We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch”
Review of Dog Watch Cafe

Dog Watch Cafe
Ranked #1 of 28 Restaurants in Stonington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $24
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stopped in for lunch. Great staff and great food at a decent price. I highly recommend this place if you are looking for a casual meal! The view was also quite nice as It overlooks the water!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carl U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    211
    42
    6
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orange, Connecticut
Level Contributor
276 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“First time visit”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stopped here by chance looking for a nice place with a water view for lunch. We ended up splitting a fish & chip dinner along with a bowl of chowder. Both of our selections were very good and the house wine was a good selection. The water views are an added benefit of dining here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HarryRCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Relaxed and fun place”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Sitting overlooking the water at the Dog Watch Cafe, having drinks and eating with good friends...couldn't ask for a much better day. The atmosphere is easy going and the view is perfect. I was impressed by the food and our friendly, attentive server. This is a great place to share an afternoon or evenings with friends.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NwEnglndGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fun local place”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We live in Stonington and always enjoy the Dog Watch Cafe whatever the season. Great food, atmosphere, setting--and lots of fun. We also love The Dog Pound for drinks outside during the summer--just wish they served food out there, too. The only negative is the new bartender, Joe. The last few times we been at the bar the service was slow and inattentive. Most recently, we even had to wait until Joe finished texting for a few minutes before he got around to serving us. Would like to see a new bartender. Otherwise, it's a great place for food and drinks.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tgc-ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“excellent place to go anytime of the year!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

we are regulars at dog watch!!! we alway had Erin serve us because she was awesome. then she left and Becky became our number one person.. we can't settle for any other server. we will wait for Becky anything because she knows how to treat people!! Very kind and outgoing !! we get great service and food here ! never had a bad experience! now joe is the new bartender and he's awesome!! knows how to make his drinks well and has a great personality!!! summer time is awesome when the back bar is open ... we love watching the sunsets! you can never go wrong at dog watch they have thebest staff there!!! Dave made wise choices :-)! great owners =great staff!!!! we are there once a week to see Becky or Joe. The blonde greeter is always so sweet too!!! it's great being there French because they treat you like family even before they knew who we were too!!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trip_Guru76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dog Watch Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Dog Watch Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing