We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting and hotel”
Review of Inn at Stonington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn at Stonington
Ranked #1 of 3 Stonington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting and hotel”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We had a really lovely room here for one night on our way to Boston. The hotel is in a great position with fantastic views out over the ocean. The view from our room was beautiful. The town is so quaint and was easily walked in about 45 minutes. The cheese and wine in the evening was such a good idea as you get to meet your fellow guests and pick up useful information on where to eat. We were going to Skippers dock but (as they had a big booking all afternoon) the kitchen was closed so we went to The Water Cafe (as suggested by the nice lady serving the cheese and wine) which was really great. A very nice hotel and stay.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manytravels_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    50
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
261
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The hotel, setting and town are wonderful. What gave it the 'special touch' was the friendly, attentive and resourceful staff. I organized a birthday weekend for my twin sister and myself. Joining us were my partner and my older sister and her husband

Room Tip: all rooms I saw were inviting and well appointed. I especially like the rooms on the upper level fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rob w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We'd considered staying in Mystic on our short road-trip, but glad that we chose Stonington. Very picturesque town, easy to walk around and admire the homes. The Inn was very central with easy parking. Complimentary wine and cheese on arrival and some good tips from the friendly staff as to where to eat in the evening. A beautiful room with fire and comfy chairs and bed. Excellent bathroom with jacuzzi-bath! Nice public area and outdoor deck. Breakfast was a continental buffet, but perfect after a couple of weeks' super-huge breakfasts elsewhere. One of the better places we've stayed on trips Stateside, highly recommended.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank cumbrian1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I can't say enough about this place! I took my mother here for a girl's trip to Newport, RI and we then stayed here for a couple days. I ended up scoring a great rate on Jetsetter and was blown away. The borough of Stonington is so charming (it along with the Inn was recently used in filiming Hope Springs) and the Inn is perfection. The view from our room was stunning and the appointments in the room were beautiful! We loved the working fireplace and large tub, it would be perfect for a couple's weekend. We arrived to the Inn after their wine and cheese hour, but Dori was wonderful in still letting us partake. We had a bunch of leftover food from lunch and she even allowed us to use their kitchen to reheat it for dinner.

Breakfast is a beautiful spread and the winse and cheese cocktail hour was a lot of fun and delicious as well! My mom and I had a great time in Stoningtin and this beautiful Inn. Loved it!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Crstina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena MD
Level Contributor
164 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Wife and I spent the first night of our trip staying at the Inn at Stonington. We had visited the B&B on previous visits to Stonington but had never stayed overnight. Our room was nice. New England decor with fireplace. The room had a nice view of the public square. The bed however was very creaky. The slightest movement made the bed shift. They had a nice wine and cheese reception in the evening as well as pastry and coffee breakfast. The staff were very friendly. Not a hotel for kids.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AFsilverfox52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed 2 nights.Room beautiful-AS ADVERTISED- service excellent,staff always helpful and cordial.we will return.
Staff went out of their way to suggest local sights and eateries.
Room was well appointed and matched original description.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catsailor0044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Mystic, Connecticut, and nearby Stonington Borough, have a great deal of charm. Having been there many time, staying in inns and B&B's that never seemed to measure up, it was wonderful to find the Inn at Stonington. Everything about the stay was pleasant, from the reservation call with Lesley (sp?) and friendly, attentive service from Ann, to the spotlessly clean interior, beautiful views of the harbor, excellent breadfast spread, and a very comfortable, quiet room. From now on, this is the place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stonington
3.0 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
692 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#2 of 13 in Mystic
679 reviews
23.3 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
3.7 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
817 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Stonington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Stonington

Property: Inn at Stonington
Address: 60 Water St, Stonington, CT 06378-1423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stonington
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Stonington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Stonington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Stonington is a Stonington Connecticut Bed & Breakfast located directly on the waterfront in the heart of Stonington Borough. Since opening, the Inn has been featured as 'Travel and Leisures' Inn of the Month and has also appeared in 'Coastal Living,''New York Times,''Boston Globe,''New York Magazine,''Boston Magazine,' and 'Delta Sky.' Untouched by commercialism, this charming village is one of the few surviving New England seaside towns that has retained much of its 17th and 18th century flavor. Classic examples of Colonial, Greek Revival and Federal architecture can be enjoyed on a stroll down any of its quiet, tree-lined streets. During your stay with us, be sure to take in "The Borough's" variety of restaurants, antique and gift shops, and galleries - all within walking distance from our beautiful Stonington Connecticut Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Inn at Stonington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Stonington Hotel Stonington
Stonington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing