We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of an Inn”
Review of Inn at Stonington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn at Stonington
Ranked #1 of 3 Stonington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ventura, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A gem of an Inn”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

What an wonderful place to stay. We had great service from making our reservations to checking in to having our morning breakfast and then checking out.
Our room was bright, clean & had an incredible view of the harbor. Would definitely stay here again & will reccommend to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank venturagirls2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    50
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
262
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hornby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stonington is a charming town with a good range of local shops and restaurants - only a short walk from the Inn. There is also plenty to see and do in the area. The Inn is well appointed with pleasant public areas and is run in a very efficient; yet 'low-key' manner. The staff could not be more friendly or helpful; but were never intrusive. Our room was nicely furnished and maintained and the housekeeping/cleanliness was quite excellent. A really superior Inn, in a great location; we would love to stay here again and have already recommended it strongly to a number of friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodbury,CT
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

An exceptional place to stay! The Inn is just gorgeous, quiet and a perfect place to relax. The living room overlooks the harbor and is lovely and felled with sun. Perfect place to watch the comings and goings in the harbor or gaze at the sunset. There's a beautiful fireplace topped with a gorgeous mantle. Comfortable couches invite you to sit a while. Continental breakfasts are served in the adjoining "bar" each day and the scones, cinnamon rolls and fresh fruit were delicious. We stayed in room 5, lovely. The room was beautiful and spacious. The gas fireplace added just the right touch. We had a small balcony, just the right size for us to sit and sip a drink and watch the sun slip below the sea. Our room, like every part of the inn was immaculate. Our bed was so comfortable. The linens were top quality....and the bathroom, spalike.
In addition to the comfort and beauty of the inn, the staff was wonderful. Knowing it was a special occasion, Susan offered to help in any way she could and arranged a sailboat charter for the afternoon for us. ( she was prompt in answering emails) It added to the joy and celebration of the weekend. She chatted with us and offered great restaurant recommendations.
Can't wait to return to this charming inn.

Room Tip: We had a room in the back of the inn...I think rooms facing the front might be a bit noisy in the su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathym70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Spring, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed here with my husband for a long weekend and loved it! While traveling back from R.I. two years ago we stopped in Stonington, loved what we saw and said "We'll be back" and we are glad we did. The Stonington Inn is a perfect place to stop for a few nights. We stayed in room 12 on the 2nd floor and it was just so cute and cozy and clean. Wine and cheese was served in the late afternoon at the bar and it was quite good. While sipping wine we meet other people, some of which were regulars to the Inn. Sue, was a great help and a joy speaking to while having coffee in the morning with delicious scones and fresh baked breakfast breads. It was a joy just walking around town and seeing the old homes that were so beautifully kept. Local restaurants are a real treat as well. Our first night there we ate at the Dog Watch Cafe which was great and a fun place. For lunch the next day we ate at Noah's which was also a nice place and right down the street from the Inn. A great find was the Ocean House (Watch Hill R.I.) which was absolutely beautiful, we stopped there for Bellini's. While there we walked around the grounds which were breathtaking and right out of a movie. Unfortunately for us its not an affordable place to stay but a great place to stop for a drink. Another great place for dinner was the Daniel Packer Inn (Mystic) the food was wonderful and the place itself was so old and interesting. Looking forward to our next relaxing stay in Stonington...........

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Filis603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTHINGTON
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

My husband took me here for my birthday....we stayed one night. The Inn offered a "date night" package.....room, chocolate covered strawberries, wine and cheese, dinner voucher and breakfast!!! Our room was clean and just lovely....we loved being able to walk to bars and restaurants. We will definitely be back!!!

The only negative would be the bed....it was not super comfortable....an upgrade would make it a perfect 10!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the annex on the village side...I would love to check out the water view rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathiSouthington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Connecticut, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and I attended a silent auction and won a free night at the Inn. From the beginning of booking the room to check-out, all staff we encountered were nothing but fantastic. Dori set up the appointment with me over the phone and I had the pleasure of meeting her at check-out. She and the other two ladies with whom we communicated with were great; very friendly and could not do enough for us. Our room was great, a seaside view, fireplace - what more could you ask for! Free wine and cheese that evening was a bonus and the complimentary breakfast was delicious. Make sure you ask for a homemade smoothie - what a treat!

Ultimately, we cannot wait to book our next stay!

Room Tip: Ask for seaside with a fireplace! You will not be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDZS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new hamshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The Inn was what we had hoped. The staff was excellent,and couldn't have been more accommodating We loved the quaintness of the village, and the historical homes. We will definitely
be back. The next time we will choose a 2nd. floor suite, as it was a little noisy on the 1st. floor, but certainly did not spoil anything for us. Looking forward to our next visit. Everything was in walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harleymanNewHamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stonington
3.0 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
698 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#2 of 13 in Mystic
693 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Pleasant View Inn
Pleasant View Inn
#2 of 6 in Misquamicut
312 reviews
23.3 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
720 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Stonington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Stonington

Property: Inn at Stonington
Address: 60 Water St, Stonington, CT 06378-1423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stonington
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Stonington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Stonington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Stonington is a Stonington Connecticut Bed & Breakfast located directly on the waterfront in the heart of Stonington Borough. Since opening, the Inn has been featured as 'Travel and Leisures' Inn of the Month and has also appeared in 'Coastal Living,''New York Times,''Boston Globe,''New York Magazine,''Boston Magazine,' and 'Delta Sky.' Untouched by commercialism, this charming village is one of the few surviving New England seaside towns that has retained much of its 17th and 18th century flavor. Classic examples of Colonial, Greek Revival and Federal architecture can be enjoyed on a stroll down any of its quiet, tree-lined streets. During your stay with us, be sure to take in "The Borough's" variety of restaurants, antique and gift shops, and galleries - all within walking distance from our beautiful Stonington Connecticut Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Inn at Stonington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Stonington Hotel Stonington
Stonington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing