We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful experience”
Review of Inn at Stonington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn at Stonington
Ranked #1 of 3 Stonington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The hotel, setting and town are wonderful. What gave it the 'special touch' was the friendly, attentive and resourceful staff. I organized a birthday weekend for my twin sister and myself. Joining us were my partner and my older sister and her husband

Room Tip: all rooms I saw were inviting and well appointed. I especially like the rooms on the upper level fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rob w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 368 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

We'd considered staying in Mystic on our short road-trip, but glad that we chose Stonington. Very picturesque town, easy to walk around and admire the homes. The Inn was very central with easy parking. Complimentary wine and cheese on arrival and some good tips from the friendly staff as to where to eat in the evening. A beautiful room with fire and comfy chairs and bed. Excellent bathroom with jacuzzi-bath! Nice public area and outdoor deck. Breakfast was a continental buffet, but perfect after a couple of weeks' super-huge breakfasts elsewhere. One of the better places we've stayed on trips Stateside, highly recommended.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank cumbrian1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I can't say enough about this place! I took my mother here for a girl's trip to Newport, RI and we then stayed here for a couple days. I ended up scoring a great rate on Jetsetter and was blown away. The borough of Stonington is so charming (it along with the Inn was recently used in filiming Hope Springs) and the Inn is perfection. The view from our room was stunning and the appointments in the room were beautiful! We loved the working fireplace and large tub, it would be perfect for a couple's weekend. We arrived to the Inn after their wine and cheese hour, but Dori was wonderful in still letting us partake. We had a bunch of leftover food from lunch and she even allowed us to use their kitchen to reheat it for dinner.

Breakfast is a beautiful spread and the winse and cheese cocktail hour was a lot of fun and delicious as well! My mom and I had a great time in Stoningtin and this beautiful Inn. Loved it!

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Crstina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Wife and I spent the first night of our trip staying at the Inn at Stonington. We had visited the B&B on previous visits to Stonington but had never stayed overnight. Our room was nice. New England decor with fireplace. The room had a nice view of the public square. The bed however was very creaky. The slightest movement made the bed shift. They had a nice wine and cheese reception in the evening as well as pastry and coffee breakfast. The staff were very friendly. Not a hotel for kids.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AFsilverfox52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed 2 nights.Room beautiful-AS ADVERTISED- service excellent,staff always helpful and cordial.we will return.
Staff went out of their way to suggest local sights and eateries.
Room was well appointed and matched original description.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catsailor0044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Mystic, Connecticut, and nearby Stonington Borough, have a great deal of charm. Having been there many time, staying in inns and B&B's that never seemed to measure up, it was wonderful to find the Inn at Stonington. Everything about the stay was pleasant, from the reservation call with Lesley (sp?) and friendly, attentive service from Ann, to the spotlessly clean interior, beautiful views of the harbor, excellent breadfast spread, and a very comfortable, quiet room. From now on, this is the place!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

General:
typical "New England" style in good location; free parking
Location:
right next to the water and in the centre of the town (shops and restaurants nearby - but no noise issues at all)
Rooms:
Great rooms with fireplace and all amenities in place (free WiFi, free water, TV etc.)
Bathrooms:
big size bathroom with beauty products and jacuzzi (at least in our room)
Breakfast:
Continental breakfast included, however slightly boring
Service:
Excellent service, friendly and helpful staff, free wine and cheese daily at 6pm
Price/Quality ratio:
good value for money

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aloha75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stonington
3.5 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#1 of 13 in Mystic
756 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
928 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
777 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
8.1 mi away
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
#1 of 5 in North Stonington
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Stonington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Stonington

Address: 60 Water St, Stonington, CT 06378-1423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stonington
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Stonington
Price Range: $222 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Stonington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Stonington is a Stonington Connecticut Bed & Breakfast located directly on the waterfront in the heart of Stonington Borough. Since opening, the Inn has been featured as 'Travel and Leisures' Inn of the Month and has also appeared in 'Coastal Living,''New York Times,''Boston Globe,''New York Magazine,''Boston Magazine,' and 'Delta Sky.' Untouched by commercialism, this charming village is one of the few surviving New England seaside towns that has retained much of its 17th and 18th century flavor. Classic examples of Colonial, Greek Revival and Federal architecture can be enjoyed on a stroll down any of its quiet, tree-lined streets. During your stay with us, be sure to take in "The Borough's" variety of restaurants, antique and gift shops, and galleries - all within walking distance from our beautiful Stonington Connecticut Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Inn at Stonington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Stonington Hotel Stonington
Stonington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing