We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty awful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Storrs
GreenLeadersBronze level
Storrs, CT
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pretty awful”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Cons: borderline awful room. TONS of noise from a clunky heater that sounded like someone was banging and rattling the machinery, which woke us every five minutes when it cycled on. Broken bathroom faucet that could only be on full blast. Missing parts from the toilet. Holes in the walls. Dresser drawers that would not open. Remote did not always work. The mattress was SO bad that it was completely sunken in the center. Cracked tiles in the bathroom. Tons of noise from the students that live there in overflow housing as well as the busloads of student athletes that stay there. Will not stay there again.

Pros: location (on campus, walk to Storrs center with nice restaurants); close parking; nice staff; nice bar.

This was really nice when it first opened and was an actual hotel and not a dorm. It needs a complete overhaul!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SheepishlyGnomie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNathanHaleInn, Manager at Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

We are disapointed there were issues with your room; every room is inspected daily and the issues you mention should not happen and have been corrected. We are proud to be part of the University and during the holiday break we host some student athletes, we are proud of our Huskies!

Also a comprehensive renovation is underway and we are sure you will enjoy the updates.

We appreciate your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    48
    45
    21
    9
See reviews for
70
20
10
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cork
Level Contributor
160 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

stayed there during a conference at UCONN
great staff at the hotel.
rooms were nice clean and modern.
food was good
the bar was an enjoyable experience and was a lovely place to spend an hour or so.
prices were reasonable

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raymond090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNathanHaleInn, General Manager at Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thanks for the comments on our great staff and the atmosphere in the True Blue Tavern.

Please visit us again when on campus, we appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is an odd hotel. People working there are very nice, but at the time I stayed there they seemed to be using one of the floors of the hotel for student overflow housing, so it felt in some ways more like a dorm than a real hotel. I’d booked an executive king, when I went to my room on the 5th floor (around 11:30 p.m.) there was some kind of party going on in the room next-door, door slamming, hordes of college kids going in and out. I went back down to the front desk and asked to be moved to the grown-ups’ section, after some consultation they moved me to a corner of the 2nd floor they said would be quiet (and which was, at least re: party noise). This room was clean but a bit run-down, extremely cranky and loud climate control unit, right above some kind of massive machinery that made the floor vibrate (but at least was a low, constant noise, drowned out when the crazy loud heater was on), shower-tub switcher stuck so it only worked as a shower. Felt a bit like a Best Western, which is fine, but for $159 a night you’d expect a bit more. I guess they have a captive audience.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Zhuangzi_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Storrs hotels

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Stayed here last year, not much has changed since then, front desk clerk seemed indifferent, bed and especially pillows were probably the most uncomfortable I have ever experienced in a hotel. Furnishings are dated, could definitely use a remodel, considering it's been open about 10 years, I think it's about due for one. Housekeeping supervisor seemed unhappy and unfriendly. Very cheap toiletries in the bathrooms. If you are in the area on business, it's adequate I guess. Maybe they have trouble finding helpful, friendly staff?

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the dorm rooms at the hotel unless you enjoy staying at a dorm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lj9972016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

I stayed here while attending a conference at UCONN. My stay was pleasant and my room was very clean. Although not overly friendly, the staff was helpful. I ate at both restaurants and the food was decent and came out quickly. The service for breakfast was sometimes slow to get started as you would sit in the dining room alone until someone from the back noticed a customer had walked in. Once I was acknowledged the service was fine. When I checked in, the first room I was given smelled like dirty feet and mold. My asthma acted up at once so I went back to the front desk and they pleasantly and quickly switched my room. I had no odor or cleanliness issues in the 2nd room. The bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julieannwrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed here while attending conference at UCONN. Convenient, one thing that surprised me was the additional 50 USD charge per day for incidentals that they reimburse when u checkout! Would have like to have known that ahead of time when booked!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breynolds376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

I just spent last weekend in this hotel. Mostly everything was fine except a few things:
My partner and I were getting ready for the wedding, so we had the "no disturb" sign. We read that even with it, at 1pm the hotel wanted you out of the room since they wanted to clean the rooms every day. We had to rush out and were out of the room by 1pm and had to wait for a few hours in the bar downstairs, which was perfectly fine for us if in exchange we could get the room cleaned, new towels, etc... when we came back from the wedding that night, the room was exactly as we had left it... disappointing
The second thing was the service at the bar on the Sunday morning. The girl working there was not very nice and it seemed that I was bothering her by asking thinks like a coffee or fork and knife to eat my lunch... she was much nicer to a group of older people that while I was trying to watch a game in one of the TV managed to get the remote control and disconnect it for a good while... she wasn't that pleased that I asked her if I could continue watching it...
I was also charged twice for the coffee (only realized on my way back home).
I also think that the price after tax (150$) per night (with wedding discount) is well over what the hotel offers.
I will hardly come back there unless it was absolutely necessary.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fausto C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Storrs
16.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford-Manchester
14.7 mi away
Residence Inn Hartford Manchester
13.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Manchester - Hartford CT
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hartford - Vernon
14.7 mi away
Courtyard Hartford Manchester
15.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hartford Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center

Property: Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center
Address: 855 Bolton Rd, Storrs, Mansfield, CT 06268-1719
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Mansfield > Storrs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Storrs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center, located on the historic campus of the top-ranked University of Connecticut in Storrs, and offering visitors a convenient upscale full-service alternative to hotels in Manchester or Hartford. Set in the heart of campus, across from Storrs Center, the Nathan Hale Inn is the perfect destination for alumni, sports enthusiasts, parents and potential students. Whether you are traveling on business or for pleasure, the full-service Nathan Hale Inn is a top choice for hotels in Connecticut. Named after Connecticut's Revolutionary war hero, the Nathan Hale Inn offers sophisticated New England hospitality against a backdrop of rural beauty. We've got the best full-service choices and premium guest rooms for UConn alumni, guest speakers, visiting parents and Husky fans. Hartford and Manchester hotels cannot compare to our unique setting and unbeatable location in the heart of historic University of Connecticut Storrs campus and across from Storrs Center. 100 premium guestrooms at the Nathan Hale Inn & Conference Center provide a convenient base of operations for business travelers or families visiting the University of Connecticut's scenic main campus in Storrs. A full array of services includes high speed internet access, two restaurants with lounge, heated indoor pool and spa, and fitness center. UConn cultural, Storrs Center, and sports events are only steps away. The Nathan Hale Inn is a picture-perfect place to plan your seminar, wedding, reunion or conference, with a personal conference planner at your service. We offer versatile meeting rooms and our elegant three-season pavilion that accommodates up to 250 and the adjacent Rome Commons Ballroom is 10,000 square feet and can host large events within a short walk to Storrs Center. Choose from our Nathan Hale's two full service restaurants for dining experiences that range from elegant to casual, or relax in our lounge. The Nathan Hale Inn is a picture-perfect convenient base of operations while visiting the University and is convenient to the many UConn cultural activities and sports events. A full array of services includes high speed internet access, two restaurants and a lounge, indoor pool, fitness center and Jacuzzi. The Inn is also certified as Green & Sustainable lodging by the state of Connecticut and is a perfect site for Green & Sustainable meetings and conferences. Our location across from Storrs Center can't be beat and our goal to provide you exceptional service makes Nathan Hale Inn the best choice for visitors. Make the Nathan Hale Inn your full-service oasis on campus, with contemporary flair and a convenient alternative to hotels in Manchester and Hartford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nathan Hale Hotel Storrs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing