We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect romantic getaway”
Review of Inn at Stonington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn at Stonington
Ranked #1 of 3 Stonington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 14, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights, in one of the rooms facing the harbor. The inn is beautifully decorated, very clean, and well-maintained. The nightly wine and cheese gathering was tons of fun. It gave us the opportunity to chat with the other travelers and innkeepers. The bed was very comfortable, and most rooms have a jacuzzi and fireplace. Breakfast is continental, consisting of cereals, scones, toast, muffins, and yummy homemade cakes. The town of Stonington is ADORABLE...quintessential New England charm. We had two delicious meals at Milagro and Water Street Cafe. The inn is a 10 minute drive to Mystic and about 15-20 minutes from the Jonathan Edwards Winery. We went for a tasting and tour at the winery and were so impressed by the friendly, knowledgeable staff and delicious wine. It was a great weekend and we will definitely return. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amytz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (367)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 367 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2009

My boyfriend (now fiancee) picked the Inn at Stonington based on reviews on Tripadvisor, and we couldn't have been happier, so I am here to return the favor!

We actually got engaged at the Inn, and in planning his proposal, he worked closely with the staff at the Inn and we both cannot say enough how wonderful they were. He had mailed them pictures of us in frames, and when we arrived, they had placed them around the room along with a beautiful arrangement of flowers. I was extremely surprised!

Then, we went downstairs for wine and cheese, and everyone that worked there was so friendly and welcoming. It was hands down the happiest day of my life. I can't thank them enough for all they did.

Now about the room, we had room number 7 which was absolutely beautiful. There's a balcony and you can look out at the water and watch the boats sail by. Also there is a fireplace and jacuzzi tub, and the bed is extremely comfortable! The Inn is very cozy and warm and is within walking distance of a little beach and some great restaurants.

To the fantastic staff at the Inn: Thank you so much! We will definitely stay there again in the future!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karjgr16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Inn for our wedding anniversary. We got married in Stonington so it is a special place for us. The inn made our weekend even more wonderful that we could have imagined. The room was cozy and comfortable, absolutely perfect for a relaxing weekend away. Throughout our weekend we were told that the inn was booked but we only came across other guests at the wine and cheese cocktail hour they host every night. The inn feels like you are staying at a family house, its comfortable and quiet and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deirdrec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

We were greeted at check-in by Susan. She was pleaant and efficient. She detailed all of the hotel features and introduced us to some spledid, quaint restaurant options. .Our cozy room had a view of the LI Sound. It had a fireplace, jacuzzi tub, large shower with plush terry robes. The tastfully decorated bedroom area included a most comfortable bed with soft linens and down comforter. This place is a gem and a tidden treasure!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoandBuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2009

This was our first stay after seeing the Inn last year on our trip to Stonington. In 2008, we were shown a room, #3 Seaside King, and requested it for this year's trip. Upon arrival, we were greeted by Susan and Lesley and shown to our room immediately. We have to say that each of them were so pleasant and helpful in our stay at the Inn! The Inn is located close to one of our favorite restaurants, The Skippers Dock (we ate there 3 times during our stay), and the view from our room of the water and sailboats made the stay ever more enjoyable. We our frequent visitors to Stonington and enjoy the quaint town with its beautiful residences along Water Street. Just a quick drive of 3 miles to Mystic too! Susan helped secure 2 bicycles for us one day and we had a great time biking around the town and viewing the historic buildings and residences. The hotel provides a complimentary breakfast of coffee, juice, pastries, fruit, cereals from 8-10 am each morning. Take your breakfast to the veranda outdoors and enjoy watching the harbor area as you start your day! Also, the hotel provides wine and cheese each day from 6-7pm and it is a great way to meet the other guests! There is an all purpose room for hotel guests on the 3rd floor that is a large room with furniture....access it for great views of the harbor! There is also a computer and printer for your use...we printed our boarding passes for our trip home. We would highly recommend anyone to stay here and we have already booked our week for 2010! Thanks Susan and Lesley for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wc1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2009

My husband and I made a last minute reservation for two nights at The Inn at Stonington. We had a wonderul time. The inn is beautiful, our room in the Annex was quite large and tastefully decorated. We thought breakfasts were plentiful, buffet style with fruit, breads, danishes, juice, cereals, hard boiled eggs, etc.

The view from the back porch was very nice and the town of Stonington is great for walking or biking (the inn supplies bicycles). The staff at the front desk and at breakfast were warm, friendly and very helpful.

We drove to New London for the high-speed Block Island ferry one day which was very nice. Hadn't been there in a few years. Enjoyed shopping, lunch and ice cream!!

I will certainly recommend The Inn at Stonington to friends and family who want an enjoyable and relaxing experience in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mval23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2009

We stayed in the annex, on the street side. Although noisy in the daytime, the room was quite large, beautifully appointed, and spotlessly clean. A friendly group of guests gathered for wine and cheese in the evening, and the next morning, breakfast was served in a bright sunny day common room with a view to the harbor. We enjoyed our stay, and our brief time in Stonington.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LJman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stonington
3.5 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#1 of 13 in Mystic
753 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
911 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
769 reviews
23.3 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
760 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Stonington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Stonington

Address: 60 Water St, Stonington, CT 06378-1423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stonington
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Stonington
Price Range: $222 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Stonington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Stonington is a Stonington Connecticut Bed & Breakfast located directly on the waterfront in the heart of Stonington Borough. Since opening, the Inn has been featured as 'Travel and Leisures' Inn of the Month and has also appeared in 'Coastal Living,''New York Times,''Boston Globe,''New York Magazine,''Boston Magazine,' and 'Delta Sky.' Untouched by commercialism, this charming village is one of the few surviving New England seaside towns that has retained much of its 17th and 18th century flavor. Classic examples of Colonial, Greek Revival and Federal architecture can be enjoyed on a stroll down any of its quiet, tree-lined streets. During your stay with us, be sure to take in "The Borough's" variety of restaurants, antique and gift shops, and galleries - all within walking distance from our beautiful Stonington Connecticut Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Inn at Stonington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Stonington Hotel Stonington
Stonington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing