. The room is not as nice as the pictures their site. The full kitchen was convenient, and the separate bedroom was great. The decor was quite tacky, it almost had a hunting lodge feel to it lots of hunter green and reds, and mallard ducks galore. The pool is very tiny and there isn't much to the fitness room. The place was clean and the staff was friendly. Its a reliable place to stay, but it is not good for a romantic evening.

  • Liked — Seperate large bedroom
  • Disliked — decor, pool, location
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank thisnerdishot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2008

Me and my husband stayed here for 2 nights in March of 2008. Exterior and lobby area of the hotel was pretty clean but room seem a bit dated. It wasn't dirty or anything. Free breakfast was okay although we had better free breakfast at other mid-level hotels. If price is right, we'd stay here again.

  • Liked — Free High Speed Internet
  • Disliked — Room interior
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ck1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stratford
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton
2.0 mi away
HYATT house Shelton
HYATT house Shelton
#2 of 6 in Shelton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Milford/New Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#2 of 5 in Stratford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Milford
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Shelton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Stratford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Stratford

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Stratford
Address: 6905 Main Street, Stratford, CT 06614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stratford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Stratford 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Stratford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Stratford Hotel Stratford
Homewood Suites Stratford
Homewood Stratford
Hilton Stratford
Stratford Homewood Suites
Stratford Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing