We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top stonington ct restaurant”
Review of Water Street Cafe

Water Street Cafe
Ranked #6 of 28 Restaurants in Stonington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery
Groton, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“top stonington ct restaurant”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

this is a consistent regional winner of repeat business from devotees of fine food if you cannot get in go to Noahs.

Helpful?
1 Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    69
    24
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roxbury, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Consistently good, with reasonable prices............”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stonington's Water Street Cafe offers consistently good food at reasonable prices. I have been coming for years, and if anything the restaurant has improved over time. It has evolved, offering now a menu with daily specials that include drinks - I enjoyed the seasonal pumpkin ale! - raw bar offerings of the day, several hot entrees and a dessert special. The regular menu offers some of the cafe's golden oldies: a superb bowl of chili with sour cream and melted cheese, and a tuna tartare. One of my favorites - the sweet and sour rack of ribs - has been replaced by sweet and sour brisket served on peanut noodles. Delicious. The ribs will be back, I was told, when the price of pork comes back to earth. Service is friendly, but the kitchen is small and there can be delays. Due to the restaurant's popularity and its no reservations policy, Water Street Cafe can become very crowded at peak times, with a wait for tables. Arriving early or later in the evening may be necessary.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldtraveler06783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“My favorite place for dinner...”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have been going to the Water Street Cafe for about 25 years. The atmosphere is warm and welcoming and even if we don't know a soul in the place, it always feels like we're meeting up with friends. The food was very good as usual --- yes, the tuna is the best but don't be like my husband and ONLY get the tuna. There are other dishes that are wonderful. I like the hanger steak and they do something with their chicken that is wonderful. I also like some of their fish/asian dishes that will often come in a bowl with miso broth and noodles, etc. Having said all those wonderful things, and in the interest of full disclosure, I was a little disappointed when we went a couple of weeks ago -- for my birthday no less. It must have been a very off night. Our waitress (I think she was new) was nice but she confused my husbands question about a dish with what he actually ordered. The kitchen was also a bit slow to get our dinner to us.... I guess the party of 16 that gathered in the back monopolized their time. It must be difficult to coordinate dinner for 16 as well as other orders but...guess what....I don't care. The owner quickly made things right so I'm not dinging them for this mis-step. It is still my absolute favorite place to go .

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joyce c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Exceptional Tuna”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I went with my significant other to the Water Street Cafe for the first time on Saturday, October 20th. I had the "Seared" "rare " Yellowfin Tuna, with wasabi dipping sauce. It was the best tuna i have ever had. The tuna was served on a bed of rice, topped with shaved cucumber and othee vegetables that i am not sure what they were. It didn't matter the combination of textures and taste was excellent. My companion had a cod special that he also enjoyed. It was very busy witha lot of regulars. I would love to go there again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena MD
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Real disappointment”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Having read several reviews about this cafe my wife and I decided to try it for dinner. We were very disappointed. The menu was rather limited but expected. The meals we selected seemed to take forever to come to our table as we watched others receive their food having ordered well after we did. Our server was not attentive at all. Several times we had to find another server and ask them to find our server. It seems he was preoccupied waiting on a table of eight plus persons. When he did come to our table, he was very short with us, acting as though we were interrupting him. Our food, when we finally were served, was very bland to the point of being tastless. Because the resturant was packed, the only table available was next to the entrance door which meant everytime someone came in, we were treated to a blast of damp cold air. While waiting for our table we were directed to the "oyster Bar" at the back of the resturant. In retrospect, after seeing the disorganized and borderline dirty area they call the "oyster bar", we should have left and found another restaurant. If you wanted something to drink while you were waiting for a table, you had to go to the actual bar and wait for the bartender to notice you. Even trying to get a beer turned out to be disappointing as they were out of several of the local drafts. All in all the experience was very dissatisfying.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AFsilverfox52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Water Street Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Water Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing