We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No sweet dreams here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Storrs
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mystic
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“No sweet dreams here”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

This hotel is in need of serious updating, noise-proofing, and a good chef. The rooms are ordinary chain hotel rooms priced higher than most. The restaurant is a sad, lonely, and empty place on weekday nights. The sports bar/cafe has an enticing menu that doesn't translate into enticing food --and you have to down it with no less than three TVs on at the same time. Go upstairs to your room and the noises from the loud air system and the nearby guests kick in (the hotel's many two-queen bedrooms seem designed to pack 'em in). If you find yourself at the Nathan Hale Inn, consider sleeping in the hotel swimming pool, which actually looks nice, or just retire to the back seat of your car in the parking lot. And bring your own supper. And pillows, too --theirs actually bounce!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CMcNabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNathanHaleInn, General Manager at Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 3, 2012
Thanks for your recent visit.

We appreciate your thoughts and will review your concerns with with our team.

Our True Blue Tavern is very popular and we are proud to have the sports tie in with our UConn Huskies; we will review this with the culinary crew so all the items can be reviewed. The Blue Oak dining room is very popular on event nights and when the hotel is sold out.

Our pool area has recently been painted thanks for the comment. We are checking all our in-room heat units for noise and will adjust, sorry about the nieghbors!

Shortly we will have new 37" flat screen TV's in all our rooms to enjoy during a stay.

If you have a moment to call Brian at the hotel (860-427-7888) with your room number and we will have it thouroughly inspected.

Thanks again for your stay and feedback, sorry for the issues on your night with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    53
    45
    22
    9
See reviews for
71
20
10
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed overnight during our annual trip to UCONN for Huskython.

Positives: location is great. It's a brief walk to the Student Union, Gambel, and the Coop. The rooms were extremely clean and fresh smelling.

Negative: once again, we were placed near a room with many teens in them. We had to open the door and ask the girls running up and down the hall to stop and be respectful of others, as our children were trying to sleep. I wish they had a way to separate the families / people who are there to SLEEP from those who are obviously there to party.

The pool was under refurb which was a disappointment to our children. They offered to send us to a community center down the road, but we didn't have the time.

Room Tip: request a room away from the "action" if you are looking to sleep at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelAgentCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNathanHaleInn, General Manager at Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Thank you for your recent trip and we appreciate your repeat stays!

Our pool is now re-opened after receiving a paint job; our ten year anniversary was up and it needed a new Ralph Lauren look! Sorry your stay co-incited with the project. it was the first time our pool has been closed.

There were a few events around campus including the one you attended and it appears some guests were over excited; we try to patrol the halls and respond to all calls to the front desk. Sorry that you were disturbed by the other folks. :(

I am glad you enjoy our location right on campus and we hope to see you again next time and the pool will be open!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State Road, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

I stayed here with a tree crew from NC, cleaning up after the snow caused all the power outages. The room was clean, beds were comfortable and the staff were friendly, nothing really to complain about.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jmwood73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We stayed this past weekend, Freshman move in day. This was our third time staying with the property. It's located on the campus of UCONN. The property location is great, but their house keeping can use some work. Towels in bathroom had hair all over them and the bathroom was not all that clean. Service was very slow in the restaurant. They also charge you $7.50 to self park in their lot. I wish there was another decent hotel around. But in any event, the operation of this hotel needs to be reviewed by management.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank DaveVNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNathanHaleInn, Manager at Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Thank you for your report, fall move in is always a very busy time. We share all comments with staff to focus our efforts!

The hurricane Irene weekend made things very hectic as preparations were being made and schedule adjustments were needed. Please consider another stay in the future to enjoy the conveneince of being directly on campus!

Thank you for your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Storrs hotels

New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Our family of four stayed here for a college visit and it was fine for this purpose. No complaints and nothing special to report.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wetravelwithkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed here previously and usually enjoyed it but during this visit noticed that it appears much of the property is being used as a dorm for students, not really what you would expect for a somewhat expensive (for the area) hotel. I mean, when you stay at a hotel, you don't expect that you will be placed among a group of rooms where college students are residing. In addition, the rooms are badly in need of an update, carpet is old and stained in places and the furnishings leave much to be desired. Also, room service charges an excessive amount with a 20% gratuity as well as a $2.00 service charge per order, even hotels in NYC do not charge that much, and they include the service charge and tax with what they calculate the mandatory 20% gratuity on. The staff could also be more courteous; one of the housekeepers was particularly unpleasant, even barging in on us when the do not disturb sign was on. Let's hope they turn things around as the location is good and we hope to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lj9972016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNathanHaleInn, Manager at Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Thank you for your time to provide you feedback and comments!

Being located on the top ranked UConn campus is the most convenient location when visiting. The Inn also compliments the Universities many programs and one is hosting international student groups in the summer and we are pleased to play our part and host these students.

We have some updates in the planning in addition to the upgrades already in place. We hope to have new TV's and in room refridgerators installed soon.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to see the changes.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

I've been coming to the Nathan Hale Inn since it opened several years ago. It's a better hotel now than it has ever been and the location can't be beat -- the heart of Storrs, someplace which has never been served by any hotel before. The staff is helpful and friendly; the management does its best to make sure that everybody is taken care of. The restaurant, which used to be one of the weakest spots of the hotel, now serves a terrific breakfast (I haven't eaten lunch or dinner there in a while). The rack price still seems a little high to me, but there are off-peak weeks where a much more reasonable rate is offered. This is certainly the place to stay in the Storrs area -- the closest good hotel is in Hartford, which is an increasingly dreary place.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baltimorecal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNathanHaleInn, Manager at Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Thank you for your feedback and kind words.

We look forward to your next visit in our area. Remeber if the timing works there are many great arts performances and venues and athletic events on campus, go Huskies!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Storrs
16.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford-Manchester
14.7 mi away
Residence Inn Hartford Manchester
13.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Manchester - Hartford CT
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hartford - Vernon
14.7 mi away
Courtyard Hartford Manchester
15.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hartford Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center

Property: Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center
Address: 855 Bolton Rd, Storrs, Mansfield, CT 06268-1719
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Mansfield > Storrs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Storrs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center, located on the historic campus of the top-ranked University of Connecticut in Storrs, and offering visitors a convenient upscale full-service alternative to hotels in Manchester or Hartford. Set in the heart of campus, across from Storrs Center, the Nathan Hale Inn is the perfect destination for alumni, sports enthusiasts, parents and potential students. Whether you are traveling on business or for pleasure, the full-service Nathan Hale Inn is a top choice for hotels in Connecticut. Named after Connecticut's Revolutionary war hero, the Nathan Hale Inn offers sophisticated New England hospitality against a backdrop of rural beauty. We've got the best full-service choices and premium guest rooms for UConn alumni, guest speakers, visiting parents and Husky fans. Hartford and Manchester hotels cannot compare to our unique setting and unbeatable location in the heart of historic University of Connecticut Storrs campus and across from Storrs Center. 100 premium guestrooms at the Nathan Hale Inn & Conference Center provide a convenient base of operations for business travelers or families visiting the University of Connecticut's scenic main campus in Storrs. A full array of services includes high speed internet access, two restaurants with lounge, heated indoor pool and spa, and fitness center. UConn cultural, Storrs Center, and sports events are only steps away. The Nathan Hale Inn is a picture-perfect place to plan your seminar, wedding, reunion or conference, with a personal conference planner at your service. We offer versatile meeting rooms and our elegant three-season pavilion that accommodates up to 250 and the adjacent Rome Commons Ballroom is 10,000 square feet and can host large events within a short walk to Storrs Center. Choose from our Nathan Hale's two full service restaurants for dining experiences that range from elegant to casual, or relax in our lounge. The Nathan Hale Inn is a picture-perfect convenient base of operations while visiting the University and is convenient to the many UConn cultural activities and sports events. A full array of services includes high speed internet access, two restaurants and a lounge, indoor pool, fitness center and Jacuzzi. The Inn is also certified as Green & Sustainable lodging by the state of Connecticut and is a perfect site for Green & Sustainable meetings and conferences. Our location across from Storrs Center can't be beat and our goal to provide you exceptional service makes Nathan Hale Inn the best choice for visitors. Make the Nathan Hale Inn your full-service oasis on campus, with contemporary flair and a convenient alternative to hotels in Manchester and Hartford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nathan Hale Hotel Storrs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing