We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and can't beat the convenience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Storrs
GreenLeadersBronze level
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great value and can't beat the convenience!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This hotel came highly recommended to us by friends from the New England area, and they were spot on. We loved the hotel being on the UCONN campus for the local meeting; how convenient is that? From the moment of our arrival at Nathan Hall, the front desk was extremely helpful with all of our travel needs. It was such a pleasure to deal with employees who seemed to enjoy their jobs. They recommended the hotel for dining. We hesitated, as hotel food is not typically known for being high quality, but since all of their other recommendations had been so helpful, we decided to give it a try and were pleasantly surprised. The food was delicious. The atmosphere in the bar was fun and lively, and the drinks were fairly priced. Updates are needed at the hotel, but our room was clean, and that is what is most important.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bulldog_Lover2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNathanHaleInn, General Manager at Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thanks for your comments about your great stay at the Nathan Hale Inn. We will share your complimentary comments with the staff about their friendliness and great food!. Also the housekeeping team will be pleased with your room cleanliness.

We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    56
    49
    22
    11
See reviews for
77
21
10
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upstate New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Unlike most who probably stay here specifically for UConn, I stayed here to visit friends, and this was one of the few (only?) hotels in the area. I do enjoy a college environment, and it has been a while since I stayed in such an atmosphere. I thoroughly enjoyed it. I did not experience the "college spirit" reported by some of the other reviewers. I absolutely loved the pub in particular. My stay went smoothly, and whatever minor issues I had were addressed promptly by a very courteous and attentive staff.

Based on my personal experience, I would (and have) recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C0sim0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNathanHaleInn, General Manager at Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you for comments on your great stay! The on campus location can't be beat and the True Blue Tavern is a on the short list of dining spots to capture the UCONN flair.

We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I have stayed here in the past for an annual sporting event at UConn and was there again this summer. I was reminded once again as I walked through the lobby several times on my way in and out how unfriendly the front staff is. No one ever looks happy to be working here. There was no one even at the front desk on multiple occasions as I passed through. The place is tired. The room directory still lists the old Friendly's restaurant that has been closed for a year, but fails to even mention the newer restaurants that have opened across the street from campus. Everything feels very basic about this hotel, from the décor with the old-fashioned bedspreads, to the toiletries, the plastic tub/shower, chipped furniture, and lack of paper or notepads. Even the comments and suggestions form left in the room was printed with faded ink, and copied on a slant, basically summing up the sad state of affairs here.. My wake up call came about 45 minutes early. How does that happen? Why is there a parking charge when you are in the hinterlands, and there is no opportunity for street parking? Whey was the pool closed over an hour earlier than the posted time, with no explanation? The pillows are flat and uncomfortable. As for positives, all I can say is that the place is clean, and it is the only real option for UConn visitors. I often wonder why a chain hotel doesn't open in the area. There's plenty of land nearby, and goodness knows this place could use some competition. Or better management.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhiggins5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNathanHaleInn, General Manager at Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
We appreciate your feedback from your recent stay.

I am sorry to see that some areas of your visit weren’t up to par and your comments have been shared with the appropriate areas for improvement.

Since your stay in June we have put in place new guestroom phones, Simmons Beautyrest Mattress, new lobby furniture, an HD TV in the lobby, new banquet seating, and enhanced the business services for guests in the lobby. This is in addition to adding new lobby carpet, ADA pool lifts, and HD TV’s in all guestrooms of the Inn.

Thank you for your response to our e-mails, we look forward to assisting with your future reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Our first time staying at UConn with our new student. The location can't be beat - it is actually in the campus and was closer to the heart of the campus than our child's dorm. The room was spacious, nicely appointed and clean. Be sure to eat at the Blue Oak restaurant - it was a huge surprise, surpassing our expectations for blah hotel food with delicious meals - from salmon to steak - with creative and tasty preparations. Grilled wild salmon was among the best I've had and a bargain at $20 for an entree. Restaurant menu has a lot of variety and kitchen was flexible and accommodated special dietary needs. The online breakfast special included with the room for around $15 is a bargain - delicious omelette/potatoes/fruit/toast every day. Delicious mixed drinks were perfect after a tiring day moving a student into the dorm. If you stay here you get to park on campus for free and the parking is much closer than the high-rise paid lot. The rooms have a desk and the lamp has extra plugs, perfect for charging phones/ipads/etc. Only one complaint: the pillows were much too hard.

Room Tip: Nice large rooms with two queen beds are very spacious. Ask for a room overlooking the hill/trees...
See more room tips
Green Features: They conserve water/resources by only washing/replacing towels/linens upon request (you place towels on floor or card on bed).
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelWriter08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNathanHaleInn, General Manager at Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your stay at the Inn and we are pleased to see you enjoyed our excellent on campus location.

Our food receives high marks and this make The Blue Oak and True Blue Tavern great choices for overnight guests or local visitors, your comments will passed to the chefs.

We look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Rates are based on supply and demand, I understand that. Wide screen TV was nice! Room itself had several minor structural problems, which I can't imagine that the cleaning and maintenance staff fail to notice every day. We stayed for two nights; room was not cleaned after the first night. Then they tried to charge us for "late checkout" - apparently they messed up the reservation and only had us there for one night. Biggest room for improvement I see is at the front desk.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNathanHaleInn, General Manager at Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thanks for your feedback and your stay and enjoyed our new HD TV's.

We have shared your comments with guest services and look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, USA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We really like the Nathan Hale Inn; we've been there several times now.

The staff is super-friendly, the hotel is clean & comfortable, the food in the onsite restaurant is above average, and the bed & pillows were really comfortable. I also appreciated the strong shower pressure!

The hotel was very busy during our trip though, and they ran out of some basic supplies, such as towels & cots. I'm sure they'll be rectifying this, though.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNathanHaleInn, General Manager at Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thanks for your comments about the super friendly staff and comfortable accommodations. We receive many compliments about the nice pillows and shower pressure.

We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

For $169 a night, the place shouldn't smell, have peeling ceilings in the hallway and bathroom. I am not super picky but when I have to wash all my clothes at the next hotel because the stank was that bad, well...

Room Tip: Choose a chain hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YourDickus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNathanHaleInn, Manager at Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and took advantage of our convenient location!

We have recently installed a Scent Air unit in our lobby like many hotels to add another atmosphere element with a White Blossom Tea fragrance - many have complemented on it. When the pool door is open off the lobby a touch of the chlorine also can be present.

We have completed many of our updating items this year, new lobby seating, Simmons Beautyrest bedding, new pillows, new banquet seating, HD TV's and service in the guestrooms, and carpeting. We have projects that will continue throughout the year!

Once again thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Storrs hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Storrs
16.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford-Manchester
13.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Manchester - Hartford CT
14.7 mi away
Residence Inn Hartford Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Courtyard Hartford Manchester
14.0 mi away
Extended Stay America - Hartford - Manchester
12.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hartford - Vernon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center

Property: Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center
Address: 855 Bolton Rd, Storrs, Mansfield, CT 06268-1719
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Mansfield > Storrs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Storrs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center, located on the historic campus of the top-ranked University of Connecticut in Storrs, and offering visitors a convenient upscale full-service alternative to hotels in Manchester or Hartford. Set in the heart of campus, across from Storrs Center, the Nathan Hale Inn is the perfect destination for alumni, sports enthusiasts, parents and potential students. Whether you are traveling on business or for pleasure, the full-service Nathan Hale Inn is a top choice for hotels in Connecticut. Named after Connecticut's Revolutionary war hero, the Nathan Hale Inn offers sophisticated New England hospitality against a backdrop of rural beauty. We've got the best full-service choices and premium guest rooms for UConn alumni, guest speakers, visiting parents and Husky fans. Hartford and Manchester hotels cannot compare to our unique setting and unbeatable location in the heart of historic University of Connecticut Storrs campus and across from Storrs Center. 100 premium guestrooms at the Nathan Hale Inn & Conference Center provide a convenient base of operations for business travelers or families visiting the University of Connecticut's scenic main campus in Storrs. A full array of services includes high speed internet access, two restaurants with lounge, heated indoor pool and spa, and fitness center. UConn cultural, Storrs Center, and sports events are only steps away. The Nathan Hale Inn is a picture-perfect place to plan your seminar, wedding, reunion or conference, with a personal conference planner at your service. We offer versatile meeting rooms and our elegant three-season pavilion that accommodates up to 250 and the adjacent Rome Commons Ballroom is 10,000 square feet and can host large events within a short walk to Storrs Center. Choose from our Nathan Hale's two full service restaurants for dining experiences that range from elegant to casual, or relax in our lounge. The Nathan Hale Inn is a picture-perfect convenient base of operations while visiting the University and is convenient to the many UConn cultural activities and sports events. A full array of services includes high speed internet access, two restaurants and a lounge, indoor pool, fitness center and Jacuzzi. The Inn is also certified as Green & Sustainable lodging by the state of Connecticut and is a perfect site for Green & Sustainable meetings and conferences. Our location across from Storrs Center can't be beat and our goal to provide you exceptional service makes Nathan Hale Inn the best choice for visitors. Make the Nathan Hale Inn your full-service oasis on campus, with contemporary flair and a convenient alternative to hotels in Manchester and Hartford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nathan Hale Hotel Storrs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing