We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I don't like paying for tastings!”

Stonington Vineyards
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Stonington
Certificate of Excellence
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
499 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“I don't like paying for tastings!”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Coming from Australia, the concept of paying for wine tasting when visiting vineyards just doesn't work for me. To charge US$12.00 for 6 mouthfuls of 6 different wines really irks me! Especially when 4 of the wines were poor and only 2 were good. The unoaked Chardonnay and the Riesling were very good, the rest were pure trash. But compared to wines from Australia, New Zealand, France, Italy, Spain, Portugal, Canada, west coast USA or Hungary....... Connecticut wines just don't compare and yet they are still well over US$20 for a bottle.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mutiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    51
    18
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Nice vineyard - excellent service”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My friend's and I traveled here to celebrate our friend's 30th birthday. We each did a wine tasting that included 6 different wines (pretty standard). The wine is very similar to other CT wines found throughout the state. We loved the guy who poured us the wine - he was very personable and talkative. He gave us great suggestions and explained the wine in detail. At some vineyards you get people who either don't know anything about the wine (I've had workers say they don't like wine) or people who are a little rude, but at Stonington we found good service. The place is doing some renovations outside, but they still have their deck and gazebo open. We brought a variety of food to enjoy with a bottle of wine.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tigg189074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wine was very good, excellent and personable workers”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This winery is down a long road (that is not paved).

The girl that hosted the tasting was very nice and personable. We really enjoyed spending time with her.

It is our understanding that the winery will be undergoing major renovations during this off season. The renovations will make this place even better.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bib28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Take the tour”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Looks wise, the place is o.k., but the tour of the winemaking facility makes up for it. The wines are good, tasting prices are slightly high (but normal for this area).

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank eamorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Average wine-high priced”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We spent an afternoon there and enjoyed the wine. I felt it was a little high priced though for the quantity and not exactly a fancy location.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank natesmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stonington Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to Stonington Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing