We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Super Summertime Treat!!!”
Review of UConn Dairy Bar

UConn Dairy Bar
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Storrs
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Groton, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A Super Summertime Treat!!!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We drive about 40 minutes away but still drive 2 or 3 times a year to visit the Dairy Bar. Really nice ice cream. My favorite is Toasted Almond while my wife loves the Maple Walnut. Toasted Almond is super nutty (not whole nuts, but easy to chew crushed nuts) and has no alcohol taste at all (most of the time Toasted Almond ice cream has a strong alcohol taste - - but not here). As a special treat, I can really recommend the milk shakes - - especially vanilla. We always buy some half gallons containers to take home and eggs during our visit. Everything fresh from the UCONN farm!!!

My only concern is the fact that they do not have a large supply of half gallon container on stock. They will fill up a container for you with the flavor that you want - - but it costs you an extra $2.00 over the regular price. Not a large fee - - but kind of unethical if you ask me. But I guess you can do that when you win a few basketball games.

Still it make brings a smile to my face when we decide to visit my alma mater. Enjoy and don’t forget to take some home.

TIP: During the summer they stay open longer - - Remember, it’s a Summertime Treat!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cristito C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    30
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
CT, USA
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great ice cream, refreshing cool spot”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This was a nice treat after touring the enormous UConn campus. All the ice cream is made on-site using locally produced ingredients. A must-visit for ice-cream lovers. There is a cool display of old glass milk bottles in the entryway to the bar, and a freezer stocked with yummy take-away containers for purchase. The store also carries eggs from the campus farm..

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travlelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best ice cream in the state”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I was born and raised in Connecticut, and Dairy Bar is still the best ice cream I've had in the state!

I most recently visited a few weeks ago with a group of friends. The newly-renovated interior looks great, and provides more room for customers. I ordered the Husky Tracks, which is similar to a "moose tracks"-type ice cream you might find elsewhere. It is vanilla ice cream, with peanut butter swirls and chunks of Reese's PB cups in it. The ice cream itself is so creamy and delicious, it would satiate your appetite with just a plain flavor! The serving sizes are also quite large, so be ready to eat plenty of it!

It's about a 35-minute drive from Hartford, but if you're near UConn, you MUST try this ice cream!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ezra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tolland, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cheap but delicious”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Been to the Dairy Bar many times growing up, and was always amazed by how cheap it is and the huge portions. All of the flavors are great and the employees serve HUGE scoops -- a child size portion is big enough for most people here!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank annieundercover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect for a 90 degree day.”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Had two scoops of the black rasperry ice cream. This was by far the creamiest ice cream I ever tasted that was full of flavor. My wife had chocolate peanut butter and her only complaint was that it needed a bit more peanut butter, but overall she loved it. The place also sells ice cream cookie sandwiches, ice cream pies, and their own milk and eggs. I will be sure to bring a cooler with me next time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KMAN1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed UConn Dairy Bar also viewed

 
Storrs, Mansfield
Willington, Mystic Country
 
Mansfield, Mystic Country
Storrs, Mansfield
 

Been to UConn Dairy Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing