We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for the Purpose”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Storrs
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“OK for the Purpose”
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Our family of four stayed here for a college visit and it was fine for this purpose. No complaints and nothing special to report.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wetravelwithkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    55
    49
    22
    11
See reviews for
73
21
10
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed here previously and usually enjoyed it but during this visit noticed that it appears much of the property is being used as a dorm for students, not really what you would expect for a somewhat expensive (for the area) hotel. I mean, when you stay at a hotel, you don't expect that you will be placed among a group of rooms where college students are residing. In addition, the rooms are badly in need of an update, carpet is old and stained in places and the furnishings leave much to be desired. Also, room service charges an excessive amount with a 20% gratuity as well as a $2.00 service charge per order, even hotels in NYC do not charge that much, and they include the service charge and tax with what they calculate the mandatory 20% gratuity on. The staff could also be more courteous; one of the housekeepers was particularly unpleasant, even barging in on us when the do not disturb sign was on. Let's hope they turn things around as the location is good and we hope to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lj9972016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNathanHaleInn, Manager at Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Thank you for your time to provide you feedback and comments!

Being located on the top ranked UConn campus is the most convenient location when visiting. The Inn also compliments the Universities many programs and one is hosting international student groups in the summer and we are pleased to play our part and host these students.

We have some updates in the planning in addition to the upgrades already in place. We hope to have new TV's and in room refridgerators installed soon.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to see the changes.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

I've been coming to the Nathan Hale Inn since it opened several years ago. It's a better hotel now than it has ever been and the location can't be beat -- the heart of Storrs, someplace which has never been served by any hotel before. The staff is helpful and friendly; the management does its best to make sure that everybody is taken care of. The restaurant, which used to be one of the weakest spots of the hotel, now serves a terrific breakfast (I haven't eaten lunch or dinner there in a while). The rack price still seems a little high to me, but there are off-peak weeks where a much more reasonable rate is offered. This is certainly the place to stay in the Storrs area -- the closest good hotel is in Hartford, which is an increasingly dreary place.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baltimorecal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNathanHaleInn, Manager at Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Thank you for your feedback and kind words.

We look forward to your next visit in our area. Remeber if the timing works there are many great arts performances and venues and athletic events on campus, go Huskies!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

When you need to be on the UConn campus early in the morning, or for a graduation, etc. The Nathan Hale Inn is the only game in town. Literally, they are the only hotel that is directly on campus.

Pros:

• Location, location, location
• Well kept, neat hotel
• Indoor pool

Cons:

• They began noisy construction under our window at 7am
• The price, $163 (higher at other times of year), is much more than you’d pay if you don’t need to be right on campus. The Baymont in Manchester (there are many such hotels in Manchester and Vernon, about minutes from campus) is nearly $100 less.
• No continental breakfast. We were told there were 2 restaurants but in fact one was open and breakfast for three was $30. Not terrible, but again, other hotels have continental breakfasts included in the price
• $8.00 for parking (Really? Is this Boston or NYC?). No other hotels in the area charge for parking
• The TV was sub par, with no hook ups for a DVD player. Most hotels today have TVs that, even if they’re not flat screen, have A/V connections
• Pillows were rock hard

In summary, if you absolutely have to be on the UConn Storres campus, this is your only option. Otherwise, save yourself money and stay in nearby Manchester or Vernon.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fairbanks2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNathanHaleInn, Manager at Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and comments, we use them to focus on our efforts!

We enjoy playing our part at the top ranked University of Connecticut and are pleased to provide a convenient location and dining options.

We had some roof repairs during your stay and the schedule was for a start not before 10:00 AM. A sub joined the project and did not get the info, we are sorry for the interruption during your stay. Future work will take this into account.

Thanks again, we hope to have you as a guest on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2011

Stayed at this hotel with my daughter while we were visiting UCONN. Our total bill with the parking fee (seriously?), the parking tax and state tax was over $176 for one night. We ate dinner at the Tavern. The food was horrible. Then we had to eat breakfast at the Tavern too because the Blue Oak restaurant was under renovations; breakfast was okay, not great, certainly better than dinner. There were signs everywhere on various rooms "under renovations". When we were leaving, we took up one of the luggage racks, left it outside our room for 5 minutes. When we came out with our bags to load up the cart it was gone! So we lugged all our bags downstairs. I mentioned it to the woman at the desk upon checkout. No response at all. Also when we left, only one side of the elevator was operating. There was yet another not on the other side of the elevator "out of order". Enough with the signs already. The only highlight of the trip was the maintenance guy who answered a call to fix our deadbolt. He arrived within minutes, was pleasant and professional and fixed the issue. Best service and attitude we had while we were there. Good news for him, with all the signs, he's guaranteed employment! Also the beds were comfortable and it was very quiet for sleeping.

But, if you can find another place to stay go there!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2sweet2bspoiled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Storrs hotels

Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 25, 2010

My semester long stay at the Nathan Hale Inn can described in a word as "excellent". Combined with an ideal location directly on campus and a very helpful staff, the Nathan Hale Inn was a far better choice than any of the dormitories on campus (or off campus for that matter).

In hotel amenities such as the gym and pool provided a great relaxation spot when the school gym became too crowded or too far. Also, the Blue Oak Tavern provided a great place to entertain guests.

Most importantly however, was the friendliness of the staff and management. They were always willing to help resolve any potential issues in a swift and professional manner.

My stay was great, and perhaps it's what helped me get straight A's that semester.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivankrasnov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2010

I chose the Nathan Hale Inn because it was a short walk from the bus which connects Hartford to Storrs. The hotel is located on the University of Connecticut campus. The bus stop is the campus bookstore/coop, which has a convenience store, cafe, gift and bookstore stocking everything from aspirin to zodiac related gifts. The Nathan Hale Inn also provides grooming necessities you may have left home. Every member of the staff I encountered during my stay was friendly and helpful, every question was answered, every need met. The beds were especially comfortable, and guests could set the room temperature to their preference. I ordered from room service on my first night - a great meal, promptly delivered. There are two restaurants in the hotel, one which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, and a tavern with a sports bar feel, which has a large menu. The waitress could tell that I was in a bit of a hurry when I ate there, and my sandwich and side order were delivered quickly, as was my check. I returned there at closing time after an evening out, craving coffee and dessert. Although it wasn't on the menu, the bartender produced a large slice of lemon meringue pie. What more could you want from a hotel?

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Newmannoggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Storrs
16.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford-Manchester
13.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Manchester - Hartford CT
14.7 mi away
Residence Inn Hartford Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Courtyard Hartford Manchester
12.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hartford - Vernon
15.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hartford Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center

Property: Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center
Address: 855 Bolton Rd, Storrs, Mansfield, CT 06268-1719
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Mansfield > Storrs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Storrs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center, located on the historic campus of the top-ranked University of Connecticut in Storrs, and offering visitors a convenient upscale full-service alternative to hotels in Manchester or Hartford. Set in the heart of campus, across from Storrs Center, the Nathan Hale Inn is the perfect destination for alumni, sports enthusiasts, parents and potential students. Whether you are traveling on business or for pleasure, the full-service Nathan Hale Inn is a top choice for hotels in Connecticut. Named after Connecticut's Revolutionary war hero, the Nathan Hale Inn offers sophisticated New England hospitality against a backdrop of rural beauty. We've got the best full-service choices and premium guest rooms for UConn alumni, guest speakers, visiting parents and Husky fans. Hartford and Manchester hotels cannot compare to our unique setting and unbeatable location in the heart of historic University of Connecticut Storrs campus and across from Storrs Center. 100 premium guestrooms at the Nathan Hale Inn & Conference Center provide a convenient base of operations for business travelers or families visiting the University of Connecticut's scenic main campus in Storrs. A full array of services includes high speed internet access, two restaurants with lounge, heated indoor pool and spa, and fitness center. UConn cultural, Storrs Center, and sports events are only steps away. The Nathan Hale Inn is a picture-perfect place to plan your seminar, wedding, reunion or conference, with a personal conference planner at your service. We offer versatile meeting rooms and our elegant three-season pavilion that accommodates up to 250 and the adjacent Rome Commons Ballroom is 10,000 square feet and can host large events within a short walk to Storrs Center. Choose from our Nathan Hale's two full service restaurants for dining experiences that range from elegant to casual, or relax in our lounge. The Nathan Hale Inn is a picture-perfect convenient base of operations while visiting the University and is convenient to the many UConn cultural activities and sports events. A full array of services includes high speed internet access, two restaurants and a lounge, indoor pool, fitness center and Jacuzzi. The Inn is also certified as Green & Sustainable lodging by the state of Connecticut and is a perfect site for Green & Sustainable meetings and conferences. Our location across from Storrs Center can't be beat and our goal to provide you exceptional service makes Nathan Hale Inn the best choice for visitors. Make the Nathan Hale Inn your full-service oasis on campus, with contemporary flair and a convenient alternative to hotels in Manchester and Hartford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nathan Hale Hotel Storrs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing