We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of Geno's Grille

Geno's Grille
Ranked #4 of 41 Restaurants in Storrs
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Geno's Grille is proud to be a part of the newly crafted Storrs Center located steps from the University of Connecticut campus. With indoor and outdoor seating for over 100 people and a menu featuring varied American fare, Geno's Grille is the perfect gathering spot that combines family, friends, food and fun.
Tolland, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Came here as a family and had a 20-minute wait, but it was completely worth it! Everything was absolutely delicious, from the garlic hummus dip to the appetizers and the flavorful entrees. We shared the bruschetta and calamari appetizers -- both were great! As far as entrees goes, the four of us ordered the Rock Shrimp, Chicken Parm Sandwich, Steak, and Carbonara. Every entree was delicious and satisfying. This was one of the best meals I have ever had at a restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank annieundercover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    53
    29
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Storrs, CT
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Urban Chic in Downtown Storrs”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The atmosphere is upscale urban...I don't feel like I am in Storrs anymore.
The food is well crafted with some of Geno's family recipes included. The plates are well presented, and the service is by young but attentive college students.
An unusual mix of entre selections will keep me coming back.
The need a happy hour beverage and snack menu.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank drdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amston, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Champion of Italian dining, too!”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

On my first visit to Geno's, I was impressed immediately as I walked into the restaurant. It is a welcoming atmosphere with the host greeting you promptly. Clean, comfortable and friendly. I met my friend there and we ordered a glass of wine each while we looked over the menu. We decided to order appetizers to share. We had the Calamari, the meatballs, and a Crostini dish. From presentation to taste, it was all divine. The calamari was fried delicately and crispy, accompanied by garlic aioli. The meatballs were large and just melt in your mouth delicious. I am so fussy about trying meatballs anywhere! I just knew these would be top notch, and they are. The Crostini had prosciutto, fava beans, olive oil, shaved parmesan and mint. I look forward to returning and I plan to try everything on that menu eventually. Tutti e buon!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bgtmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another Champion in Storrs”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised when we visited Geno's Grille. The service staff was engaging and knowledeable. The food was perfect. Lunch portions were just enough. The meatballs were better than grandma's. A nice selection of wines and many beer favorites on tap, as well as in bottles. Looking forward to another trip to Storrs

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, CT
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Finally some great good in Storrs!!!”
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

It was a pleasure to eat at this new restaurant in Storrs right near UConn. Tasty Italian in an upbeat setting. Good sized portions. I had Bronzino fish with potatoes and asparagus. Husband had shrimp and mussels in a delicious sauce. Friend had great gnocchi. Absolutely enormous chocolate cake, tasty panne cotta and great tiramisu. Reasonable prices and nice help staff. Could become an institution.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Geno's Grille also viewed

 

Been to Geno's Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing