We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Water Street Cafe

Water Street Cafe
Ranked #5 of 27 Restaurants in Stonington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stonington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Went to Water Street Cafe last night for an early dinner. Early is key for a site that gets busy quickly. We shared the fried clam appetizer . The clams, breaded in cornmeal, we probably the best we have ever tasted. In an area where one trips over clam shacks, this is saying something. My dinner was the shrimp lo mien. Fresh, tasty and filling. My husband loved the mussels and pasta. The meals left no room for dessert.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    65
    22
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stonington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Always a great meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Wonderful hometown favorite. Go there often for lunch and dinner. Always great food, fairly priced, friendly, efficient staff.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie11011209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic,Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We went to the Water Street Cafe to celebrate my husband's birthday. I called ahead that day, but there was no answer so I left a message. An employee, Ray, called me back later and took our names for a "call ahead" priority. We were seated immediately upon ariival. I cannot say enough nice things about the TOTAL experience. The waiter, the same Ray, was suberb, the live music was delightful and appropriate, and the food was excellent. This place is an absolute treasure for our area. We live in Mystic and not only will we return, but we will most assuredly be recommending it to others. A hearty "thank you" to the Water Street Cafe!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NAM34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gales Ferry, Connecticut
2 reviews
“Favorite of all in S.E. CT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Cuisine is consistently top notch, wait staff always attentive, friendly and knowledgeable. Quiet homey atmosphere. Did I mention the cuisine? The best.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChrisL885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MYSTIC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“best sunday brunch ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Love this place for Sunday brunch which is classy, yet reasonably priced. A favorite for locals. Located in the heart of scenic Stonington Village. Can't miss here.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank ConnecticutSunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Water Street Cafe also viewed

 
Stonington, CT
 

Been to Water Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing