We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“o brother what a stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Stratford
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2011

ok my fellow travelers heres the honest scoop-dirty room, lack of supplies to room,dirty bedding,animals all over dog hair on furnishings which leads me to think maid service is even worse than originally percieved! food deal monday thru friday is decent not great but decent-pack some goodies because you wont fill up but ok enough. location is awful unless you work for sikorsky aircraft which is directly across the st. locating hotel is bit hard sits behind elderly assisted place. i dont smoke and if you do theres no place for you folks outside because i saw its allowed on balcony but families take it over with alot of dirty looks smokers beware-lol a little area for them would be nice,hate to be out in the elements as weather worsens and alas thats where your gonna end up here! over all for the cost and title of hilton the staff was unknowledgable for the whole maid service is very very poor the laundry was broken down-again 3rd time so dont count on it,and noise is overwhelming with children running loudly up and down halls,steps,pool,outside inside dinner area-but blame parents for not keeping them beter mannerred. personally wont stay here again for the price can and have gotten better locations cleaner rooms and more peace and quiet. i wouldnt recommend it to anyone except spca or orphanage temp.shelter. hagd. time for me to move on to another hotel worth the money for some much needed rest and a clean room.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank travelingmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (817)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

757 - 763 of 818 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2011

maid service was very poor,the sheets were not changed after asking 3 days in a row and complaining i stripped own bed and made the staff bring me clean sheets! also asked for more shampoo and lotion never got it asked everyday and night asked them to leave notes for maid never got that either-no backup toilet paper actually ran out! thank god hubby was here to go locate some and this is not acceptable for a HILTON! spiders in the room, only 1 place to sit and smoke outdoors which is where people cookout so naturally that caused problems-they need area maybe spend a few dollars build a gazebo for smokers! i would not recommend this hotel to anyone which is pretty bad since i am a constant traveler due to work and head up the setups for others to stay-will never see my company here again-also MOLD ON THE INSIDE AND OUTSIDE OF FRIDGE AS WELL AS DIRTY DISHES THE MAID RAN IN DISHWASHER WITH NO SOAP DAILY-I WATCHED HER DO IT OVER AND OVER!!! please to any perspective traveler family business whichever-STEER CLEAR OF THIS PLACE HORRIBLE STAFFING -PRETTY BAD WHEN YOU MUST STRIP YOUR OWN BED FOLKS-PRETTY BAD.....IVE STAYED AT LESS RATED PLACES THAT ARE FAR BETTER SO DONT GO BY THE HOTELS RATING ....READ WHAT REAL FOLKS ARE SAYING! also they allow animals so for anyone with allergiesLIKE MYSELF ask for clean new blankets sheets towels etc because dog hair was on all of mine! VERY VERY BAD EXP. DONT SPEND THE MONEY FOR THIS DUMP! hoping ive helped someone not to be duped by the hype of this place its awful...SAVE YOUR MONEY NOT WORTH IT AND BAD ARTEA AS WELL NOTHING TO DO BUT JUMP OFF AND ON FREEWAYS NO STORES NO RESTAURANTS JUST A VIEW OF HELICOPTER PLANT AND TRAFFIC DAY AND NIGHT NONSTOP-HORRIBLE JUST DOESNT DESCRIBE OUR STAY...

Room Tip: donot stay here keep looking folks honestly donot stay here!-fitness center also was 2 treadmills a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank nyangelfire1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaHolmesHannon, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Stratford, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2011

We appreciate your opinion and want to assure you that we are addressing all the issues you mentioned regarding your room and service levels. We are committed to the comfort of all of our guests and strive to provide a high level of service in a “homelike” atmosphere. We sincerely hope that you will give us a return visit so we can show you the true level of quality that we are known for.
Linda Holmes-Hannon General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I travel to the Stratford/Shelton area monthly for business. If the other business hotels in the area are booked I will look at the Homewood Suites property. The property itself is nice. The rooms are clean, big and are all set up for extended stay guests. No major complaints about the property.

However, the hotel's typical guest is tough for a mid-week business traveler. There always seems to be dogs/animals on property. Many times there are families with small children staying. And during my stay there was a 5 year old birthday party.

This shouldn't be an idictment of the property. Heck, I've used extended stay hotels for my family when travelling for pleasure and they work great. But as a business traveler staying mid-week, it just creates a level of noise and activity that I generally try to avoid when travelling for work.

And finally, avoid leaving the hotel during rush hours. Major helicopter company across the street and getting in and out of the parking lot can be tough when there is a shift change. There are usually traffic cops directing traffic but be patient.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xy223yz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

I would like to thank Charles for going out of his way. I left my travel folder in the room when I checked out. I called the hotel and Charles not only went to get it and put it aside for me, he also called me to tell me he found it. That was a big relief to hear.

Please thank Charles for me. As usual, your hotel is not only a home in location but also a home in caring.

RG

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enjoylife33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

On December 27 2010, half my home was destroyed by fire, I have been living here at Homewood Suite for seven months. The staff excepted Rocky My boxer and me with open arms. Rocky was the one who saved my life when the fire broke out, I was in a sound sleep. All of the staff love Rocky. We will be leaving soon, I have fond memories of HomeWood Staff. Listed are the staff who are doing a great job at Homewood.:
Linda Holmes -Hannon mgr, Linda Hvizdo mgr Clare Pusateri sales manager, Ed Browning chief, Berta Wiecek mgr, Miriam Sattanni kitchen sup, Rentata Memelli Kiitchen, Luis Cajas kichen, Misheri Rhodes kitchen, Naomi Bristow fd, Charles Sosa fd,
Shalonda Rawls fd sup, Brian Lopez fd, Richard Warren audit, Valerie Kenny audit, Wilner Balde hsmn, Koko Sepe Sepe hsmn, Willie Price hsmn, Takiyah Cato hskp sup, Audrey Lesniak hskp, Clover Gordon hdkp, Candice Howell hskp, Creliane Duval hskp, Cacendra Louis hskp, Nicole Jules Felix hskp, Angnieska Majewska hskp, Enkeleda Halili hskp, Natalina Almeida hskp, Blanca Santillan hskp, Lena Valentin eng, Robert Valinsky eng

Room Tip: Front over look Houstatonic and Sikorsky Aircraft
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richardgrailich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

This is a very good, comfortable, clean hotel for a good value. It also accomodates pets, which is a big plus. The staff is very friendly and warm and really try to do their best to make you feel at home and welcome. I'm a regular guest to get away and enjoy some down time. Would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mezz68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

I've been going to this hotel for sometime now and have always had a terrific experience. The staff is very attentive and they make your stay a most enjoyable experience. I highly recommend staying at this hotel when you are in the area.

Room Tip: Simple, just ask for it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeterJ08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stratford
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton
4.7 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#2 of 5 in Stratford
221 reviews
2 mi away
HYATT house Shelton
HYATT house Shelton
#2 of 6 in Shelton
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Residence Inn Milford
Residence Inn Milford
#3 of 13 in Milford
203 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Milford
4 mi away
Hyatt Place Milford/New Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Stratford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Stratford

Address: 6905 Main Street, Stratford, CT 06614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stratford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Stratford
Price Range: $106 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Stratford 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Stratford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Stratford Hotel Stratford
Homewood Suites Stratford
Homewood Stratford
Hilton Stratford
Stratford Homewood Suites
Stratford Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing