We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dog Watch Cafe

Dog Watch Cafe
Ranked #1 of 27 Restaurants in Stonington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $24
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
97 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Stopped in here for dinner based on others' TA views and I'm glad that we did. The local cod and scallops we ordered (delivered right to the back dock we were told) were delicious and perfectly cooked. The ahi tuna tempura sounded a bit unusual, but I'm glad we ordered it, and would get it again. Our waitress (I think her name was Heidi) was extremely friendly and knowledgeable about the menu, and the owner checked on us several times to make sure we were enjoying our dinner. The restaurant has a warm, cozy, slightly colonial feel, just make sure to get here early, as it was HOPPING on an April Monday evening after 6:30, mainly with locals. I'll definitely come here again next time I'm in the area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loopygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    210
    42
    5
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stonington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great meal, service and view.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

We are locals and love this restaurant. Best to come mid to late afternoon for less of a wait. In spring/summer you can wait on the dock in back and have a drink.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great local restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Great food! A little bit of everything right on the water. Tables outside for cocktails in the summer while you are waiting to be seated. Dog Watch salad is delicious! So is the fish sandwich, clam chowder, calamari, etc. Reasonable prices and large portions!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara5326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Will be back...loved it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Perfect New England clam chowder, lots of good choices on the menu so I'll be back to try more. Nice seating area outside in front with a fire pit while we waited for our table. Calamari salad was delicious as was the lobster mac and cheese. Friendly efficient service even though they were packed. Reasonable prices, high quality food, fun atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debrakadebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
156 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“great views, nice staff, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

I really enjoyed my lunch here. I ordered a "codwich" ( a battered piece of deep-fried cod on a ciabatta bread with lettuce and tomato. It came with tartar sauce, and coleslaw. Included was a choice of fries, green salad, or a fruit cup. The price was reasonable, the plate was generous, and the restaurant was directly on the water. My waitress Hannah, was attentive, without being pushy. Beautiful end to a lovely, sunny, spring day, wandering the historic streets of Stonington Borough.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kits0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dog Watch Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Dog Watch Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing