We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but pretty good for the only place in town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Storrs
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston, MA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Pricey but pretty good for the only place in town”
Reviewed May 24, 2007

This is the only "hotel" in the UCONN run town of Storrs. Being a captive audience keeps business pretty steady at Nathan. Although it is about $200 for a king room, the hotel almost lives up to that price. Amazing large Beds and pillows. Pretty good food!
While I'm sure bad experiences were had, it really is the only option unless you want to stay just off the Highway 17 miles away, or in a B&B. 12% tax for CT doesn't sweeten the deal, but then you don't have another choice...

  • Liked — Beds
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Justnin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    56
    49
    22
    11
See reviews for
77
21
10
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2006

This hotel is nice. We enjoyed it. It was clean and well kept. The cleaning staff kept our room well kept. The pool isn't staffed, so swimming with little ones can be a bit of work. All the staff were friendly, except a few desk staff. Many of them seemed young [college students perhaps?]. We asked about a good grocery nearby and were directed to one close to the Four Corners that carried out of date dairy and dry goods! At the same time, the staff person mentioned another grocery in the Mansfield area [other direction]. We asked which was the better grocery, and the staff person said they were the same. They weren't. Even my 6-year-old noticed the the one in the Mansfield area was much nicer ["I like this grocery store better, Mom."]. Also our key stopped working on three occasions [we stayed 5 nights]. One staffer later told me that my cell phone or a credit card could be altering my key card to the room and parking. After learning this, things were much better. There's a lovely duck pond area on the campus near the hotel. And the Co-op nearby has great books and staff! Both main museums [Natural History and Art] were closed during our stay on the campus. It would have been nice to see one of them. Campus was obviously at a lull since school was out. Also, no laundry facilities.

  • Liked — Very clean
  • Tips/Secrets — Keep your room key card away from cell phones or other credit cards.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mothermade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parrish, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
468 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 395 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2006

This was the worst hotel stay I have ever had. They had my reservation wrong. They had me for one night only. They did correct it. However, when I returned to my room for my second night, the key did not work. Then when I entered the room, it was not cleaned. When I called down to at least get coffee, I had to wait an hour and then the houseman did not bother to bring any cream or sugar. Then I discovered that the phone did not work. This took two cell calls to fix. When I voiced my dissatisfaction w/ the service I was promised a rate adjustment and an apology from the manager. I received neither. Finally, I was awakened in the middle of the night for the delivery of a fax that had been received by the front desk seven hours earlier. The food in the restaurant is mediocre at best. Overall, this place was a disgrace.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JeffnEdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Storrs hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 4, 2005

Stayed here several time while our daughter was a student at UConn. Rooms were nice, food was good, staff was friendly. It is really the only "nice" place to stay while visiting Storrs and UConn.

  • Stayed May 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Storrs
16.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford-Manchester
13.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Manchester - Hartford CT
14.7 mi away
Residence Inn Hartford Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Courtyard Hartford Manchester
14.0 mi away
Extended Stay America - Hartford - Manchester
12.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hartford - Vernon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center

Property: Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center
Address: 855 Bolton Rd, Storrs, Mansfield, CT 06268-1719
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Mansfield > Storrs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Storrs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center, located on the historic campus of the top-ranked University of Connecticut in Storrs, and offering visitors a convenient upscale full-service alternative to hotels in Manchester or Hartford. Set in the heart of campus, across from Storrs Center, the Nathan Hale Inn is the perfect destination for alumni, sports enthusiasts, parents and potential students. Whether you are traveling on business or for pleasure, the full-service Nathan Hale Inn is a top choice for hotels in Connecticut. Named after Connecticut's Revolutionary war hero, the Nathan Hale Inn offers sophisticated New England hospitality against a backdrop of rural beauty. We've got the best full-service choices and premium guest rooms for UConn alumni, guest speakers, visiting parents and Husky fans. Hartford and Manchester hotels cannot compare to our unique setting and unbeatable location in the heart of historic University of Connecticut Storrs campus and across from Storrs Center. 100 premium guestrooms at the Nathan Hale Inn & Conference Center provide a convenient base of operations for business travelers or families visiting the University of Connecticut's scenic main campus in Storrs. A full array of services includes high speed internet access, two restaurants with lounge, heated indoor pool and spa, and fitness center. UConn cultural, Storrs Center, and sports events are only steps away. The Nathan Hale Inn is a picture-perfect place to plan your seminar, wedding, reunion or conference, with a personal conference planner at your service. We offer versatile meeting rooms and our elegant three-season pavilion that accommodates up to 250 and the adjacent Rome Commons Ballroom is 10,000 square feet and can host large events within a short walk to Storrs Center. Choose from our Nathan Hale's two full service restaurants for dining experiences that range from elegant to casual, or relax in our lounge. The Nathan Hale Inn is a picture-perfect convenient base of operations while visiting the University and is convenient to the many UConn cultural activities and sports events. A full array of services includes high speed internet access, two restaurants and a lounge, indoor pool, fitness center and Jacuzzi. The Inn is also certified as Green & Sustainable lodging by the state of Connecticut and is a perfect site for Green & Sustainable meetings and conferences. Our location across from Storrs Center can't be beat and our goal to provide you exceptional service makes Nathan Hale Inn the best choice for visitors. Make the Nathan Hale Inn your full-service oasis on campus, with contemporary flair and a convenient alternative to hotels in Manchester and Hartford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nathan Hale Hotel Storrs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing